Daron XO Calvados Pays D'Auge

40% alc./vol.
18 years old, aged in barrels of Cognac

Patrick 89%
A spirit that will replace any dessert! Nose: Beautiful ripe and sweet apples, touch of brown sugar and some spices reminiscent of apple pie. Palate: A warm and delicious liquid apple pie, with nice spicy notes. All served on a vanilla oak tray.

Roger Groult Ancestral Reserve

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 94%
A liquor of a quality that I have rarely met. Definitely part of the "top 1%" all categories. Nose: Sublime perfume of apples, spices, oak and compote. CA feels the sky! Palate: Wow, juicy apples, touch of sugar, spices, some grass and a hint of slightly burnt caramel. Final: Long, sweet and warm. Leaves us in a contemplative state, see dreamer.

Roger Groult Dean of Age

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
Exceptional, difficult to describe because of its great complexity and especially its immeasurable subtlety. Nose: Syrupy green apple with a touch of caramel and biscuit. Palate: Sweet green apple with spices, biscuits and oak. Finish: Long, smooth and with a hint of caramel.

Roger Groult Golden Age

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 90%
Complex, refined and very well balanced. Excellent. Nose: Ripe apple, but still an acid point. Palate: Nice, spicy and acidic apples, with a nice subtly sweet touch. Finish: Long, tasty and marked by oak.

Roger Groult 12 years

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 92%
A masterpiece, a success all along the line. Nose: Apple pips and apple juice "Rougemont" unsweetened (or almost!). Palate: On the palate, succulent unsweetened apple juice with subtle oak hints. Finish: Long and slightly spicy, always with nice notes of apples.

Roger Groult 8 years

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 83%
This one, even if it is still good, disappointed me a little. The 3 I had tasted before seemed more interesting. Nose: Rich and sweet apple cider with a touch of simple syrup and a floral tip. Taste: Very spicy, with notes of burnt oak, then some notes of sour apples. Final: The apple expresses itself more clearly at the level of the final.

Roger Groult 3 years

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 90%
Very fresh, ideal for hot summer days, especially if served lightly fresh. Nose: Intense apple cider with notes of slightly browned and sweet apples. Palate: Spicy finish, oak then bitter apple. Finish: Long and dry, marked by the bitterness of the apple.

Calvados Lecompte 12 years

40% alc./vol.

RV 86%
Always interesting to see or feel how difficult it is to hide the apple behind the little wooden nose. In the mouth, the yellow apple and apple jam are given, without being too sweet, even being a little dry. The final is the highlight of the experience: always apple, we scratch the stick of strong scratch cinnamon on the rasp. The aftertaste is remarkable by the length (especially for an 12-aged spirits), which concludes my best calvados until now.

Roger Groult Venerable

41% alc./vol.
Calvados from the Pays d'Auge.

Patrick 88%
A very good Calvados, which will satisfy all palates. Nose: Burnt and sweet apple with a touch of compote, spices and dry grass. Palate: Apples and spices, with a woody tip. The whole presents a subtle and warm sugar. Finish: Long, marked by fresh apples.

RV 84%
An old wise teacher ... but older than wise. Hyper sweet with a lot of apple skin than flesh. Little arrival or rather super slow in the mouth, the apple comes late before the final all cinnamon and apple wood. For an alcohol so worked, it is worth it for the papilla but perhaps not for the wallet despite its more than reasonable price.

Boulard XO

40% alc./vol.
Calva of the country of Auge.

RV 83.5%
Strange olfactory blend. The smell of acid and sweet apple both places this calva between gin and armagnac. By cons, unlike too powerful whiskeys, you can really plunge your nose into the glass to feel all the subtleties of the sugar of the apple. Silky and light on the palate, the apple does not let the wood pass, and we must wait in the finish to find a liquid maturity, with fresh vanilla, a hint of walnuts, in a beautiful heat for a percentage as low. Like introductory Calva, does the job very well.

English EN Français FR

Daron XO Calvados Pays D’Auge

40% alc./vol.
18 ans, vieillit en fûts de Cognac

Patrick 89%
Un spiritueux qui remplacera avantageusement n’importe quel dessert! Nez : Belles pommes mûres et sucrées, touche de cassonade et quelques épices rappelant une tarte aux pommes. Bouche : Une chaleureuse et délicieuse tarte aux pommes liquide, avec de belles notes épicées. Le tout, servi sur un plateau de chêne vanillé.

Roger Groult Réserve Ancestrale

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 94%
Un spiritueux d’une qualité que j’ai rarement rencontré. Fait définitivement partie du « top 1% » toute catégories confondues. Nez : Parfum sublime de pommes, épices, chêne et compote. CA sent le ciel! Bouche : Wow, pommes juteuses, touche de sucre, épices, un peu d’herbe et une pointe de caramel légèrement brûlé. Finale : Longue, suave et chaleureuse. Nous laisse dans un état contemplatif, voir rêveur.

Roger Groult Doyen d’Âge

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
Exceptionnel, difficile à décrire de par sa grande complexité et surtout son incommensurable subtilité. Nez : Pomme verte sirupeuse avec une touche de caramel et de biscuit. Bouche : Pomme verte sucrée avec épices, biscuits et chêne. Finale : Longue, suave et présentant une pointe de caramel.

Roger Groult Âge d’Or

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 90%
Complexe, raffiné et très bien balance. Excellent. Nez : Pomme mûre, mais tout de même une pointe acide. Bouche : Belles pommes acides et épicées, avec une belle touche subtilement sucrée. Finale : Longue, savoureuse et marquée par le chêne.

Roger Groult 12 ans

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 92%
Un chef d’œuvre, une réussite sur toute la ligne. Nez : Pépins de pomme et jus de pomme « Rougemont » non sucré (ou presque!). Bouche : En bouche, succulent jus de pomme non sucré accompagné de subtiles notes de chêne. Finale : Longue et légèrement épicée, avec toujours de belles notes de pommes.

Roger Groult 8 ans

41% alc./vol.

Patrick 83%
Celui-ci, même s’il est tout de même bon, m’a un peu déçu. Le 3 ans que j’avais goûté avant me semblait plus intéressant. Nez: Cidre de pomme riche et sucré avec une touche de sirop simple et une pointe florale. Bouche: Très épicée, avec des notes de chêne brûlé, puis quelques notes de pommes acides. Finale: La pomme s’exprime plus clairement au niveau de la finale.

Roger Groult 3 ans

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 90%
Très frais, idéal pour les chaudes journées d’été, surtout s’il est servi légèrement frais. Nez : Cidre de pomme intense, avec des notes de pommes un peu brunies et sucrées. Bouche : Arrivée épicée, chêne puis pomme amère. Finale : Longue et sèche, marquée par l’amertume de la pomme.

Calvados Lecompte 12 ans

40% alc./vol.

RV 86%
Toujours intéressant de voir ou de sentir à quel point il est difficile de cacher la pomme derrière le petit nez de bois. En bouche, la pomme jaune et la confiture de pomme se donnent, sans être trop sucré, voir même en étant un peu secs. La finale est le point fort de l’expérience: toujours en pomme, on gratte le bâton de cannelle gratte fort sur la râpe. L’aftertaste est remarquable par la longueur (spécialement pour un spiritueux de 12 ans), qui conclut mon meilleur calvados jusqu’à maintenant.

Roger Groult Vénérable

41% alc./vol.
Calvados du pays d’Auge.

Patrick 88%
Un très bon Calvados, qui saura satisfaire tous les palais. Nez : Pomme brûlée et sucrée avec une touche de compote, d’épices et de gazon sec. Bouche : Pommes et épices, avec une pointe boisée. L’ensemble présente un sucre subtil et chaleureux. Finale : Longue, marquée par les pommes fraîches.

RV 84%
Un vieux prof sage… mais davantage vieux que sage. Hyper doux avec beaucoup de pelure de pomme que de chair. Peu d’arrivée ou plutôt super lent en bouche, la pomme sort tardivement avant la finale toute en cannelle et bois de pommier. Pour un alcool autant travaillé, il vaut la peine pour la papille mais peut-être pas pour le portefeuille malgré son prix plus que raisonnable.

Boulard XO

40% alc./vol.
Calva du pays d’Auge.

RV 83.5%
Étrange mélange olfactif. L’odeur de pomme acide et sucrée à la fois place ce calva entre le gin et l’armagnac. Par contre, contrairement à de trop puissants whiskies, on peut vraiment plonger le nez dans le verre pour sentir toutes les subtilités du sucre de la pomme. Soyeux et léger en bouche, la pomme ne laisse pas passer le bois, et l’on doit attendre en finale pour trouver une maturité au liquide, avec de la vanille fraiche, une pointe de noix de Grenoble, dans une belle chaleur pour un pourcentage aussi bas. Comme Calva d’introduction, fait très bien le travail.

English EN Français FR