Box Single Malt Whiskey PX

56.7% alc./vol.
Maturation in first-fill bourbon casks and refinement in first-fill PX for a total aging of 5.34 years. Limited edition of 1507 bottles.

André 86.5%
Avalanche of red fruits; heart of apples, cherries, orange pods, grapes, dark chocolate, dates and figs, mixture of cinnamon and crushed pepper. Very nice arrangement of flavors, attractive and juicy. The mouth offers a lot of punch, besides the alcohol, the pepper and spice notes are intense, but offers almost the same flavors perceived on the nose. The flavors are intense, the alcohol too, but the whole is not able to hide the youth of the whiskey. Nice finish, medium in length, fruity elegantly and spicy with generosity. A little ambivalent about this traffic jam that we tried to hide with a powerful cask finish. At 150 $ 500ml, there's not just alcohol passing tight ...

Patrick 90%
A superb whiskey, rich, intense and well built. Wow, I love it! Nose: Sweet fruits, bananas, milk chocolate. So appetizing, I have mouth watering! Palate: A big, intense whiskey, with a nice oily, malty texture, with beautiful ripe fruit, nice sweet jujubes, burnt wood and beautiful spices. Finale: A beautiful length, with notes of fudge and burnt wood.

Smögen Whiskey Private Cask 3.5 years old

64.3% alc./vol.
Sherry Cask. Smögen Whiskey is a Swedish distillery producing whiskey and single malt gin. Founded in 2009 by Pär Caldenby, a lawyer, whiskey enthusiast and author of Enjoying Malt Whiskey, the Smögen distillery produced its first "spirit" in 2010 after receiving a grant of nearly one million Swedish kroner from the government. The distillery is located on a farm near Hunnebostrand, on the west coast of Sweden, north of Gothenburg. The distillery is named after nearby Smögen Island. The first bottling of a three-year-old single malt whiskey took place in 2013.

André 90%
Beautiful smooth sherry, black cherries, quite present smoke, nice round nose for such a young whiskey. The sherry is reminiscent of some Bowmore editions, heated caramel, oranges, dried grapes, tiny maritime notes and some notes of new oak also, but very indented. The nose is whole and very compact, the flavors intense and pushed almost to the extreme. The palate is frank at the level of alcohol but greedy flavors; dried fruits, large black cherries, blood oranges, very peculiar peat smoke, dates in their juice, black forest cake (with lots of grated dark chocolate on it), cinnamon, pine casseroles, with a slight organic accent, but a beautiful design . Tasty spices too, cinnamon and ginger. The texture is syrupy and sticky on the palate, this creaminess protects the mouth of the bite of alcohol which is all light considering the alcohol content. The finish is long, propelled by alcohol and intensity of flavors. Blend of dried fruits and organic peat. A whiskey has amazing maturity for its young age, proof that know-how takes precedence over an overrated reputation.

Single Malt Whiskey Box "The Messenger" 3 years old

48.4% alc./vol.
Bottled November 2015. Limited edition of 8169 bottles. 76% of the recipe comes from maturation in American oak barrels of 130 liters and 24% from Oloroso shery cask. 7% of the recipe contains peated whiskey from the distillery.

André 81%
Beautiful notes of vanilla and oak wood, greenish notes, eucalyptus, finely mint peat mint. The nose has aromas of young distillate quite influenced by the wood, made almost vegetal ... I am not conquered. The whiskey develops slowly in the mouth, again on the mint and the slightly peaty eucaplyptus, the vanilla has turned into something more like caramel, handful of unsalted almonds, green wood, grass, pears , malted cereals, then flock of spices and pepper. With aeration, some notes of red fruits well discrete. Final of pears, spices and pepper. A whiskey that may not yet have enough character and personality, greatly influenced by the cask and the wood.

Patrick 89%
A very good spicy and smoked whiskey. I like! Nose: Fragrance of young whiskey marked by citrus and eucalyptus. Palate: Spicy and smoky wood, with some pepper, subtly sweet vanilla and eucalyptus. Tasty! Finish: Medium length, a little dry and very spicy.

Spirit of Hven Backafallsbyn Tycho Star Single Malt Whiskey

41.8% alc./vol.
Hven distillery is located in Sweden, this edition pays homage to astronomer Tycho Brahe and the supernova he discovered in 1572. Brahe lived on the small island of Hven in the early 1500 years. The mashbill is made of malted barley, Pale Ale malt and Chocolate Malt. The barrels are composed of 58,20% heavy charred Quercus Muehlenbergii from the State of Missouri, 33,44% heavy toast Quercus Petraea from the Allier region and 8,36% medium toast Quercus Robur from Burgundy.

André 90%
What a beautiful presentation. In the debate, the nose is relatively closed, opens with notes of slightly smoky caramel, pan-fried pears, then cinnamon and ginger. Nothing that breaks the barraque but this will only make the surprise in the mouth more interesting. It seems that spices are now masters of the direction that will take this tasty flight, firm and assertive notes of ginger and cinnamon topped with finely salted caramel, then, fly earthy peat and green grass. Notes of dark chocolate and bananas, vanilla, caramel burnt, various spices to which will add the flavors of black pepper in the mouth and a peat smoke that fades slowly but with great persistence. Wow, what a tasty whiskey, remarkable balance, singular flavors. Only small criticism, the volatility of the whiskey that will drink without too much drag in the glass. I just love it.

Patrick 92%
A superb surprise that this Hven! Tasty and complex, I love it! Nose: Smell of smoky yellow peat, cinnamon and ginger. Palate: Sweet and oily smoke. Also nice spices, caramel, some grass, dark chocolate and bananas. Sublime. Finish: Medium in length, smoky, spicy and slightly sweet.

Box Single Malt Whiskey Dálvve 5 years - Batch #01

46% alc./vol.
With this expression the Swedish distillery Box presents us a whiskey straight from the cold: Box Dalvee. Its name means "winter" in Sami, a dialect of the Scandinavian countries and pays tribute to Sweden, the country rising to the stage of whiskey. Blend of non-peated malts and slightly aged peated malts first fill bourbon casks, edition of 14,000 bottles.

André 82.5%
Very straight nose even if vanilla and focused on dry wood and cereals. Abundance of vanilla, some greenish elements, pears, fruit salad, white chocolate perhaps. Interesting duality between the slightly dry and spicy nose and the oily texture and sticky in the mouth, one could think of juice of preserved fruit salad. The palate is spicy and peppery, the green wood flavors are important. The rendering is a little weird, the young alcohol is very noticeable, which will not please everyone. The finish is sweet, icing sugar, oak wood, plump and sharp spices, creamy vanilla. A whiskey style Ikea or Abba, correct design without more but pleasant and with a bit of singularity.

Patrick 92%
Wow! A nice surprise all in subtlety and intensity all at once. I bought the bottle out of curiosity, now I want a second one! Wow !! Nose: Fragrance of peat with a little vanilla, some dried fresh herbs, a subtle citrus note and I think I detect a touch of salt. Palate: Beautiful peat with fresh and intense peat, with beautiful spices, herbs, citrus and a subtle touch of salt. Finale: A beautiful length, marked by smoke, citrus and a touch of sugar more enjoyable.

Mackmyra Motörhead XXXX Aged in Bourbon Casks

40% alc./vol.
Produced by Mackmyra House (Sweden), this whiskey celebrates the 40 years of the Motorhead Group's career. Aged for a period of 5 years in New Oak Barrels and a part of the whiskey was also entitled to refining Oloroso sherry cask for a period of 6 months.

André 77%
With a marketing as noisy as a Motorhead tune and an opportunistic subtlety worthy of the stubborn didinne on Lemmy's cheek, the expectations for this whiskey were very high, as much as the appearance of a new album tribute to Lemmy with songs unpublished. Well, I'm sorry to announce that this whiskey is disappointing, as much for the Mackmyra house as for the tribute to this fetish band. Signature charred bourbon cask, as much burned as Lemmy has sucked cigarettes (or other), oak wood is ubiquitous and remind for some, the Jack Daniel's, usual fruit bourbons, red berries and liquorice (black this time ). Interesting to see the fruity confusion that settles in the mouth because with the sustained influence of oak it would be easy to believe that the whiskey is aged in ex-bourbon cask. So in summary; charred wood, red fruits, black licorice, salt-free nuts, almonds, vanilla. A touch of dried fruit and some spicy reverb. The texture in the mouth offers an interesting but predictable melody and a little without passion; the alcohol is very present, the flavors a little faded, like an old t-shirt washed a thousand times, all-spice, black licorice, charcoal. Filthy finish, charred oak wood again, black and red licorice, dried fruit. Sorry to break your trip ...

Patrick 81%
A whiskey that reminds us how much metal is made the new "pop" of the 2000 years. Simple and effective, easy to drink, just like Motörhead's music. Nose: Fruity rather fruity and sweet. Palate: Always fruits and sugar, but also some subtly burnt oak and almonds. Simple, not bad, effective. Final: a little short, with burnt oak and red fruits.

Mackmyra Special #05 Happy Hunting

47.2% alc./vol.

André 83%
Mackmyra will have found his niche by presenting us with a nose so unique that we could spot it among all. On the nose, honey, wild berries, sugar and the usual smell from Swedish oak barrels. This same nose, very sweet, that will slice with the mouth, firmer and dry with flavor of sap and chlorophyll, grass and sawdust then rise in alcohol drying progressively. The final, on the other hand, presents flavors of candies Certs and peppermint, rather astrigeant then a return on the honey in any final. Not my favorite Mackmyra ... (2013-09-23)

RV 91%
Fresh strawberry perfume that reminds me of my little blondes of primary alcohol ... beautiful nostalgia. To the taste one passes secondary, CEGEP and Laval; we are in the yard of the wonderfully bizarre big barrels of Sweden as well as its cloudberry. The finish is rather dry and slightly sex. Another Scandinavian bomb, difficult to find anything bad.

Patrick 84%
Nose: Citrus and wet cereals. A touch of fruity Very cool. Palate: Very fresh, fruity, offering some complexity. Final: Too short. Small metallic touch a little pocket. Balance: Beautiful complexity, but final pocket.

Mackmyra Vit Hund

46.1% alc./vol.
ART NR # MV-001. Vit Hund means white dog in Swedish, which is a new make so a whiskey has not matured.

André 82%
Nose defined and sliced, gin-gin and it looks a lot like grappa (that's what I had been told by the way) because of its very fruity side grapes flavor with a little floral side weird. Clean and clear - the alcohol content is for something - the grapes predominate and floral smells complete the whole. Relatively sweet finish, punctuated with grapes and a hint of lemon.

Patrick 79%
It's always fun to discover the new make of a distillery that we like. But sometimes, it makes us realize how good they are with the aging of their whiskey! Nose: Scent of grappa mixed with a new make of whiskey. Palate: Alcohol and flowers macerate with some subtle spices. Finale: Spicy with a touch of citrus.

Mackmyra Special #03 Sma Fat (Small Cask)

48.2% alc./vol.
Designed from 30 barrels of liters from different 2 recipes and from three different types of casks - ex-bourbon casks, ex-sherry casks and new Swedish oak casks.

André 85%
Elizabeth says that she smells apples and I second, apple and fruit, wild berries, sugar and freshly cut wood. Question of personal taste, I do not fancy the bitterness of the said wild berries, the conjunction of it with alcohol probably doing the rest ... The mouth is a little flabby even if overflowing with fruit. Breathing, the whole turns more on the notes of vanilla and sugar. Finale of good length, a mixture of fruits, sugar and dry wood.

Patrick 85%
Very light nose marked by alcohol and citrus. It smells of young whiskey, the new make does not seem far ... In the mouth, always the alcohol and the new make. Once this impression dissipated, we discover a beautiful bouquet of citrus and always this touch reminiscent of honeysuckle, or at least its leaves in this case. The finish is relatively long, with a touch of spice probably from the cask. An interesting whiskey, which seems to improve with every sip.

Martin 90.5%
Nose: Sweet hops, orange or even smoked marmalade. Look sweet. Caramel and toffee background. Palate: Creamy and unctuous. Bottom in the mouth like a fresh fish. Sugar cane, jams and still marmalade. Finale: The most delicate smoke. Impression of peppermint. Balance: Impregnated with the typical Mackmyra touch.

RV 85.5%
A return to the chemical and pleasant past of the still challenging distillery. Highly perfumed with more depth than other Mackmyra Special, the nose is also the most bizarre in the series, with the chemical side finding blood orange and vanilla. On the palate, the Preludium pipe cleaner can be tasted and then the plum can be enjoyed. Finely fluffy dry grain, the agricultural origin is more evident than in the average profile of Mackmyra. Not totally convinced given the generally botanical aspect that concludes the aftertaste, this edition is to try but can not be my first choice for a Swedish whiskey.

Mackmyra Special #08 Handpicked

46% alc./vol.
Recipe resulting from a mixture of matures bourbon casks, sherry and finally Swedish oak barrels and new Americans, then an additional maturation in ex-Sauternes casks.

André 85%
Fairly sweet and dry wood in this new edition. Strangely dry in the mouth despite the contribution of the Sauternes cask and punctuated with notes of tree sap, a bit bitter as delivery ... I was expecting the presence of more important sherry cask but it is not the case. As round in the mouth as the nose, sweet and pleasant, enveloping texture but weakness in the range of aromas that are quite limited. Final good length but no surprise.

Patrick 87%
An original whiskey if there is one! Rich and complex, a truly trippy whiskey that improves with every sip. Nose: Fragrance of sweet grass and wood. A little strange, but still nice. The more it breathes, the more the Sauternes sugar becomes evident. Palate: A syrupy sugar marked by vanilla and herbs. All is complemented by sap and a beautiful bitterness. Best of sip in sip. Final: Stretch on the sap and some wood spices, which subtly recall a bourbon.

English EN Français FR

Box Single Malt Whisky PX

56.7% alc./vol.
Maturation en first-fill bourbon casks et affinage en first-fill PX pour un vieillissement total de 5.34 années. Limited edition of 1507 bottles.

André 86.5%
Avalanche de fruits rouges; cœur de pommes, cerises, cosses d’oranges, raisins, chocolat noir, dattes et figues, mélange de cannelle et de poivre concassé. Très bel agencement de flaveurs, attrayantes et juicy. La bouche offre beaucoup de punch, outre le taux d’alcool, les notes de poivre et d’épices sont intenses, mais n’offre que pratiquement les mêmes saveurs perçues au nez. Les saveurs sont intenses, l’alcool aussi, mais l’ensemble ne réussi pas à cacher la jeunesse du whisky. Belle finale, moyenne en longueur, fruitée élégamment et épicée avec générosité. Un peu ambivalent sur cet embouteillage qu’on a tenté de masquer avec un cask finish puissant. À 150$ le 500ml, y’a pas juste l’alcool qui passe serré…

Patrick 90%
Un superbe whisky, riche, intense et bien construit. Wow, j’adore! Nez : Fruits sucrés, bananes, chocolat au lait. Tellement appétissant, j’en ai l’eau à la bouche! Bouche : Un gros whisky intense, avec une belle texture huileuse, maltée, avec de beaux fruits mûrs, de beaux jujubes sucrés, du bois brûlé et de belles épices. Finale : D’une belle longueur, avec des notes de fudge et de bois brûlé.

Smögen Whisky Private Cask 3.5 ans

64.3% alc./vol.
Sherry Cask. Smögen Whiskey est une distillerie suédoise qui produit du whisky et du gin single malt . Créée en 2009 par Pär Caldenby , avocate, passionnée de whisky et auteur de Enjoying Malt Whiskey , la distillerie Smögen a produit son premier ‘’spirit’’ en 2010 après avoir reçu une subvention de près d’un million de couronnes suédoises du gouvernement. La distillerie est située sur une ferme près de Hunnebostrand , sur la côte ouest de la Suède, au nord de Göteborg . La distillerie porte le nom de l’île Smögen , située à proximité. La première mise en bouteille, d’un whisky single malt de trois ans, a eu lieu en 2013.

André 90%
Beau sherry onctueux, cerises noires, fumée assez présente, belle rondeur au nez pour un si jeune whisky. Le sherry rappelle certaines éditions Bowmore, caramel chauffé, oranges, raisins séchés, infimes notes maritimes et quelques notes de fût neuf aussi, mais très en retrait. Le nez est entier et très compact, les saveurs intenses et poussées presque à l’extrême. La bouche est franche au niveau de l’alcool mais les saveurs goulues; fruits secs, grosses cerises noires, oranges sanguines, fumée de tourbe très singulière, dattes dans leur jus, gâteau forêt noire (avec beaucoup de chocolat noir râpé dessus), cannelle, cocottes de pin, avec un léger accent organique bizarre mais de belle conception. Savoureuses épices aussi, cannelle et gingembre. La texture est sirupeuse et collante en bouche, cette onctuosité protège la bouche de la morsure de l’alcool qui est somme toute légère compte tenu du taux d’alcool. La finale est longue, propulsée par l’alcool et l’intensité des saveurs. Mélange de fruits séchés et de tourbe organique. Un whisky a la maturité étonnante pour son jeune âge, preuve que le savoir faire prime sur une réputation surfaite.

Box Single Malt Whisky “The Messenger” 3 ans

48.4% alc./vol.
Bottled November 2015. Édition limitée de 8169 bouteilles. 76% de la recete provient d’une maturation en fût de chêne américain de 130 litres et 24% provenant de fût de shery Oloroso. 7% de la recette contient du whisky tourbé de la distillerie.

André 81%
Belles notes de vanille et du bois de chêne, notes verdâtres, eucalyptus, genre menthe tourbée finiment. Le nez dégage des arômes de jeune distillat passablement influencé par le bois, rendu presque végétal… Je ne suis pas conquis. Le whisky se développe lentement en bouche, encore sur la menthe et l’eucaplyptus un peu tourbé, la vanille s’est transformée en quelque chose qui ressemble plus à du caramel, poignée d’amandes non-salées, bois vert, herbe, poires, céréales maltées, puis volée d’épices et de poivre. À l’aération, quelques notes de fruits rouges bien discrètes. Finale de poires, d’épices et de poivre. Un whisky n’ayant peut-être pas encore assez acquis de caractère et de personnalité propre, grandement influencée par le fût et le bois.

Patrick 89%
Un très bon whisky épicé et fumé. J’aime bien! Nez : Parfum de jeune whisky marqué par les agrumes et de l’eucalyptus. Bouche : Bois épicé et fumé, avec un peu de poivre, de vanille subtilement sucrée et d’eucalyptus. Savoureux! Finale: D’une longueur moyenne, un peu sèche et très épicée.

Spirit of Hven Backafallsbyn Tycho’s Star Single Malt Whisky

41.8% alc./vol.
Hven distillery est situé en Suède, cet édition rend hommage à l’astronome Tycho Brahe et à la supernova qu’il a découvert en 1572. Brahe vivait d’ailleurs sur la petite île de Hven au début des années 1500. Le mashbill est composé d’orge maltée, de Pale Ale malt et de Chocolate Malt. Les fûts sont composés de 58,20% heavy charred Quercus Muehlenbergii de l’État du Missouri, 33,44% heavy toast Quercus Petraea de la région de Allier et de 8,36% medium toast Quercus Robur provenant de Bourgogne.

André 90%
Quelle belle presentation. Au débat, le nez est relativement fermé, s’ouvre sur des notes de caramel légèrement fumé, les poires poêlées, puis la cannelle et le gingembre. Rien qui casse la barraque mais ceci ne rendra que la surprise en bouche plus intéressante. On dirait que les épices sont maitenant maitres de la direction que prendra cette savoureuses envolée, notes fermes et affirmées de gingembre et de cannelle nappées de caramel finement salée, puis, volée de tourbe terreuse et d’herbe verte. Notes de chocolat noir et de bananes, vanille, caramel brûlé, épices diverses auquel s’ajouteront les saveurs de poivre noir en finale de bouche et une fumée de tourbe qui s’évanouit lentement mais avec beaucoup de persistance. Wow, quel savoureux whisky, équilibre remarquable, saveurs singulières. Seul petit reproche, la volatilité du whisky qui faudra boire sans trop laisser trainer dans le verre. J’adore.

Patrick 92%
Une superbe surprise que ce Hven! Savoureux et complexe, j’adore! Nez : Parfum de tourbe jaune fumée, de cannelle et de gingembre. Bouche : Fumée sucrée et huileuse. Aussi de belles épices, du caramel, un peu d’herbe, du chocolat noir et des bananes. Sublime. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, fumée, et épicée et légèrement sucrée.

Box Single Malt Whisky Dálvve 5 ans – Batch #01

46% alc./vol.
Avec cette expression la distillerie suédoise Box nous présente un whisky tout droit venu du froid : Box Dalvee. Son nom signifie « hiver » en sami, un dialecte des pays scandinaves et rend ainsi hommage à la Suède, ce pays montant sur la scène des whiskies. Assemblage de malts non tourbés et de malts légèrement tourbés vieillis first fill bourbon casks, édition de 14,000 bouteilles.

André 82.5%
Nez très rectiligne même si vanillé et axé sur le bois sec et les céréales. Abondance de vanille, quelques éléments verdâtres, poires, salade de fruits, du chocolat blanc peut-être. Dualité intéressante entre le nez un peu sec et épicé et la texture huileuse et collante en bouche, on pourait penser à du jus de salade de fruits en conserve. La bouche est épicée et poivrée, les saveurs de bois verts sont importantes. Le rendu est un peu bizarre, le jeune alcool est très perceptible, ce qui ne plaira pas à tous. La finale est sucrée, le sucre à glacer, bois de chêne, épices dodues et acérées, vanille crémeuse. Un whisky style Ikea ou Abba, de conception correcte sans plus mais agréable et avec un brin de singularité.

Patrick 92%
Wow! Une belle surprise toute en subtilité et en intensité tout à la fois. J’ai acheté la bouteille par curiosité, maintenant j’en veux une deuxième! Wow!! Nez : Parfum de tourbe avec un peu de vanille, quelques herbes fraiches séchées, une note d’agrumes subtile et je crois détecter une touche de sel. Bouche : Belle fuée de tourbe fraiche et intense, avec de belles épices, des herbes, des agrumes et une touche subtile de sel. Finale : D’une belle longueur, marquée par la fumée, les agrumes et une touche de sucre des plus agréables.

Mackmyra Motörhead XXXX Aged in Bourbon Casks

40% alc./vol.
Produit par la maison Mackmyra (Suède), ce whisky célèbre les 40 ans de carrière du groupe Motorhead. Vieilli pendant une période de 5 ans en new oak barrels et une partie du whisky a également eu droit à un affinage en fût de sherry Oloroso pour une période de 6 mois.

André 77%
Avec un marketing aussi bruyant qu’une toune de Motorhead et une subtilité opportiniste digne de la didinne tronant sur la joue de Lemmy, les attentes envers ce whisky étaient fort hautes, autant que la parution d’un nouvel album hommage à Lemmy avec des chansons inédites. Hé bien, je suis désolé de vous annoncer que ce whisky est décevant, autant pour la maison Mackmyra que pour l’hommage à ce groupe fétiche. Signature du bourbon cask carbonisé, autant de brûlé que Lemmy aura aspiré de cigarettes (ou autre), le boisé du chêne est omniprésent et rappellera pour certains, le Jack Daniel’s, fruits habituels des bourbons, les fruits rouges et la réglisse (noire cette fois). Intéressant de voir la confusion fruitée qui s’installe en bouche car avec l’influence soutenue du chêne on croirait facilement que le whisky est vieili en ex-bourbon cask. Donc en résumé; bois carbonisé, fruits rouges, réglisse noire, noix sans sel, amandes, vanille. Une touche de fruits séchés et quelques reverb épicés. La texture en bouche offre une mélodie intéressante mais prévisible et un peu sans passion; l’alcool est très présent, les saveurs un peu affadies, comme un vieux t-shirt lavé mille fois, tout-épice, réglisse noire, charcoal. Finale crasseuse, le bois de chêne carbonisé encore une fois, réglisse noire et rouge, fruits secs. Désolé de vous briser votre trip…

Patrick 81%
Un whisky qui nous rappelle à quel point le métal est rendu la nouvelle « pop » des années 2000. Simple et efficace, facile à boire, tout comme la musique de Motörhead. Nez : Parfum plutôt fruité et sucré. Bouche : Toujours les fruits et le sucre, mais aussi un peu de chêne subtilement brûlé et des amandes. Simple, pas mauvais, efficace. Finale : un peu courte, avec du chêne brûlé et des fruits rouges.

Mackmyra Special #05 Happy Hunting

47.2% alc./vol.

André 83%
Mackmyra aura su trouver sa niche en nous présentant un nez si unique qu’on saurait le repérer d’entre tous. Au nez, du miel, des petits fruits sauvages, du sucre et cette odeur habituelle tirée des fûts de chêne Suédois. Ce même nez, très doux, qui tranchera avec la bouche, plus ferme et sèche à saveur de sève et de chlorophylle, d’herbe et de brin de scie puis montée en alcool s’asséchant progressivement. La finale quant à elle présente des saveurs de bonbons Certs et de menthe poivrée, plutôt astrigeante puis un retour sur le miel en toute finale. Pas mon Mackmyra préféré…(2013-09-23)

RV 91%
Parfum à la fraise fraisinette qui me rappelle mes ptites blondes de l’alcool primaire… belle nostalgie. Au gout on passe secondaire, CEGEP et Laval; on est dans la cour des grands barils merveilleusement bizarre de la Suède ainsi que ses cloudberry. La finale est plutot sèche et légèrement sexe. Une autre bombe scandinave, difficile d’y trouver quoique ce soit de mauvais.

Patrick 84%
Nez: Agrumes et céréales mouillées. Petite touche fruitée. Très frais. Bouche: Très fraîche, fruitée, offrant une certaine complexité. Finale: Trop courte. Petite touche métallique un peu poche. Balance: Belle complexité, mais finale poche.

Mackmyra Vit Hund

46.1% alc./vol.
ART NR # MV-001. Vit Hund signifie white dog en suédois, qui est un new make donc un whisky n’ayant subi aucune maturation.

André 82%
Nez défini et tranché, genièvre-gin et ça ressemble beaucoup à de la grappa (c’est ce qu’on m’avait dit d’ailleurs) de part son côté très fruité à saveur de raisins assortis d’un côté floral un peu bizarre. Bouche épurée et claire – le taux d’alcool y est pour quelque chose – les raisins prédominent et des odeurs florales complètent le tout. Finale relativement douce, ponctuée de raisins et d’une touche de citron.

Patrick 79%
Il est toujours amusant de découvrir le new make d’une distillerie qu’on aime bien. Mais parfois, ça nous fait réaliser à quel point ils sont habiles avec le vieillissement de leur whisky! Nez : Parfum de grappa mélangée à un new make de whisky. Bouche : L’alcool et des fleurs qui y macèrent, avec quelques épices subtiles. Finale : Épicée avec une touche d’agrumes.

Mackmyra Special #03 Små Fat (Small Cask)

48.2% alc./vol.
Conçu à partir de fûts de 30 litres provenant de 2 recettes différentes et de trois types de fûts différents – ex-bourbon casks, ex-sherry casks et new Swedish oak casks.

André 85%
Élisabeth dit quelle sent les pommes et je seconde, la pomme et les fruits, les petits fruits sauvages, le sucre et le bois fraichement coupé. Question de goût personnel, je ne raffole pas de l’amertume des dits petits fruits sauvages, la conjonction de celle-ci avec l’alcool faisant probablement le reste… La bouche est un peu flasque même si débordante de fruits. En respirant, l’ensemble tourne plus sur les notes de vanille et de sucre. Finale de belle longueur, un mélange de fruits, de sucre et de bois sec.

Patrick 85%
Nez très léger marqué par l’alcool et les agrumes. Ca sent le jeune whisky, le new make ne semble pas loin… En bouche, toujours l’alcool et le new make. Une fois cette impression dissipée, on découvre un beau bouquet d’agrumes et toujours cette touche rappelant le chèvrefeuille, ou du moins ses feuilles dans ce cas-ci. La finale est relativement longue, avec une touche épicée provenant probablement du fût. Un whisky intéressant, qui semble s’améliorer à chaque gorgée.

Martin 90.5%
Nez: Houblon sucré, orange voire même marmelade fumée. S’annonce doux. Fond de caramel et de toffee. Bouche: Crémeux et onctueux. Fond en bouche comme un poisson frais. Canne à sucre, confitures et encore marmelade. Finale: La plus délicate des fumées. Impression de menthe poivrée. Équilibre: Impregné de la touche typique de Mackmyra.

RV 85.5%
Un retour vers le passé chimique et agréable de la distillerie toujours challengeante. Très parfumé avec plus de profondeur que les autres Mackmyra Special, le nez est aussi le plus bizarre de la série, avec le côté chimique qui trouve de l’orange sanguine et la vanille. En bouche le cure-pipe du Preludium se laisse goûter puis enfin la prune boucle le tout gustativement. Finale de grain sec moelleux, l’origine agricole est plus évidente que dans le profil moyen de Mackmyra. Pas totalement convaincu étant donné l’aspect généralement botanique qui conclut l’aftertaste, cette édition est à essayer mais ne saurait être mon premier choix pour un whisky suédois.

Mackmyra Special #08 Handpicked

46% alc./vol.
Recette résultant d’un mélange des maturations fûts de bourbon, de xérès et finalement de fûts de chêne Suédois et Américains neufs, puis une maturation supplémentaire en ex-Sauternes casks.

André 85%
Passablement de sucré et de bois sec dans cette nouvelle édition. Étrangement sec en bouche malgré l’apport du fût de Sauternes et ponctué de notes de sève d’arbre, un peu amer comme livraison… Je m’attendais à la présence plus importante du fût de sherry mais ce n’est pas le cas. Aussi rond en bouche qu’au nez, liquoreux et agréable, texture enveloppante mais faiblesse au niveau de la gamme d’arômes qui sont assez limités. Finale de bonne longueur mais sans surprise aucune.

Patrick 87%
Un whisky original s’il en est un ! Riche et complexe, un whisky vraiment trippant qui s’améliore à chaque gorgée. Nez : Parfum d’herbe sucrée et de bois. Un peu étrange, mais tout de même agréable. Plus il respire, plus le sucre du Sauternes devient évident. Bouche : Sucre sirupeux marqué par la vanille et les herbes. Le tout est complété par de la sève et une belle amertume. Meilleur de gorgée en gorgée. Finale : S’étire sur la sève et quelques épices du bois, qui rappellent subtilement un bourbon.

English EN Français FR