Wieser Uuahouua Single Malt WIESky 7 years old

40% alc./vol.
Austrian whiskey - Sherry Wood, quadruple distillation.

André 73%
Agricultural nose of macerated cereals, raisins topped with caramel, honey cereals, liquor in bulk, wild strawberries, cherry juice, wine of mass ... not always a pleasure to evaluate whiskeys ... The mouth is diaphanous, without too much of texture, pears, purple grapes, cereals topped with honey and caramel, all swept by a wave of neutral alcohol and agricultural flavors not super nice. Final, short, desired, rectilinear.

Patrick 82%
A beautiful simple and effective whiskey, where we have made the bane of many commercial distilleries, to reduce the rate of alcohol abuse. Otherwise, apart from a small false note on the nose, it would be pretty good. Next time maybe? Nose: Fruity scent, with a touch of sweet biscuits and a little new make. Palate: Beautiful fruit, a little sugar, burnt wood. Finale: Of a beautiful length, with beautiful spices.

Reisetbauer 12 years old

48% alc./vol.
Limited Edition 2001, 453 bottle 997.

André 83.5%
Very fruity nose (raspberries, wild fruits), small fruit jelly sweets, at the limit it can look like some sherry casks, chocolate, caramelized toffee. Beautiful texture on the palate, both liquid but with a beautiful creamy and mellow consistency. Dried fruits, gelatin sweets, then raspberries, dark chocolate and toffee again. Sweet backbone very nice. Slight astringency in the mouth, I must admit that this is the only place that would suggest the use of particular barrels. It reminds me of some Glenmorangie bottlenecks on the nose, this tricky nose not easy to identify ... Some grassy notes that slowly rise in crescendo, but the fruits are still present. The finish is sweet and well balanced, fruity and sweet to perfection. I love the flavors of jelly candies that dot the final.

Patrick 78%
Not in my palette! In fact, even my stomach seems to be protesting. Nose: Sweet (caramel) and syrupy. A weird note reminding me of fir branches that would be boiled in an aluminum camping cauldron. Palate: Caramel dominating, intense fir and mint. Warm sensation in the mouth. Finish: Medium length, metallic and minty.

English EN Français FR

Wieser Uuahouua Single Malt WIESky 7 ans

40% alc./vol.
Whisky autrichien – Sherry Wood, distillation quadruple.

André 73%
Nez agricole de céréales macérées, raisins secs nappés de caramel, céréales au miel, alcool en bulk, fraises des champs, jus de cerises, vin de messe… pas toujours un plaisir d’évaluer des whiskies… La bouche est diaphane, sans trop de texture, poires, raisins mauves, céréales nappées de miel et de caramel, le tout balayé par une vague d’alcool neutre et des saveurs agricoles pas super agréables. Finale, courte, souhaitée, rectiligne.

Patrick 82%
Un beau whisky simple et efficace, où on a fait la gaffe de bien des distilleries commerciales, soit de réduire le taux d’alcool abusivement. Sinon, mis à part une petite fausse note au nez, ça serait rudement bon. La prochaine fois, peut-être? Nez : Parfum fruité, avec une touche de biscuits sucrés et un peu de new make. Bouche : De beaux fruits, un peu de sucre, du bois brûlé. Finale : D’une belle longueur, avec de belles épices.

Reisetbauer 12 ans

48% alc./vol.
Limited Edition 2001, bouteille 453 de 997.

André 83.5%
Nez très fruité (framboises, fruits sauvages), petits bonbons en gelée aux fruits, à la limite ça peut ressembler à certains sherry casks, chocolat, toffee caramélisé. Belle texture en bouche, à la fois liquide mais offrant une belle consistance onctueuse et moelleuse. Les fruits séchés, les bonbons en gélatine, puis les framboises, le chocolat noir et le toffee encore. Backbone sucré très agréable. Légère astringence en finale de bouche, je dois avouer que c’est le seul endroit qui laisserait supposer l’utilisation de fûts particulier. Cela me rappelle certains embouteillages de Glenmorangie au nez, ce nez tricky pas facile à identifier… Quelques notes herbeuse qui montent lentement en crescendo, mais les fruits sont toujours aussi présents. La finale est douce et bien balancée, fruitée et sucrée à souhait. J’adore les saveurs de bonbons en gelée qui parsèment la finale.

Patrick 78%
Pas dans ma palette! En fait, même mon estomac semble protester. Nez : Sucré (caramel) et sirupeux. Petite note bizarre me faisant penser à des branches de sapin qu’on ferait bouillir dans un chaudron en aluminium de camping. Bouche : Caramel qui domine, sapin intense et menthe. Sensation chaleureuse en bouche. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, métallique et mentholée.

English EN Français FR