AD Rattray Loch Lomond Distillery Croftengea 11 years 2005 Sherry Cask #321

58.9% alc./vol.

André 86%
Beach fire almost extinguished, smoked meat, cinnamon and eucalyptus, candy breaks flu, pepper. The texture on the palate is oily and smoky, a large dose of peppered vanilla and smoke, fish-shaped candies that taste cinnamon, a little grimy overall, almost industrial. Finely coated with oil that preserves the mouth of the bite of alcohol with a peppery aftertaste. I do not understand why it tastes so little sherry except perhaps the use of a filling 3eme drum or more ... A little too linear point of view flavors, but a divine texture.

Loch Lomond 12 years old

46% alc./vol.

André 77.5%
Oh boy ... a soporific whiskey, I did not think it could exist ... Anonymous vanilla, apple jam, icing sugar, cassonnade, meringue, various fruits. Beautiful creaminess in the mouth, pears, plums, citrus notes and mixed cereals, various sugar. We quickly go around what the mouth has to deliver. The finish offers the surprise of a few bursts of peat smoke that are almost embarrassing, but which cut nicely with sweet and sweet flavors. Been there, got the t-shirt.

Patrick 87%
A unique whiskey, just like this distillery quite unique in Scotland. Complex, well balanced, unique, what more? Best of sip in sip! If you are the least serious in your passion for whiskey, you need a bottle! Nose: Wild berries, apple marmalade, cereals, oak and very subtle peat smoke. Appetizing. Mouth: Mmmh, it's very good! A superb blend of wild berries, apples, spices, oak and discrete peat smoke. Complex and very well balanced, carried by a beautiful oily texture. Finale: Of a beautiful length, spicy and smoke.

Loch Lomond 18 years old

46% alc./vol.

André 78%
Honey cereals, oranges, fruit jam, peaches, apple pie, citrus fruits, apricots, honey melon. The nose is superb, the fruit intense and well tied. It spoils in the mouth, with notes of odd wet cardboard and a dose of pepper quite intense. Well sweet all the same, fruit salad syrup, orange pods, chocolate, pepper, wild fruit jam, anise, ginger, eucalyptus-flavored flu-smashing candy. Flavors almost musky. Sweet powder from Bazooka gum packaging. Peppery finish and dry on oak wood, the limit a little tannic too. An unstoppable whiskey with an attractive nose but an unbalanced mouth and amalgam of dubious flavors.

Patrick 88%
A good whiskey, surprising, tasty and a little original. Nose: Light peat smoke, with ripe fruits and a good dose of cereals. Palate: Peat smoke, barley and unobtrusive notes of ... Boiled vegetables? Finale: Of a beautiful and spicy length.

Loch Lomond Inchmurrin Madeira Wood Finish

46% alc./vol.
Produced by the Loch Lomond distillery, Inchmurrin Madeira Cask pays tribute to the uniqueness of the Scottish island of the same name. Aged first in American oak barrels, the whiskey was then rested in old casks of Madeira wine.

André 84%
Tart with pear and peach, almonds, honey and vanilla, orange jam, fruit paste, nice sweet taste and pleasant. Beautiful round and luscious mouth, very fruity and lemony, beautiful ripe pears, almonds and fruit salad, cinnamon. Some notes that also recall sherry and red apple peels. Nice finish a little sharp and peppery. It seems that Loch Lomond have finally found a cask to improve their whiskey usually very ordinary (not to say mediocre).

Loch Lomond Organic 12 years old 2013 Release

48% alc./vol.
Organic Loch Lomond 12 Whiskey is produced with cereals from organic farming.

André 72%
Not to convert anyone and become organic friendly. Farm smell, wet barn soil, hay, wet wood mix and citrus flavored cereals. On the palate, pears, cereals, citrus, green apple and weird flavors and very difficult to identify in the back. Certainly, it is not pleasant as sensations and flavors. We also have the right to flavors reminiscent of virgin oak and that's what was missing from this cocktail flavors not pleasant. The finish is spicy (which masks the questionable flavors) and tastes terribly green wood. Seriously, it is to wonder if this whiskey was tasted before its distribution or if it became annoying to cancel its marketing given the height of the government subsidy for agricultural affairs. Although on the eve of Halloween, a whiskey such as this one would be ideal in a tasting with theme "scary whiskeys" ...

Patrick 75%
Come on, would like to convince people that organic whiskeys are not good, we would not do it any other way! Nose: Citrus, white sugar, oak, vanilla and caramel. The whole is not exciting. Taste: Sweet oak, tons of citrus, vanilla and something weird that I do not really want to go into. Final: Too long and taste the juice of stockings.

Loch Lomond Original

40% alc./vol.

André 77%
Lemon notes, pineapple and almonds, fresh vanilla bean and caramel, honey cereals. Overall very generic. The palate is liquid, creamy with vanilla flavor, citrus, oranges, apricots, pears, dried cereals topped with a hint of honey, almonds, ginger. Short finish without passion, notes of citrus and pineapple, pears and apricots with a spicy touch.

Patrick 84%
A superb set of flavors, very well balanced, but almost ruined by a too short finish, probably because of the dilution. The whiskey could have scored very hard if we had been less cheap and had it bottled at 46%. Nose: The kind of aromas I like in a whiskey, with a nice subtle mix of malt, spices, oak, peat smoke, salt and sugar. Palate: Peat smoke, oak, subtle fruit, salt, generously sprinkled with spices. The texture is a little watery, but the set still offers a nice intensity. Final: Too short, subtly smoky, woody and spicy.

Old Particular Loch Lomond Single Grain 21 years old

55.3% alc./vol.
Refill Hogshead Cask #DL12097, Bottled November 1995, Bottled October 2017, 271 bottles. Duncan Barton, the previous owner of the Littlemill Distillery, is behind the current site of the Loch Lomond Distillery. He installed innovative 'pot still' stills whose capitals evoke a still alembic column. Loch Lomond's stills have trays in the upper part for better contact with alcohol vapors and a more efficient process. These stills can produce fumes of up to 90% vol. while traditional stills only go up to 70% vol. about. This type of still can capture different aromatic notes and select or reject from a wide range of alcoholic degrees. It's much harder to achieve through the use of a traditional still pot still. Loch Lomond is one of the few distilleries in Scotland producing single malt and grain whiskey.

André 85%
Ginger cereals, honey, milk chocolate and pecan pie, diced green apples, vanilla. The nose inspires the freshness and the fields of cereals whipped by the wind and the hot rays of the sun of the short Scottish summer. The palate confirms the single grain with the rise of dried cereals, from which also emerge notes of dried fruit, oranges and coffee with milk, leading to a sharp and very peppery finish, raisins and caramel.

Patrick 92%
Impressive, especially for a Single Grain. In fact, if you only have to drink one Single Grain, it could very well be this one. Nose: Appetizing scent of vanilla, tropical fruits and white sugar. Mouth: Oh wow. Beautiful sugar, tropical fruits, a good dose of vanilla and some burnt wood. Finale: Of a beautiful length, vanilla, sweet and woody.

Martin 88%
Nose: slightly aggressive grain, vanilla and powdered sugar, grass and black licorice. Quite special indeed. A rather strong spice wind hides beneath all this. Palate: Molasses and liquorice welcome us on a thick and syrupy texture. Stewed fruits and corn syrup. Surprising. The character of the grain here is a lot more interesting than most of the single grains that I had the chance to taste. Beautiful spices not too aggressive, a sneaky pleasure. Finale: Cream "thicker", wood and sweet spices. Beautiful heat, barely disappointing length. Balance: Still a beautiful wow! I would easily have a night of showers on the balcony.

Single Cask Nation Loch Lomond Croftengea 10 years old

55.6% alc./vol.
Distilled 2006, Bourbon Hogshead Refill Cask #486, 273 bottles. Single Cask Nation, a derivative of the Jewish Whiskey Company bottled only single cask. This Croftengea version is a peat version of the Loch Lomond distillery.

André 81.5%
Green vegetables, sea salt, peat smoke and burning tires in a back yard, sweet cereals, vanilla, honey, citrus, oranges. The mouth is robust, almost rough, jute pocket, alcohol well felt, very linear side flavors. Good dose of pepper and menthol in the final. Another version of Loch Lomond that will be easy for me to forget.

English EN Français FR

A.D. Rattray Loch Lomond Distillery Croftengea 11 ans 2005 Sherry Cask #321

58.9% alc./vol.

André 86%
Feu de plage presque éteint, viande fumée, cannelle et eucalyptus, bonbons casse grippe, poivre. La texture en bouche est huileuse et fumée, grosse dose de vanille poivrée et fumée, bonbons en forme de poisson qui goûtent la cannelle, un peu crasseux dans l’ensemble, presque industriel. Finale bien enrobée d’huile qui préserve la bouche de la morsure de l’alcool avec un aftertaste poivré. Je ne comprends pas pourquoi cela goûte si peu le sherry à part peut-être l’utilisation d’un fût de 3eme remplissage ou plus encore… Un peu trop linéaire point de vue saveurs, mais une texture divine.

Loch Lomond 12 ans

46% alc./vol.

André 77.5%
Oh boy… un whisky soporifique, j’pensais pas que cela pouvait exister… Vanille anonyme, confiture de pomme, sucre à glacer, cassonnade, la meringue, fruits divers. Belle onctuosité en bouche, les poires, prunes, notes d’agrumes et mélange de céréales, sucre divers. On fait rapidement le tour de ce que la bouche a à livrer. La finale offre la surprise de quelques bouffées de fumée de tourbe presque gênées mais qui tranchent agréablement avec les saveurs douces et sucrées. Been there, got the t-shirt.

Patrick 87%
Un whisky unique, tout comme cette distillerie tout à fait unique en son genre en Écosse. Complexe, bien équilibré, unique, que demander de plus? Meilleur de gorgée en gorgée! Si vous êtes le moindrement sérieux dans votre passion du whisky, il vous en faut une bouteille! Nez : Fruits des champs, marmelade de pommes, céréales, chêne et très subtile fumée de tourbe. Appétissant. Bouche : Mmmh, c’est très bon ça! Un superbe mélange de fruits des champs, de pommes, d’épices, de chêne et de discrète fumée de tourbe. Complexe et très bien équilibré, porté par une belle texture huileuse. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée et fumée.

Loch Lomond 18 ans

46% alc./vol.

André 78%
Céréales au miel, oranges, confiture de fruits, pêches, tarte aux pommes, agrumes, abricots, melon au miel. Le nez est superbe, les fruits intenses et bien ficelés. Ça se gâte en bouche, avec des notes de carton mouillé bizarre et une dose de poivre assez intense. Bien sucré tout de même, sirop de salade de fruits, cosses d’oranges, chocolat, poivre, confiture de fruits sauvages, anis, gingembre, bonbons casse grippe à saveur d’eucalyptus. Saveurs presque musquées. Poudre sucrée des emballages de gomme Bazooka. Finale poivrée et sèche, sur le bois de chêne, à la limite un peu tannique aussi. Un whisky débalancé avec un nez attirant mais une bouche déséquilibrée et des amalgames de saveurs douteuses.

Patrick 88%
Un bon whisky, surprenant, savoureux et un peu original. Nez : Légère fumée de tourbe, avec des fruits asses mûrs et une bonne dose de céréales. Bouche : La fumée de tourbe, de l’orge et des notes discrètes de… Légumes bouillis? Finale : D’une belle longueur et épicée.

Loch Lomond Inchmurrin Madeira Wood Finish

46% alc./vol.
Produit par la distillerie Loch Lomond, Inchmurrin Madeira Cask rend hommage au caractère unique de l’île écossaise du même nom. Vieilli tout d’abord en fûts de chêne américain, le whisky a ensuite reposé dans d’anciens fûts de vin de madère.

André 84%
Tartelette au poire et à la pêche, amandes, miel et vanille, confiture d’orange, pâte de fruits, beau sucré goulu et agréable. Belle bouche ronde et pulpeuse, très fruitée et citronnée, les belles poires bien mûres, les amandes et la salade de fruits, cannelle. Quelques notes qui rappelent aussi le sherry et les pelures de pommes rouges. Belle finale un peu acérée et poivrée. Il semble que Loch Lomond ont finalement trouvé un fût pour bonifier leur whisky généralement très ordinaire (pour ne pas dire médiocre).

Loch Lomond Organic 12 ans 2013 Release

48% alc./vol.
Le whisky Loch Lomond 12 ans organic est produit avec des céréales issues de l’agriculture biologique.

André 72%
Pas pour convertir personne et devenir Organic friendly. Nez d’odeur de ferme, terre d’étable mouillée, foin, mélange de bois mouillé et de céréales aromatisées aux agrumes. En bouche, poires, céréales, agrumes, pomme verte et des saveurs bizarre et très difficiles à cerner en arrière-bouche. Chose certaine, ce n’est pas agréable comme sensations et saveurs. On a aussi droit à des saveurs qui rappellent le virgin oak et ça c’est ce qui manquais à ce cocktail de flaveurs pas agréables. La finale est épicée (ce qui masque les saveurs discutables) et goûte affreusement le bois vert. Sérieusement, c’est à se demander si ce whisky a été goûté avant sa distribution ou s’il devenait embêtant d’annuler sa mise en marché vu la hauteur de la subvention du gouvernement pour les affaires agricoles. Quoi qu’à la veille de l’Halloween, un whisky tel que celui-ci serait idéal dans un tasting avec thème « whiskies qui font peur »…

Patrick 75%
Come on, ont voudrait convaincre les gens que les whiskys organiques ne sont pas bons, on ne s’y prendrait pas autrement! Nez : Agrumes, sucre blanc, chêne, vanille et caramel. L’ensemble n’est pas excitant. Bouche : Chêne sucré, tonne d’agrumes, vanille et quelque chose de bizarre que je n’ai pas vraiment le goût d’approfondir. Finale : Trop longue et goûte le jus de bas.

Loch Lomond Original

40% alc./vol.

André 77%
Notes citronnées, d’ananas et d’amandes, gousse de vanille fraiche et caramel, céréales au miel. Dans l’ensemble très générique. La bouche est liquide, crémeuse à saveur de vanille, agrumes, oranges, abricots, poires, céréales séchées nappées d’un trait de miel, amandes, gingembre. Courte finale sans passion, notes d’agrumes et d’ananas, poires et abricots avec une touche épicée volatile.

Patrick 84%
Un superbe ensemble de saveurs, très bien équilibrées, mais presque ruiné par une finale trop courte, probablement à cause de la dilution. Le whisky aurait pu scorer très fort si on avait été moins cheap et qu’on l’avait embouteillé à 46%. Nez : Le genre d’arômes que j’aime bien dans un whisky, avec un beau mélange subtil de malt, d’épices, de chêne, de fumée de tourbe, de sel et de sucre. Bouche : De la fumée de tourbe, du chêne, des fruits subtils, du sel, le tout saupoudré généreusement d’épices. La texture est un peu aqueuse, mais l’ensemble offre malgré tout une belle intensité. Finale : Trop courte, subtilement fumée, boisée et épicée.

Old Particular Loch Lomond Single Grain 21 ans

55.3% alc./vol.
Refill Hogshead Cask #DL12097, Distilled November 1995, Bottled October 2017, 271 bottles. Duncan Barton, le précédent propriétaire de la distillerie Littlemill, est à l’origine du site actuel de la distillerie Loch Lomond. Il y installa des alambics ‘pot still’ innovants dont le chapiteau évoque un alambic à colonne. Les alambics de Loch Lomond possèdent des plateaux dans la partie supérieure permettant un meilleur contact avec les vapeurs d’alcool et un procédé plus efficace. Ces alambics peuvent produire des émanations titrant jusqu’à 90% vol. alors que les alambics traditionnels ne montent qu’à 70% vol. environ. Ce type d’alambic permet de capter différentes notes aromatiques et les sélectionner ou rejeter parmi une large gamme de degrés alcooliques. C’est beaucoup plus difficile à réaliser via l’utilisation d’un alambic ‘pot still’ traditionnel. Loch Lomond est une des rares distillerie d’Écosse produisant du single malt et du whisky de grain.

André 85%
Céréales au gingembre, miel, chocolat au lait et tarte à la pacane, pommes vertes en dés, vanille. Le nez inspire la fraicheur et les champs de céréales fouettés par le vent et les chauds rayons du soleil du court été Écossais. La bouche confirme le single grain avec l’envolée de céréales séchées, d’où émergent aussi des notes de fruits secs, d’oranges et de café au lait, menant à une finale pointue et très poivrée, les raisins secs et le caramel.

Patrick 92%
Impressionnant, surtout pour un Single Grain. En fait, si vous n’avez qu’à boire un seul Single Grain, ça pourrait très bien être celui-ci. Nez : Appétissant parfum de vanille, de fruits tropicaux et de sucre blanc. Bouche: Oh wow. Du beau sucre, des fruits tropicaux, une bonne dose de vanille et un peu de bois brûlé. Finale : D’une belle longueur, vanillée, sucrée et boisée.

Martin 88%
Nez: Grain légèrement agressif, vanille et sucre en poudre, herbe et réglisse noire. Assez particulier en effet. Un vent d’épices assez prononcé se cache sous tout cela. Bouche: Mélasse et réglisse nous accueillent sur une texture épaisse et sirupeuse. Fruits mijotés et sirop de maïs. Surprenant. Le caractère du grain ici est beaucoup plus intéressant que la plupart des single grain auxquels j’ai eu la chance de goûter. Belles épices pas trop agressives, un plaisir sournois. Finale: Crème « plus épaisse », bois et douces épices. Belle chaleur, longueur à peine décevante. Équilibre: Quand même un beau wow! Je prendrais ça aisément un soir d’averses sur le balcon.

Single Cask Nation Loch Lomond Croftengea 10 ans

55.6% alc./vol.
Distilled 2006, Refill Bourbon Hogshead Cask #486, 273 bouteilles. Single Cask Nation, un dérivé de la Jewish Whisky Company embouteille que des single cask. Cette version Croftengea est une version tourbée de la distillerie Loch Lomond.

André 81.5%
Légumes verts, sel de mer, fumée de tourbe et de pneus brûlants dans une cour arrière, céréales sucrées, vanille, miel, agrumes, oranges. La bouche est robuste, presque rêche, poche de jute, alcool bien ressenti, très linéaire côté saveurs. Bonne dose de poivre et de menthol en finale. Encore une autre version de Loch Lomond qu’il me sera facile d’oublier.

English EN Français FR