Omar Single Malt Whiskey

46% alc./vol.
Aged in bourbon casks. Nantou Distillery, Taiwan.

André 84.5%
I admit that I did not expect anything from this whiskey, which left room for any positive and favorable surprise. Unlike Patrick, I loved this tropical and festive presentation, fruity with excess and offering a nice overall balance. We agree that it will not be the whiskey of the century, but the tasting experience is really nice and worth the detour. Pleasant on the nose with this blend of citrus fruits, lemons and oranges, pears, bananas, vanilla and honey. We are not in the innovation but the design and presentation are really good. Over time, the mixture is a little more disciplined and looks more like fruit salad. The use of bourbon cask jumps in the nose and mouth. The texture is a little diluted, but generally pleasant and the flavors are well arranged; icing sugar, banana peel, pears, honey, citrus, lemon, malted cereals. The finish is enhanced by spices and an unexpected dryness. It may be the need for a tropical or Mediterranean memory that I missed this return of vacation but I liked this unpretentious whiskey but the presentation honest and flafla.

Patrick 82%
Not bad, but very monotonous. I have already tasted hundreds of whiskeys like this, and I have not remembered them. In short, it's good, but not enough to give me the taste to take me a glass of whiskey. To keep as a cocktail base. Nose: Light sweet malt flavor reminiscent of Speyside whiskey without personality. Palate: Always slightly sweet malt, with some vanilla and typical spices of a bourbon oak barrel. Finish: Medium length, marked by the oak that has soaked in bourbon.

Kavalan Bourbon Solist + Sherry Cask Strength

59.4% alc./vol.

Patrick 86%
A hyper-intense whiskey, but perhaps too burnt. Yes, but a little too much. Nose: caramelized fruit juice and marked by vanilla. Also hazelnuts and something reminding me of a fruit cake. Palate: Intense and warm sherry, with a good dose of burnt wood. But really very burned. Finish: Long, sweet and marked by burnt wood.

Kavalan Podium

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
A very good whiskey easy to drink and very tasty. Yeah, I'll take another drink. Nose: Fruity and floral, with vanilla and coconut. Mouth: Wow! Beautiful ripe and warm fruit, with a little floral touch. Some spices, including white pepper. Finish: Medium length, with nice woody notes and some brown sugar.

Kavalan Ex-Bourbon Oak

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
A nice whiskey nice to drink. Rather intense on fruits and spices. Nose: Tropical fruits, vanilla and coconut. Taste: Woody, ripe fruit, some vanilla. Finale: Of a beautiful and fruity length.

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask

58.6% alc./vol.

Patrick 89%
Very good, and reminds me of an old bourbon. That being said, you will find better bourbons for less! Finally, it would take a free trade agreement with Taiwan. Nose: Fresh fruits, coconut, vanilla and beautiful white sugar. Mouth: Much warmer than the nose suggested. Juicy and warm fruit, spicy brown sugar and woody touch. Final: Long and marked by brown sugar and some cherries that all remind me of a bourbon.

Kavalan Brandy Oak

54% alc./vol.

André 90.5%
Opening on a noble nose and very condensed; red fruits, mashed cherries, plums, fruit cake. Astonishing to have such concentrated flavors in a whiskey of about 4 years. I could compare the intensity of the flavors with the edition Solist Sherry cask, but it also offers a very nice old side as well as very ripe orange flavors. In the mouth, the whiskey is very sweet, almost viscous and sweet and still offers the same flavors with a predominance of oranges, caramel and dried fruits underlined by a touch of pepper and cinnamon. Long finish, a little old-fashioned belly in the back of the mouth, lots of dried fruits and sugar that help with the alcohol. Not the range of flavors of the most extensive but I love the presentation simple, direct and effective.

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask

57.8% alc./vol.
Drum #B090829055A

André 88.5%
Wow, what sweetness, what accuracy in the presentation. Nose of cereals with honey, vanilla, banana split, English cream. Odors that are in the same aromatic range but that play the card of the nuance and discreet variants. Surprisingly, on the palate, the whiskey is much more fruity, the red fruits moreover, the milk chocolate, the ripe banana, the vanilla. By getting plenty of toffee and vanilla. Some notes of green grass may be in the mouth finish which is relatively mild for the alcohol so sustained. But the silky texture, the largely sweet flavors help to appreciate the whiskey to its true value without amputating the spices of the final.

Kavalan Wine Oak

54% alc./vol.

André 90%
Superb sweet and fruity nose, very round despite the alcohol level. Small jellyfish candies shaped bear, actually makes me think of sweet and fruity white wine. Mix of Williams pears, Sauternes, sweet, languorous and sweet jujubes. Mega textured on the palate, a blend of fruity flavors oscillating between sherry and white wine; citrus fruits, pears, red fruits and sherry, yet these jujube flavors and a hint of dry spices quickly soothed by the sugar wave. Finish very sweet, sustained and slightly influenced by some tannic notes with sweet and fruity rise. For lovers of dessert whiskey!

Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrel

56.9% alc./vol.
Drum #W090220020, 101 197 Bottle

André 91.5%
Fruit avalanche mashed in the nose, good dose of sugar too, pastry cream and notes of vanilla drawn from the barrel, chocolate and toffee. The nose is pronounced and muscular, the alcohol is apparent but leaves the aromas easily felted through the alcoholic veil. After a few minutes, bowl of nuts topped with honey. In mouth; cinnamon, plums, dried fruits, nuts, honey, toffee, mango and tropical fruits. Very fruity finish, toffee, fruit cake, chocolate, nuts and spices, dried fruits and tropical fruits. Long finish, a little dry, worn on spices and generously fruity. Many tannic notes in the finish of mouth. A little disappointed versus my expectations but we are here with a superb fruity whiskey. Sherry-style whiskey lovers will love it. A gourmet and almost summery whiskey, tasty and unquestionably generous.

Patrick 89%
In love with sherry in your dram, you will love it! In any case, month I loved it! Nose: Extremely sweet and fruity rich wine perfume, custard, vanilla, chocolate and caramel. Palate: Beautiful warm, ripe and sweet fruit, with heated caramel, chocolate and warm spices. Finish: Long, spicy and warm.

Kavalan Solist Sherry Cask

40% alc./vol.
The Kavalan Distillery, named after an ancient tribe that resided in the area, is located in the northeast of the island of Taiwan. Founded by the King Car Group, Kavalan did not hesitate to call on the best experts in the industry, asserting from the outset the desire to produce a whiskey of exceptional quality. It was with the help of Jim Swan that the distillery produced the first drop of its new-make 11 March 2006 and marketed its very first whiskey on the market in December 2008. By selecting the best casks, Kavalan managed to produce a range of single casks (sherry, bourbon, port) in 2009, just three years after opening.

André 86.5%
Bewitching nose of sweet vanilla, a little milky in texture, honey, woody spicy and sweet, tasty fruit. The palate is purified, with a porous, minty feel and pleasantly mixing with the dusty sherry that will cling to the mouth. The finish is relatively strong even if the alcohol content is a little too erased, but the sherry flavors will be more persistent in any final mouth. These will also be accompanied by flavors of finely burnt toffee. A singular whiskey without being the one that will mark your evening.

English EN Français FR

Omar Single Malt Whisky

46% alc./vol.
Vieilli en fûts de bourbon. Nantou Distillery, Taïwan.

André 84.5%
J’avoue que je ne m’attendais à rien de ce whisky, ce qui laissait place à toute surprise positive et favorable. À la différence de Patrick, j’ai adoré cette présentation tropicale et festive, fruitée avec excès et offrant un bel équilibre général. On s’entend que ce ne sera pas le whisky du siècle, mais l’expérience de dégustation est vraiment agréable et mérite le détour. Plaisant au nez avec ce mélange d’agrumes, de citrons et d’oranges, poires, bananes, vanille et miel. Nous ne sommes pas dans l’innovation mais la conception et la présentation sont vraiment bien. Avec le temps, le mélange se discipline un peu et ressemble plus à la salade de fruits. L’utilisation de bourbon cask saute au nez et en bouche. La texture est un peu diluée, mais généralement plaisante et les saveurs sont bien agencées; sucre à glacer, peau de bananes, poires, miel, agrumes, citron, céréales maltées. La finale est relevée par les épices et une sécheresse inattendue. C’est peut-être le besoin d’un souvenir tropical ou Méditerranéen qu’il me manquait à ce retour de vacances mais j’ai bien aimé ce whisky sans prétention mais à la présentation honnête et sans flafla.

Patrick 82%
Pas mauvais, mais très monotone. J’ai déjà goûté des centaines de whiskys comme celui-ci, et je n’en ai gardé aucun souvenir. Bref, c’est bon, mais pas assez pour me donner le goût de me prendre un verre de whisky. A garder comme base de cocktail. Nez : Léger parfum de malt sucré rappelant un whisky du Speyside sans personnalité. Bouche : Toujours le malt légèrement sucré, avec un peu de vanille et les épices typiques d’un fût de chêne de bourbon. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, marquée par le chêne qui a trempé dans le bourbon.

Kavalan Solist Bourbon + Sherry Cask Strength

59.4% alc./vol.

Patrick 86%
Un whisky hyper intense, mais dont le fut à peut-être été trop brûlé. Oui, mais un peu too much. Nez : Jus de fruits caramélisé et marqué par la vanille. Aussi des noisettes et quelque chose me rappelant un gâteau aux fruits. Bouche : Xérès intense et chaleureux, avec une bonne dose de bois brûlé. Mais vraiment très brûlé. Finale : Longue, sucrée et marquée par le bois trop brûlé.

Kavalan Podium

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
Un très bon whisky facile à boire et très savoureux. Ouin, j’en prendrais bien un autre verre. Nez : Fruité et floral, avec de la vanille et de la noix de coco. Bouche : Wow! De beaux fruits mûrs et chaleureux, avec une petite touche florale. Quelques épices, dont du poivre blanc. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, avec de belles notes boisées et un peu de cassonade.

Kavalan Ex-Bourbon Oak

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
Un beau whisky agréable à boire. Plutôt intense sur les fruits et sur les épices. Nez : Fruits tropicaux, vanille et noix de coco. Bouche : Boisé, fruits mûrs, un peu de vanille. Finale : D’une belle longueur et fruitée.

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask

58.6% alc./vol.

Patrick 89%
Très bon, et me rappelle un vieux bourbon. Ceci étant dit, vous allez trouver de meilleurs bourbons pour moins cher! Enfin, ça prendrait un accord de libre-échange avec Taïwan. Nez : Fruits frais, noix de coco, vanille et beau sucre blanc. Bouche : Beaucoup plus chaleureuse que le nez le laissait présager. Fruits juteux et chaleureux, cassonade épicée et touche boisée. Finale : Longue et marquée par la cassonade brûlée et quelques cerises faisant que l’ensemble me rappelle un bourbon.

Kavalan Brandy Oak

54% alc./vol.

André 90.5%
Ouverture sur un nez noble et très condensé ; fruits rouges, cerises en purée, prunes, gâteau aux fruits. Étonnant d’avoir des saveurs si concentrées chez un whisky d’environ 4 ans. Je pourrais comparer l’intensité des saveurs avec l’édition Solist Sherry cask, mais celui-ci offre également un petit côté vieillot très agréable ainsi que des saveurs d’oranges très mûres. En bouche, le whisky est très sucré, presque visqueux et liquoreux et offre encore ces mêmes saveurs avec une prédominance d’oranges, caramel et de fruits secs soulignées par une touche de poivre et de cannelle. Finale longue, un peu de sensation de vieux fût en fond de bouche, beaucoup de fruits secs et de sucre qui aident à supporter l’alcool. Pas la gamme de saveurs des plus étendues mais j’adore la présentation simple, directe et efficace.

Kavalan Solist Ex-Bourbon Cask

57.8% alc./vol.
Fût #B090829055A

André 88.5%
Wow, quelle douceur, quelle exactitude dans la présentation. Nez de céréales au miel, vanille, banana split, crème Anglaise. Des odeurs qui sont dans la même gamme aromatique mais qui jouent la carte de la nuance et des variantes discrètes. Étonnamment, en bouche, le whisky est beaucoup plus fruité, les fruits rouges de surcroit, le chocolat au lait, la banane bien mûre, la vanille. En s’aérant, beaucoup de toffee et de vanille. Quelques notes d’herbe verte peut-être en finale de bouche qui est relativement douce pour l’alcool si soutenu. Mais la texture soyeuse, les saveurs en grande majorité sucrées aident à apprécier le whisky à sa juste valeur sans amputer les épices de la finale.

Kavalan Wine Oak

54% alc./vol.

André 90%
Superbe nez sucré et fruité, très rond malgré le taux d’alcool. Petits bonbons jujubes en formes d’ourson, me fait effectivement penser à du vin blanc sucré et fruité. Mélange de poires Williams, Sauternes, jujubes sucrées, langoureux et liquoreux. Méga texturé en bouche, mélange de saveurs fruitées oscillant entre le sherry et le vin blanc ; agrumes, poires, fruits rouge et sherry, encore ces saveurs de jujubes et une pointe d’épices sèches rapidement calmées par la vague de sucre. Finale très douce, soutenue et légèrement influencées par quelques notes tanniques avec remontée sucrée et fruitée. Pour les amateurs de whisky de dessert !

Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrique

56.9% alc./vol.
Fût #W090220020, bouteille 101 de 197

André 91.5%
Avalanche de fruits en purée au nez, bonne dose de sucre aussi, crème pâtissière et notes de vanille tirées du fût, chocolat et toffee. Le nez est prononcé et musclé, l’alcool est apparent mais laisse feutrer les arômes facilement au travers du voile alcoolisé. Après quelques minutes, bol de noix nappé de miel. En bouche; cannelle, prunes, fruits secs, noix, miel, toffee, la mangue et les fruits tropicaux. Finale très fruitée, toffee, gâteau aux fruits, chocolat, noix et épices, fruits séchés et fruits tropicaux. Finale longue, un peu sèche, portée sur les épices et généreusement fruitée. Beaucoup de notes tanniques en finale de bouche. Un peu déçu versus mes attentes mais on est en présence ici d’un superbe whisky fruité. Les amoureux de whisky de style sherry vont adorer. Un whisky gourmand et presque estival, savoureux et d’une générosité incontestable.

Patrick 89%
Amoureux du xérès dans votre dram, vous allez adorer ! En tout cas, mois j’ai adoré ! Nez : Parfum de vin riche extrêmement sucré et fruité, crème pâtissière, vanille, chocolat et caramel. Bouche : Beaux fruits chaleureux, mûrs et sucrés, avec du caramel chauffé, du chocolat et de chaleureuses épices. Finale : Longue, épicée et chaleureuse.

Kavalan Solist Sherry Cask

40% alc./vol.
La distillerie de Kavalan, du nom d’une ancienne tribu qui résidait dans la région, est située au nord-est de l’île de Taïwan. Fondée par le groupe King Car, Kavalan n’a pas hésité à faire appel aux meilleurs experts de l’industrie, affirmant dès le départ la volonté de produire un whisky d’une qualité exceptionnelle. C’est donc avec l’aide de Jim Swan que la distillerie a produit la première goutte de son new-make le 11 mars 2006 et a commercialisé son tout premier whisky sur le marché en décembre 2008. En sélectionnant les meilleurs fûts, Kavalan a réussi à produire une gamme de single casks (sherry, bourbon, porto) en 2009, seulement trois ans après son ouverture.

André 86.5%
Nez envoûtant de douce vanille, un peu laiteux en texture, miel, fond boisé épicé et sucré, savoureusement fruité. La bouche est épurée, avec une sensation poreuse, mentholée et se mélangeant agréablement avec le sherry poussiéreux qui s’accrochera en bouche. La finale est relativement soutenue même si le taux d’alcool est un peu trop effacé, mais les saveurs de sherry seront plus persistantes en toute finale de bouche. Celles-ci s’accompagneront également de saveurs de toffee finement brûlé. Un whisky singulier sans être celui qui marquera votre soirée.

English EN Français FR