Still Waters Small Cask Brandy Small Barrel

40% alc./vol.
Cask #26, bottle #54.

Patrick 91%
Nose: Wow! What a tasty nose! Aromas recalling an old sherry, chocolate, caramel and some cherries. Palate: Consistent with what was advertised on the nose, with sherry, chocolate, caramel and cherries. These latter seem however more present. Everything offers a bit of bite, just enough to be nice. Finish: Long and marked by cherries. Balance: In general, I am not a fan of brandy, but I regret not having made a provision for it. My favorite product of this distillery! Too bad it's a one shot deal 🙁

Hidden Marsh Distillery Apple Brandy

40% alc./vol.

RV 82%
The less mature apples are not the best in the mouth. A little embarrassed and vinous, it is the grape that already imposes on the taste buds. Beautiful texture in the mouth that can wait for the really sweet red apple that settles after a few seconds. Final a bit disappointing after the amazing mouth, the green apple aftertaste corrects a little shooting, but not significantly enough. A brandy that I would like to taste with a few months or more years.

Old Telegraph Chateauneuf-du-Pape Old Marc

42% alc./vol.
Old aged marc 10 years in barrel of 225 liters and unfiltered.

RV 87.5%
Theoretically, brandy, but a spirit like I have never tasted to this day. To live the experience, feel as soon as it is poured, with more or less interesting odors of spruce and large mushrooms growing on the trunk of it. A few minutes later, much quieter with a superb mix of raisins, nutmeg, vanilla and even some maple. In the mouth the wood is very strong, but in a beautiful development it is sugar until the final which starts a little too abruptly but which as the mouth goes down very well scratches the throat of his grapes. My first alcohol of this type but my curiosity being stung, it is surely not my last.

Uitkyk Pot Still Estate Brandy

38% alc./vol.
Brandy from South Africa.

RV 82%
Too round and undefined, there is a touch of vanilla. The finish is very quietly sweet, with warm apples and caramel. Before the finale, there is more wood on the Armagnac side than Cognac. A good little brandy that is good, a good introduction that will not shock.

Miguel Torres Jaime I Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy from the Barcelona region of Spain produced by Torres, founded by Jaime Torres Vendrell in 1870.

RV 81.5%
Brandy can be made from any fruit, and this one is pretty much anything. Licorice and raisins burned. On the palate, sweet then pungent star anise and pepper, quite dry. The finish is grainy first, not very fresh, compensated by an aftertaste of pumpkin and currant. Overall weird, not really in my tastes and a little too exuberant, except the superb packaging.

Michel Jodoin Calijo XO

40% alc./vol.
Big brother of Calijo, for the moment not available in SAQ.

RV 88.5%
Nose surprisingly devoid of apples; it is more the caramel of the barrel that one can taste there. On the palate, we bite into the apple, sweet and soaked in caramel then less sweet. The finish is ultra-clean for an alcohol so aged. By its taste profile, it seems perfect for mixology; however when looking for a little easy going back up, difficult to do better. If only the SAQ helped instead of harming its distribution ...

Michel Jodoin Calijo

40% alc./vol.
Brandy made from Rougemont apples in Quebec.

RV 83%
On the nose of vanilla, cinnamon settles slowly, but more strongly than in calvados. On the palate, the liquid is soft but the burning barrel attack continues well until the attack just sustained enough. Very good for encouraging Quebec products in blends requiring brandy, he is doing very well alone too. Too bad he is not as well known as his French and Spanish cousins.

Lucky Bastard Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy from an artisan distillery in Saskatchewan.

RV 89%
Brandessert. While power without any indication on the alcohol from which it is designed, by its olfactory profile wrongly I would say that this brandy comes from a mixture of citrus and vesou (cane juice of Caribbean rums agricultural). The finish is a big, big leap of citrus, before the alcohol takes control of the experience. Reduced to 40%, the rum side (The Favorite Heart of Rhum) is even more prominent, but the vanilla found there is a departure to find something more Canadian. A great little brandy, not too sweet and perfect for a big Christmas cake.

Cardenal Mendoza Gran Reserva Reserva Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy from the region of Andalusia in Spain.

RV 83.5%
Very different from smell to taste, with toffee, maple and burnt sugar and a little vegetal taste, with some chives. All offset by an extremely sweet finish, really the maple taffy that sticks in the bottom of a cauldron. Very good but very typical, probably an excellent dessert accompaniment but taken dry, a little too rich for comfort.

English EN Français FR

Still Waters Small Cask Brandy Petit Tonneau

40% alc./vol.
Cask #26, bouteille #54.

Patrick 91%
Nez : Wow!  Quel nez savoureux!  Arômes rappelant un vieux xérès, le chocolat, le caramel et quelques cerises. Bouche : Conforme à ce qui avait été annoncé au nez, avec le xérès, le chocolat, le caramel et les cerises.  Ces dernières semblent toutefois plus présentes.  Le tout offre un peu de mordant, juste assez pour être agréable.  Finale : Longue et marquée par les cerises.  Balance : En général, je ne suis pas fan de brandy, mais je regrette ici de ne pas m’en être fait une provision.  Mon produit favori de cette distillerie!  Dommage qu’il s’agisse d’un « one shot deal » 🙁

Hidden Marsh Distillery Apple Brandy

40% alc./vol.

RV 82%
Les pommes moins mûrs ne sont pas les meilleures en bouche. Un peu gêné et vineux, c’est le raisin qui s’impose déjà aux papilles. Belle texture en bouche qui permet d’attendre la pomme rouge vraiment sucré qui s’installe après quelques secondes. Finale un peu décevante après la bouche étonnante, l’aftertaste de pomme verte corrige un peu le tir, mais pas de manière assez significative. Un brandy que j’aimerais goûter avec quelques mois ou années de plus.

Vieux Télégraphe Chateauneuf-du-Pape Vieux Marc

42% alc./vol.
Vieux marc vieilli 10 ans en baril de 225 litres et non filtré.

RV 87.5%
Théoriquement du brandy, mais un spiritueux comme je n’ai jamais goûté jusqu’à ce jour. Pour bien vivre l’expérience, sentir dès qu’il est versé, avec des odeurs plus ou moins intéressantes d’épinette et de gros champignons poussant sur le tronc de celle-ci. Quelques minutes plus tard, beaucoup plus calme avec un superbe mélange de raisins secs, de muscade, de vanille et même d’un peu d’érable. En bouche le bois est très fort, mais dans un beau développement il se sucre jusqu’à la finale qui commence un peu trop abruptement mais qui comme la bouche descend très bien en gratte la gorge de son raisin. Mon premier alcool de ce type mais ma curiosité étant piquée, ce n’est sûrement pas mon dernier.

Uitkyk Pot Still Estate Brandy

38% alc./vol.
Brandy de l’Afrique du Sud.

RV 82%
Trop rond et peu défini, il y a bien une petite touche de vanille. L’arrivée est très tranquillement sucrée, avec des pommes chaudes et du caramel. Avant la finale survient un élan de bois davantage du côté armagnac que cognac. Un bon petit brandy qui se prend bien, une bonne introduction qui ne risque pas de choquer.

Miguel Torres Jaime I Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy de la région de Barcelone en Espagne produit par la maison Torres, fondé par Jaime Torres Vendrell en 1870.

RV 81.5%
Le brandy peut être fait à partir de n’importe quel fruit, et celui-ci est assez n’importe quoi justement. Réglisse et raisins secs brûlés. En bouche, doux puis piquant d’anis étoilée et de poivre, assez sec. La finale est tout d’abord raisineuse, pas très fraiche, compensée par un aftertaste de citrouille et de groseille. Dans l’ensemble bizarre, pas vraiment dans mes goûts et un peu trop exubérant, excepté le superbe emballage.

Michel Jodoin Calijo XO

40% alc./vol.
Grand frère du Calijo, pour l’instant non disponible en SAQ.

RV 88.5%
Nez étonnament dépourvu de pommes; c’est davantage le caramel du baril que l’on peut y goûter. En bouche, on croque dans la pomme, douce et trempée dans le caramel alors moins sucré. La finale est ultra-clean pour un alcool vieilli de la sorte. Par son profil gustatif, celui-ci semblerait parfait pour la mixologie; toutefois quand on recherche un petit remontant facile d’approche, difficile de faire mieux. Si seulement la SAQ aidait au lieu de nuire à sa distribution…

Michel Jodoin Calijo

40% alc./vol.
Brandy à base de pommes de Rougemont au Québec.

RV 83%
Au nez de vanille, la cannelle s’installe lentement, mais plus fortement que dans les calvados. En bouche, le liquide est moelleux mais l’attaque de baril brûlé se poursuit bien jusqu’à l’attaque juste assez soutenue. Très bien pour encourager les produits québécois dans les mélanges requérant du brandy, il s’en sort très bien seul aussi. Dommage qu’il ne soit pas aussi bien connu que ses cousins français et espagnols.

Lucky Bastard Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy d’une distillerie artisanale de la Saskatchewan.

RV 89%
Brandessert. Tout en puissance sans d’indice sur l’alcool à partir duquel il est conçu, par son profil olfactif à tort je dirais que ce brandy vient d’un mélange d’agrumes et de vesou (jus de canne des rhums agricoles caribéens). L’arrivée est un grand, très grand saut des agrumes, avant que l’alcool ne prenne contrôle de l’expérience. Réduit à 40%, le côté rhum agricole (La Favorite Cœur de Rhum) est encore plus proéminent, mais la vanille qu’on y retrouve est un départ pour y retrouver quelque chose de plus canadien. Un grand petit brandy, pas trop sucré et parfait pour accompagné un gros gâteau de noêl.

Cardenal Mendoza Solera Gran Reserva Brandy

40% alc./vol.
Brandy de la région d’Andalousie en Espagne.

RV 83.5%
Très différent de l’odorat au goût, avec du toffee, de l’érable et du sucre brûlé et un goût un peu végétal, avec un peu de ciboulette. Le tout compensé par une finale extrêmement sucrée, vraiment la tire d’érable qui colle dans le fond d’un chaudron. Très bon mais très typé, probablement un excellent accompagnement de dessert mais pris sec, un peu trop riche pour le confort.

English EN Français FR