Tariquet VSOP

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

RV 87.5%
First, notes of very ripe fruit escape, despite the fact that we feel that the grape wants to take its place with oxygenation. On the palate, the finish is soft, subtle, and as if on the nose, before the grapes settle comfortably, the dates make their presence felt. However in the final it is quite the opposite, while the grapes triumph quickly, but the candied fruit will return in aftertaste to leave a long warm and sweetly sweet memory. Perhaps not the best, but when you do not feel like attacking an Islay, turns out to be an exotic substitute much more valuable than the Glenlivet and Glenfiddich of this world.

Tariquet VS Classic

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

RV 83%
Pretty immature, for the whiskey lover is reminiscent of an Aberlour also immature, but less disastrous. On the tongue and the palate, one comes to correct the errors, impregnating them with a juicy caramel, not really grapes. The final is its strong point with elegant caramel, well-supported grapes and a good presence in general, which continues until the final where certainly it is good, only not at the same height as the mouth. A good value for money, but perhaps a little too young to demonstrate all the know-how and passion of the Armagnac for their favorite drink. At 7 $ extra, go for the VSOP.

Single Samalens 15 years

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

André 82%
Fruity with generosity, many grapes containing a good sugar level, all spices. Poor arrival in the mouth, a texture and a pitiful presence that has no structure and struggles to hold the road properly. Too bad because the nose was beautiful promises, forgotten in the mouth but fortunately found in the final where he regains balance, texture and development.

RV 88%
Surprisingly fruity for an Armagnac designed to mimic single malt, however the imposing nose shows a lot of character, with grapes and orange. On the tongue, the grape disappears behind aging oak which slowed the development of spices (nutmeg, cinnamon) on the taste buds. In the finish, first an explosion of anise, just as heavy as the rest, which slowly turns into vanilla over the seconds. Side aftertaste, impossible not to mention the length of it that extends seconds, almost minutes, all with a little taste of burning or smoke. Served blind, its character can deceive single malt lovers, and apart from grapes this single grape can easily share the taste ring (and unfortunately, that of the price) of several good whiskeys.

Patrick 85%
Alcohol and spices reminiscent of an industrial rum. Taste the sugar cane, with beautiful spicy fruit and a powerful oak. The finish is sweet, spicy and very intense. The whole is very well balanced and develops intense heat.

Larressingle 21 years Very Old Armagnac

43% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 84%
From the outset, those who like me fear a little anise refrain from feeling it immediately after pouring. Or rather, to feel it, to see how much oxygen can bring him wisdom of leather and wild caramel. And to taste how much in the mouth it mates, to slip in the mouth with a touch of bourbon, before a slow transfer to notes of cinnamon and strong vanilla, and why not a little cherry. The finish is a little short but embellished with earthy and coppery notes. A beautiful wisdom, but also a price accordingly.

Gelas Single Cask Double Matured

44.2% alc./vol.
Armagnac. 21 years of age.

RV 92.5%
Far from Paris, it seems to be very good to live. On the nose, the wood is sweet and sweet, a distant tart with maple syrup on the edge of the attic window. On the palate very fruity orange and apricot, we do not feel as much the barrel despite age. The finish begins a little dry, but extends in the fruity character not too grape. With the name and packaging, we sniff the attempt to attack the single malts, but when we support everything with excellent, excellent vintage, what the marketing thinks, we do not care.

Domaine de Papolle Hors d'Age Bas Armagnac

40% alc./vol.
Gascony, France.

RV 82%
Olfactively, an unexpected smoke is felt, suggesting strongly burned barrels. It also suggests a hint of citrus, however a little too restrained. To taste, it is first the anise then the very burnt caramel which comes to play on the taste buds for a long time. The finish plunges primitively into the anise before the vanilla and the strong tannins of the wood comes with the quiet grapes that follow them. Admittedly, it's a good Armagnac, but far from the best I've ever tasted.

Domain of Maubet 1973

42% alc./vol.

RV 86%
With its sweet scents of anise and caramel burnt very heavy, we can not expect the arrival surreal, fat and at the same time light, without any grapes, with only a touch of alcohol through the very pleasant caramel . In the throat, really more regal but marked with vegetal notes (anise and cinnamon), with a long feeling, not too abrupt. Longer finish with notes of sugar cane and industrial rum. What a strong armagnac!

Domaine Chiroulet Reserve 15 years Old Armagnac

42% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 89%
Arrival sweet caramel and candied orange, beautiful olfactory depth. Really grabs the mouth first with a syrupy texture, then a surprising spiciness for barely 42% alcohol, and it is the caramel that dominates. In the final, we find the grapes, first red and raisin, with a final that masks the origins of the wines of this Armagnac to suggest a bourbon with high wheat content. Really a good bottle, which at a reasonable price, is perhaps even a good introduction for those who want to know this spirit. So, I will rather opt to mention that it is a very beautiful armagnac everyday.

Chateau de Laubade XO

40% alc./vol.

RV 84.5%
A nice quiet walk but with a cochere with a lot of personality. No olfactory surprise with its old copper and caramel but also original with berries (raspberry). Arrival powerful, very "wood" and caramel with the fruits that continue in the final, not only fruity but very long.

Busca Castle XO N ° 1

40% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 84.5%
A beautiful Armagnac, not necessary introduction since very typical. Strong enough with a nose of vanilla and plums, it takes time to settle in the mouth. Preceding the finale, the slow caramel moss explodes in very ripe grapes, and the aftertaste is very long. A bit monotonous but strong in the notes he plays.

English EN Français FR

Tariquet VSOP

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

RV 87.5%
D’abord, des notes de fruits très murs s’en échappe, malgré que l’on sent que le raisin veut prendre sa place avec l’oxygénation. En bouche, l’arrivée est douce, subtile, et comme au nez, avant que le raisin s’installent confortablement, les dates font sentir leur présence. Toutefois en finale c’est tout le contraire, tandis que les raisins triomphent rapidement, mais les fruits confits reviendront en aftertaste pour laisser un long souvenir chaud et liquoreusement suave. Peut-être pas le meilleur, mais lorsqu’on ne se sent pas d’attaque pour un Islay, se révèle un remplaçant exotique beaucoup plus appréciable que les Glenlivet et Glenfiddich de ce monde.

Tariquet VS Classique

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

RV 83%
Assez immature, pour l’amateur de whisky fait penser à un Aberlour lui aussi immature, mais en moins désastreux. Sur la langue et le palais, on vient corriger les erreurs, en imprégnant ces derniers d’un juteux caramel, pas vraiment raisin. La finale est son point fort avec du caramel élégant, du raisin bien soutenu et une bonne présence en générale, qui se poursuit jusqu’à la finale où certes c’est bon, seulement pas à la même hauteur que la bouche. Un bon rapport qualité/prix, mais peut-être un peu trop jeune pour démontrer tout le savoir-faire et la passion des armagnaçais pour leur boisson de prédilection. À 7$ supplémentaire, optez pour le VSOP.

Single de Samalens 15 ans

40% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac, France.

André 82%
Fruité avec générosité, beaucoup de raisins contenant un bon taux de sucre, le tout relevé d’épices. Maigre arrivée en bouche, une texture et une présence pitoyable qui ne présente aucune structure et qui peine à tenir la route adéquatement. Dommage car le nez faisait de belles promesses, oubliées en bouche mais heureusement retrouvées en finale où il regagne en équilibre, en texture et en développement.

RV 88%
Étonnamment fruité pour un armagnac conçu pour imiter les single malt, toutefois l’imposant nez montre beaucoup de caractère, avec le raisin et l’orange. Sur la langue, le raisin s’efface derrière le chêne de vieillissement qui ralenti le développement des épices (muscade, cannelle) sur les papilles. En finale, tout d’abord une explosion d’anis, toute aussi pesante que le reste, qui se transforme lentement en vanille au fil des secondes. Côté aftertaste, impossible de ne pas parler de la longueur de celui-ci qui s’étend des secondes, presque des minutes durant, le tout coiffé par un petit goût de brûlé, voire de fumée. Servi à l’aveugle, son caractère peut tromper les amateurs de single malt, et hormis le raisin ce single grape peut facilement partager le ring gustatif (et bien malheureusement, celui du prix) de plusieurs bons whiskies.

Patrick 85%
Alcool et épices rappelant un rhum industriel. Goûte la canne à sucre, avec de beaux fruits épicés et un chêne puissant. La finale est sucrée, épicée et très intense. L’ensemble est très bien équilibré et développe une chaleur intense.

Larressingle 21 ans Très Vieil Armagnac

43% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 84%
D’emblée, que ceux qui comme moi craignent un peu l’anis s’abstiennent de le sentir immédiatement après avoir versé. Ou plutôt oui le sentir, pour voir à quel point l’oxygène peut lui amener une sagesse de cuir et de caramel sauvage. Et goûter à quel point en bouche il s’amadoue, pour glisser en bouche avec une touche de bourbon, avant qu’un lent transfert vers des notes de cannelle et de vanille forte, et pourquoi pas un peu de cerise. La finale est de son côté un peu courte mais agrémentée de notes terreuses et cuivrées. Une belle sagesse, mais aussi un prix en conséquence.

Gelas Single Cask Double Matured

44.2% alc./vol.
Bas-Armagnac. 21 ans d’âge.

RV 92.5%
Loin de Paris, il semble faire très bon vivre. Au nez, l’apport du bois est doux et sucré, une lointaine tarte aux raisins secs sirop d’érable sur le bord de la fenêtre du grenier. En bouche très fruité d’orange et d’abricot, on ne sent plus autant le baril malgré l’âge. La finale commence un peu sèchement, mais s’étend dans le caractère fruité pas trop raisin. Avec le nom et l’emballage, on flaire la tentative pour attaquer les single malts, mais quand on supporte le tout avec un excellent, excellent cru, ce qu’en pense le marketing, on s’en fout.

Domaine de Papolle Hors d’Age Bas Armagnac

40% alc./vol.
Gascogne, France.

RV 82%
Olfactivement, une fumée inattendu se fait sentir, laissant croire à des barils fortement brûlés. Il laisse aussi entrevoir une pointe d’agrume, cependant de manière un peu trop retenue. Au goût, c’est d’abord l’anis puis le caramel très brulé qui vient longuement jouer sur les papilles. La finale plonge primairement dans l’anis avant que la vanille et les forts tannins du bois se présente avec le raisin tranquille qui les suit. Certes, c’est un bon armagnac, mais loin d’être le meilleur que j’ai déjà goûter.

Domaine de Maubet 1973

42% alc./vol.

RV 86%
À ses odeurs liquoreuses d’anis et de caramel brûlé très pesantes, on ne peut s’attendre à l’arrivée surréelle, grasse et en même temps légère, sans aucun raisin, avec seulement une touche d’alcool au travers du très agréable caramel. En gorge, vraiment plus réglo mais marqué de notes végétales (anis et canelle), avec un long feeling, peu brusque. Finale encore plus longue aux notes de cane à sucre et de rhum industriel. Quel armagnac solide!

Domaine Chiroulet Réserve 15 ans Vieil Armagnac

42% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 89%
Arrivée en caramel sucré et en orange confites, de belle profondeur olfactive. S’empare réellement de la bouche tout d’abord avec une texture liquoreuse, puis un piquant surprenant pour à peine 42% d’alcool, et c’est le caramel qui domine. En finale, on retrouve le raisin, d’abord rouge puis raisin sec, avec une finale qui masque les origines du vins de cet armagnac pour laisser supposé un bourbon à haute teneur en blé. Vraiment une bonne bouteille, qui à un prix raisonnable, est peut-être même une trop bonne introduction pour ceux qui veulent connaître ce spiritueux. Alors, je vais plutôt opter pour mentionner qu’il s’agit d’un très bel armagnac de tous les jours.

Chateau de Laubade XO

40% alc./vol.

RV 84.5%
Une belle petite balade tranquille mais avec une cochère avec beaucoup de personnalité. Pas de surprise olfactive avec son vieux cuivre et son caramel mais aussi original avec des petits fruits (framboise). Arrivée puissante, très « bois » et caramel avec les fruits qui se poursuivent en finale, pas seulement fruité mais très longue.

Chateau du Busca XO N°1

40% alc./vol.
Ténarèze, France.

RV 84.5%
Un bel armagnac, pas nécessaire d’introduction puisque très typé. Assez fort avec un nez de vanille et de prunes, il prend du temps à s’installer en bouche. Précédant la finale, le lent caramel vaseux explose en raisin très mûr, et l’aftertaste est très long. Un peu monocorde mais fort dans les notes qu’il joue.

English EN Français FR