Battlehill Bowmore 28 years old

43% alc./vol.

André 88%
Wow ... Intensely fruity, the undeniable influence of cask sherry ... Intense as nose, wild red berries, salt and orange filament, honey. Palate with a texture a little soft, but beautiful flavors; fruit jam, wild fruit, porous soapstone style feeling that reminds me of old editions of Bowmore, cherries and strawberries, the nose reminds me of the 1985 Bowmore 650 $ the bottle, but this one is selling 130 $ ... There has something that hangs in my mouth, the soapy side perhaps, a bit too intense, but the flavors are still far from traditional Bowmore and many fans would see only fire. Finely fruity soapstone, finely salted.

Patrick 89%
Nose: OMG! An old Bowmore: The sea, sherry, the power of the oak, the soapstone and the dark chocolate ... Exquisite! Palate: Sherry, sea, soapstone. Then smoke, dark chocolate and oak. I have the impression to find the good old Mariner 15 years of the early 2000. Finale: Salty and spicy, of medium length. Balance: Whiskey extraordinary but ... But there is a "but" important: The texture in the mouth is ruined by a low alcohol level that gives us a feeling rather ... Aqueous. Finally, if not the masterpiece that I hoped, it still remains very good. An old Bowmore, expectations were rather high!

Martin 82%
Golden clementine and medium gold. Nose: dusty mint. A cough candy, heated and old, as if he had long been behind a furnace. Pastille Halls without any trace of peat. The marine side of the Bowmore, but without its precious smoke. Palate: Fruit compote with some spices. Low weight in the mouth. Mint and strawberries. An image that strikes decisively, a Slush Puppie with blue raspberry. What disappoints is the virtual absence of the classic character of the distillery. Finish: Long and flat on the slip notes previously stated. Balance: Flagrant lack of punch. We point fingers diluted alcohol and insufficient to make this traffic jam. There are few good malts sold to third parties, even 28 years!

Berry's Own Bowmore 1994-2008

46% alc./vol.

André 88%
Fresh peat and iodine notes. Petroleum and highly phenolic. Very well presented on the nose, nice balance even if the elements of the nose are not very subtle. It is more diffuse in the mouth, attenuated but regains strength in the final. Sea salts and lemon appear in the finish and are accompanied by kelp and dried seaweed. Each additional sip increases in intensity. Looks like a kilchoman with a less oily texture and especially less filthy.

RV 87.5%
Why Islay? Reply. As an introduction to Islay, with this bottle it is possible to discover the typical salt of the distillery, accentuated by a good measure of lemon peat. Gently pushed by a wind of freshness, the arrival is quietly to find in the final the good old frankness of whiskey, accompanied by a beautiful finale that confirms this edition as a good introduction.

Patrick 88%
Fragrance of sticky peat, smoke and tar. On the palate, a mixture of spices, salt, peat and tar. Everything starts slowly, but gains intensity towards the final. Finale besides carrying an intense salt which stretches lengthily. A nice catch!

Bowmore 10 Dark & ​​Intense Duty Free Exclusive

40% alc./vol.

André 87%
On the nose, remember the good old Bowmore with its soapy sherry notes, sea sherry, sea salt, oranges, dark chocolate, fruit cake, dried fruit, plums. Beautiful and tasty maritime mouth, salty sherry, pebbles dotted with sun-dried sea salt, ripe oranges, dark chocolate, raisins. Too bad the mouth is a little diluted by the low alcohol content, it affects the texture and dilutes the flavors. The peat is persistent, pleasantly nuanced by the notes of pepper and cinnamon, the sherry is harmonious and finely soapy, the oranges make the whiskey fresh and maritime. Final a little camphor, peaty and very fruity with a residual of sea salt nice. Surprised by this version, beautiful quality for the ridiculous price.

Patrick 88%
A good rich and complex whiskey, but lacking a little depth. But we do not care, the price is right and it drinks well! Nose: Rich salty sherry with hints of oranges, maple syrup and a light peat smoke. Palate: Salt and burnt wood, with fruity notes and some milk chocolate. Finish: A little short, salty and fruity, with a note of peat smoke.

Bowmore 10 years Inspired by the Devil's Casks Series

46% alc./vol.
Fruit of a mixture of Oloroso sherry cask and Red Wine Casks distributed exclusively in duty-free shops.

André 86.5%
Inspired by ... it's a bit like the tribute bands. It's the job but it will never be like seeing the real band show and hopefully the cover load is ok too. Obviously impossible to miss the comparison with the regular editions Devil's Cask which, in my case, did not impress me (not displeased but not impressed too). The nose represents the mixture of barrels used; very fruity Oloroso sherry style greedy and spicy with a peculiar porous pumice stone bottom, beach pebbles topped with Oloroso sherry, dark chocolate, oranges, sea salt, red berries, raisins, cranberries. The first impression in the mouth will leave the taster informed a little doubtful with an impression of "just bof" despite the notorious balance and alcohol level of 46%. The whiskey seems a little diluted at the first sip but improves with each additional lap. What impresses is the sensation of pebbles on which sea salt has dried in the sun, plums and powerful sherry, with a finish of oranges, dark chocolate and some spices. The finish is long despite its sweetness, lots of red berries from sherry cask that come with this porous sensation of stone dust and spices. For the 100 $ requested, for a liter, an honest and very correct whiskey. To be frank, I think this may be the mainstream version of Devils's regular cask. What satisfy hardcore fans for value for money but definitely an expression for whiskey lovers looking for novelty representative but softened by the wine cask ... but I would definitely buy a bottle like this!

Patrick 94%
Wow, a Devil's Cask light! Finally, light, but not too much. Just enough not to feel guilty about taking another drink. I just love it. Aaaaah, if only it could become a regular product at a price just as regular! Nose: Burnt and fruity wine, nectarines, plums, spices and brown sugar. Palate: Rich, spicy fruit, a ton of salt and enveloping smoke. Final: Of a beautiful and intense length. Fruity, chocolatey and spicy.

Martin 88.5%
Nose: Immediately the dusty oak filled with sherry greets us. Red berries, blood orange, thick caramel, toffee, dates, wrapped in a swirl of Islay peat smoke. Palate: Caramel and grapes, oak wood, astringent spices of sherry. Sea salt and dark chocolate. Superb. Finale: Spicy and earthy at longing, long and languorous, it looks like it exceeds its degree of alcohol. Balance: André may say that the bands tribute is not the same, there are some that are solid. In this case, blindfolded I think I would taste a new batch of real Devil's Casks.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #1

55.3% alc./vol.
Limited edition to 12000 bottles.

André 88.5%
Very sweet, allowing to neutralize the alcohol level of more than 55%. Peat - obviously - a pinch of salt as a bonus and a nice presence of cocoa. Finale on a salty peat reminder, a bit of stone dust. Final of beautiful length. Reconciles me with this distillery that had lost some feathers in its regular traffic jams.

RV 88%
The fruits are very present with strawberry jam without sugar or pectin, with a little vanilla that mixes at all. In the mouth, the fruits are present at the opening but are also quickly replaced by the smoke, then the peat and finally the salt typical of the distillery. The finish is of good length and the alcohol is less obvious than the old cask strength without however being completely erased; it's Bowmore that does not seem to me forced or constrained. A worthy replacement for the late cask strength whose sweet side excuses the extra $ 15, which I would see served well with cranberry trout in a cottage in the bottom of the wood on the edge of a lake.

Patrick 88%
Smoked and salty nose typical of a good Bowmore. To taste, salt, very marked by citrus and light peat. A sure value.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #2

56% alc./vol.

André 92%
Superb nose, in the line of the distillery. The bourbon cask is in the spotlight; sea ​​spray, sea salt, relatively powerful peat, citrus fruits, oranges and nectarines, vanilla, lemon, green apples, pears, apricots. Powerful in the mouth on arrival, the attack is frank before settling the oily mouth coating effect of whiskey. Then, slowly but surely, the fruit flavors settle firmly; pears, pineapple, apricots, vanilla, lemon, citrus, nectarines, peat a little dirty and maritime, dark chocolate. The peat evaporates slowly in the mouth leaving a feeling of soot a little cold, refreshed by the flavors of tropical fruits. The finish is fruity and peaty, peat wriggles on the tongue like oil in a hot skillet, beautiful waves of citrus fruits and sea salt finish. An ode to the sea on notes of bourbon cask.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #3

55.6% alc./vol.
The third in the limited batch series, Tempest Batch 3 has been fully aged in first fill bourbon casks for 10 years.

André 91.5%
The medicinal peat of Bowmore with the underlying fruit flavors, oranges and tropical fruits, a lot of honey too, maybe peach then the twin maritime flavors of lemon. The arrival in the mouth is like a shovel in the face, it is powerful, smoked Bowmore style, reminiscent of a beach fire slowly fading in the rain and fruits that reappear gradually, especially in retro-olfaction ( oranges and lemon ... again). The final is just as powerful and truly representative of the "Bowmore style"; peat, soot, salt with tropical fruits. A Bowmore that brings us back to older versions, more punchy and supported. Superb! .

RV 90%
Beaufort has experienced more violent, but what good is the challenge when we can gently sail? To read the label, on the scale of the illustrious captain this edition would be a violent storm; the nose tells me everything else with impressions of a walk in the woods dressed in rabbit in search of eggs of dark chocolate. On the palate, the pleasant stroll remains just as frivolous, flitting among sweet stone, chocolate and even honey. It is in the final that we leave the forest to fall into the plant a little more austere but also more traditional. A marketing in my opinion at least fraudulent ... unless it is intended for new sailors; however, it is in the bottle that has the delicious final word.

Patrick 92%
A beautiful marine peat smoke typical of Bowmore emerges from the glass. Approaching a little glass, we also discover notes of tropical fruits and citrus. In the mouth, a wave of salt and peat smoke. At the second sip, we also discover the notes of citrus fruits and tropical fruits. The finish stretches on a smoke-salty note for long minutes, to our delight. So powerful, so fresh! Definitely a "four-season" scotch: peat smoke for autumn and winter, citrus for spring and summer.

Martin 88%
Ports are places where boats are safe from storms, but exposed to the fury of customs. Nose: A light smoke and iodine peat camouflages behind the sweet vanilla of the bourbon cask. This tape hides his game well for a cask strength. Mouth: We start unsurprisingly with the vanilla bourbon, then to disarm by the bite of his alcohol. We stay with extremely pouted meat on the palate. Blitzkrieg is an appropriate word. Final: Moderately long with a residue of smoke. If it was a scented candle it would be called "Souvenirs of Islay". Balance: In all and everywhere, a whiskey that boasts a lot. Do not get me wrong, it's a great expression, it's just that the expectations were too high.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #4

55.1% alc./vol.
Originating from an aging in first-fill bourbon casks, this fourth installment of Bowmore Tempest is a small batch bottled to the natural degree that leads us on smoky and peaty paths dotted with broom. A powerful and balanced Bowmore. A little wonder! First Fill Bourbon Barrel, limited edition.

André 86.5%
How can a whiskey with this percentage of alcohol have such a tame nose? Camphor and maritime candy nose, coated with vanilla. The nose is relatively erased and I stay on "my thirst" ... The mouth is stronger, maritime flavors more present, the peat will laugh with restraint in a smile of orange and citrus, toasted almonds and vanilla . Finished peat and smoke, lemony, strangely posed and domesticated. This edition slices abruptly from the previous ones, a more calm and quiet variant. A sunny day on Loch Indaal.

RV 85.5%
A Sherpa recruit at the base camp: beautiful courage, a form already out of the ordinary, but no experience. On the nose at least, peat is as much as salt, but dry hay seems less fresh, as if the mushrooms were blooming under the more common elements of the distillery. In the mouth the alcohol is strong enough and pushes the yellow peat, but is quite one-dimensional. By chance, the final is much more appetizing because the mushrooms have given way to vanilla sugar. Not a bad whiskey for any standard that respects itself, but for Bowmore a counter-performance; fortunately it is a batch that corrects itself more easily than a normal edition.

Patrick 82%
Nose: Menthol, citrus, coconut, vanilla, seaweed. Bizarre, without being quite off-putting. Taste: Oak, lemon, vanilla, clementines and grapefruit. Then, pepper and pine, maritime note trèèèès subtle. Finale: Oak and touch of mushrooms. Balance: Tasted after having tasted 4 old bottlenecks of the distillery, I confess very disappointed. This is an interesting exercise, but for me, Bowmore is synonymous with the marriage of bourbon and sherry casks. For finished fans only (ok, I'm one!).

Martin 86.5%
It has a pretty golden yellow color a little light that is almost like a harmless apple juice. Nose: A fiery departure heavy peat announces us without much subtlety its degree of alcohol. One feels slightly assaulted by pepper and a big fire of Saint-Jean-Baptiste. On the other hand, once one has passed over his small side 728 number, one is pleased to detect vanilla, lemon and butterscotch. Palate: Provides a pleasing roundness in the mouth, but one must hurry to collect honey and vanilla before the peat smoke followed by 55% alcohol take all the coverage. This balance naughts us all the same in a playful way. Finale: Fisherman's Friend with eucalyptus, cinnamon, oak, juniper berries and brown sugar. Balance: Less powerful and asserted than the #3 batch. His big brother is perhaps superior, but this fourth installment remains a big Bowmore that holds up, especially for a lean 75 $.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #5

55.9% alc./vol.

André 87%
You can hardly do more bowmore on the nose ... Fisherman's Friend lozenges, coastal notes, sea salt, citrus fruits, a lot of vanilla, oranges. The mouth is oily and frankly sexy approaching the mouth, then a good surge of oranges, nectarine, sea salt and peat camphor which remains a beautiful sweet despite the strength of alcohol. By taking care of it, nice waves of salted almonds and nectarines, caramel. All goes back in the final and is accentuated with some notes of spices (clove, black licorice) and then down to slopes sweet vanilla, smoked citrus and orange. Less punches than 3 first editions, but representative and nuanced.

Patrick 90%
Another proof that the question "what is the best distillery in the world", Bowmore is definitely one of the most serious candidates. Another excellent whiskey. Nose: Air salt and citrus. Oily, vanilla and smoked. Palate: Very oily, salty and smoky. Then, citrus fruits, caramel, burnt wood and some nuts. Finish: Long, tasty and marked by salt, smoke and spices.

Martin 89%
Beautiful color of a rich amber that transcends its bourbon barrel. Nose: The familiarity of the distillery jumps in our face. The smoke quickly gives way to salty air and lemon, aromas of Bowmore, and yet a wind of renewal tries to settle on vanilla and blackberries. Palate: Silky texture but assumed, on pleasant notes of iodine, vanilla, citrus and honey, to complete the trip on an unexpected return of a peat which had been too discreet so far. Finale: Here is a beautiful wind of eucalyptus and diachylon that had put me on the ass when I tasted it ages ago at my first Bowmore 12. Then spread gently on a little spice and nuts. Balance: Objectively, a sacred good whiskey. Subjectively, due to the olfactory memory and the human nature, this expression raises me in the nostalgia of my beginnings in the world of the whiskey, and just that, it is worth one more point.

Bowmore 10 years Tempest Batch #6

54.9% alc./vol.

André 93%
Blast of oranges and nectarines, tropical fruits, a pinch of lemon and discreet maritime salt. The peat is coated, present but not mononcle style that monopolizes the evening. You can feel the maritime origins of whiskey, sea salt and citrus, the peat a little grimy, slightly lemony slightly acidic. Wow, great balance, typically Bowmore. Creamy texture on arrival of mouth, shovel of fresh nectarines, hallucinating ... pineapple, vanilla. Breathing, coconut and pineapple ... citrus, oranges. Alcohol is completely absent from the nose and mouth, very dangerous as whiskey. Salty-peppery finish, mixed citrus peat and even those flavors of oranges & nectarines, pineapple and salted coconut. Retro-olfaction of peat and sea salt. Superb, beautiful, beautiful!

Patrick 89%
Without being a classic, it's still a very good Bowmore, which is well above average. In fact, it is better to sip in sip. Nose: Coconuts, tropical fruits and of course everything the ocean can offer as flavors. Palate: Sea salt, seaweed, tropical fruits including mandarin and pineapple. The whole is fresh and intense. Finish: A beautiful and delicious length, marked by salt.

English EN Français FR

Battlehill Bowmore 28 ans

43% alc./vol.

André 88%
Wow… Intensément fruité, l’indéniable influence du sherry cask… Intense comme nez, petits fruits rouges sauvages, filin de sel et d’orange, miel. Bouche avec une texture un peu molle, mais de belles saveurs; confiture de fruits, fruits sauvages, feeling poreux style pierre de savon qui me rappelle les vieilles éditions de Bowmore, cerises et fraises, le nez me rappelle le Bowmore 1985 à 650$ la bouteille, mais celui-ci se vend 130$… Il y a un quelque chose qui m’accroche un peu en bouche, le côté savonneux peut-être, un peu trop intense, mais les saveurs sont quand même loin des Bowmore traditionnels et beaucoup d’adeptes n’y verraient que du feu. Finale fruitée de pierre à savon, finement salée.

Patrick 89%
Nez : OMG!  Un vieux Bowmore: La mer, le xérès, la puissance du chêne, la pierre de savon et le chocolat noir… Exquis!  Bouche : Le xérès, la mer, la pierre de savon.  Ensuite, la fumée, le chocolat noir et le chêne.  J’ai l’impression de retrouver le bon vieux Mariner 15 ans du début des années 2000.  Finale : Salée et épicée, d’une longueur moyenne.  Balance : Whisky extraordinaire mais…  Mais il y un « mais » important : La texture en bouche est ruiné par un taux d’alcool trop bas qui nous donne un feeling plutôt…  Aqueux.  Enfin, à défaut d’être le chef d’œuvre que j’espérais, il demeure tout de même très bon.  Un Bowmore si vieux, les attentes étaient plutôt élevées!

Martin 82%
Clémentine dorée et or moyen. Nez: Menthe poussiéreuse. Bonbon pour la toux chauffé et vieux, comme s’il était resté longtemps derrière un calorifère. Pastille Halls sans aucune trace de tourbe. Le côté marin du Bowmore, mais sans sa précieuse fumée. Bouche: Compote de fruits avec quelques épices. Faible poids en bouche. Menthe et fraises. Une image qui frappe décisivement, une Slush Puppie à la framboise bleue. Ce qui déçoit c’est la quasi-absence du caractère classique de la distillerie. Finale: Longue et plate sur les notes de barbotine énoncées précédemment. Équilibre: Manque flagrant de punch. On pointe du doigt son taux d’alcool dilué et insuffisant pour faire briller cet embouteillage. Rares sont les bons malts vendus à des tiers, même à 28 ans!

Berry’s Own Bowmore 1994-2008

46% alc./vol.

André 88%
Tourbe fraiche et notes d’iode. Pétrolé et hautement phénolique. Très bien présenté au nez, bel équilibre même si les éléments du nez sont pas très subtils. Il est par contre plus diffus en bouche, atténué mais reprend de la force en finale. Les sels marins et le citron apparaissent en finale et s’accompagnent de varech et d’algues séchées. Chaque gorgée supplémentaire gagne en intensité. Ressemble à un Kilchoman avec une texture moins huileuse et surtout moins crasseuse.

RV 87.5%
Pourquoi Islay? Réponse. Comme introduction d’Islay, avec cette bouteille il est possible de découvrir le sel typique de la distillerie, accentué par une bonne mesure de tourbe citronnée. Doucement poussée par un vent de fraicheur, l’arrivée se présente tranquillement pour retrouver en finale le bon vieux caractère franc du whisky, accompagné d’une belle finale qui confirme cette édition comme une bonne introduction.

Patrick 88%
Parfum de tourbe poisseuse, de fumée et de goudron. En bouche, un mélange d’épices, de sel, de tourbe et de goudron. Le tout commence doucement, mais gagne en intensité vers la finale. Finale d’ailleurs porteuse d’un sel intense qui s’étire longuement. Une belle prise!

Bowmore 10 ans Dark & Intense Duty Free Exclusive

40% alc./vol.

André 87%
Au nez, rappelle le bon vieux Bowmore avec ses notes de sherry savonneuses, xérès maritime, sel de mer, oranges, chocolat noir, gâteau aux fruits, fruits séchés, prunes. Belle et savoureuse bouche maritime, xérès salé, galets parsemés de sel de mer séché au soleil, oranges bien mûres, chocolat noir, raisins secs. Dommage que la bouche soit un peu diluée de par le bas taux d’alcool, cela en affecte la texture et dilue les saveurs. La tourbe est persistante, agréablement nuancée par les notes de poivre et de cannelle, le sherry est harmonieux et finement savonneux, les oranges rendent le whisky frais et maritime. Finale un peu camphée, tourbée et bien fruitée avec un résiduel de sel de mer bien agréable. Surpris par cette version, belle qualité pour le prix dérisoire.

Patrick 88%
Un bon whisky riche et complexe, mais qui manque un peu de profondeur. Mais on s’en fout, the price is right et ça se boit bien! Nez : Riche xérès salé, avec des notes d’oranges, de sirop d’érable et d’une légère fumée de tourbe. Bouche : Sel et bois brûlé, avec des notes fruitées et un peu de chocolat au lait. Finale : Un peu courte, salée et fruitée, avec une note de fumée de tourbe.

Bowmore 10 ans Inspired by the Devil’s Casks Series

46% alc./vol.
Fruit d’un mélange de fût de sherry Oloroso et de Red Wine Casks distribué exclusivement dans les boutiques hors-taxes.

André 86.5%
Inspiré par… c’est un peu comme les groupes hommage. Ça fait la job mais ça ne sera jamais comme voir le vrai band en show pis on espère que le cover charge est correct aussi. Évidemment impossible de passer à côté de la comparaison avec les éditions régulières Devil’s Cask qui, dans mon cas, ne m’ont pas impressionné (pas déplu mais pas impressionné aussi). Le nez représente bien le mélange de fûts utilisés; très fruité du style de sherry Oloroso goulu et épicé avec un fond de pierre ponce poreuse un peu bizarre, des galets de plage nappés de sherry Oloroso, chocolat noir, oranges, sel de mer, fruits rouges, raisins secs, canneberges. La première impression en bouche laissera le dégustateur avisé un peu dubitatif avec une impression de ‘’juste bof’’ malgré l’équilibre notoire et le taux d’alcool de 46%. Le whisky semble un peu dilué à la première gorgée mais se bonifie à chacune des lapées supplémentaires. Ce qui impressionne, c’est cette sensation de galets sur lequel le sel de mer aurait séché au soleil, les prunes et le sherry puissant, avec une finale d’oranges, de chocolat noir et quelques épices. La finale est bien longue malgré sa douceur, beaucoup de fruits rouges tirés du sherry cask qui s’accompagnent de cette sensation poreuse de poussière de pierre et d’épices. Pour les 100$ demandés, pour un litre, un whisky honnête et bien correct. Pour être franc, je suis d’avis que cette expression est peut-être la version ‘’grand-public’’ du Devils’s cask régulier. De quoi satisfaire les hardcore fans pour le rapport qualité-prix mais définitivement une expression destiné aux amateurs de whisky cherchant de la nouveauté représentative mais adoucie par le wine cask… mais j’en achèterais définitivement une bouteille pareil!

Patrick 94%
Wow, un Devil’s Cask light! Enfin, light, mais pas trop. Juste assez pour ne pas se sentir coupable d’en prendre un verre de plus. J’adore. Aaaaah, si seulement ça pouvait devenir un produit régulier à un prix tout autant régulier !!! Nez : Vin brûlé et fruité, nectarines, prunes, épices et cassonade. Bouche : Beaux fruits riches et épicés, tonne de sel ainsi que fumée enveloppante. Finale : D’une belle longueur et intense. Fruitée, chocolatée et épicée.

Martin 88.5%
Nez: Tout de suite le chêne poussiéreux gorgé de xérès nous acueille. Fruits rouges, orange sanguine, caramel épais, toffee, dattes, le tout enveloppé d’une volute de fumée de tourbe d’Islay. Bouche: Caramel et raisins, bois de chêne, épices astringentes du xérès. Sel de mer et chocolat noir. Superbe. Finale: Épicée et terreuse à souhait, longue et langoureuse, on dirait qu’elle dépasse son degré d’alcool. Équilibre: André a beau dire que les bands hommage c’est pas pareil, il y en a qui sont solides. Dans ce cas-ci, les yeux bandés je croirais goûter à une nouvelle batch du vrai Devil’s Casks.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #1

55.3% alc./vol.
Édition limitée à 12000 bouteilles.

André 88.5%
Très sucré, permettant de neutraliser le taux d’alcool de plus de 55%. Tourbe – évidemment – une pincée de sel en prime et une belle présence de cacao. Finale sur un rappel de tourbe salée, un brin de poussière de pierre. Finale de belle longueur. Me réconcilie avec cette distillerie qui avait perdue quelques plumes dans ses embouteillages réguliers.

RV 88%
Les fruits sont très présents avec de la confiture aux fraises sans sucre ni pectine, avec un peu de vanille qui se mélange au tout. En bouche, les fruits sont présents à l’ouverture mais sont aussi rapidement remplacés par la fumée, puis la tourbe puis enfin le sel typique de la distillerie. La finale est de bonne longueur et l’alcool est moins évident que l’ancien cask strength sans toutefois être totalement effacé; c’est du Bowmore qui ne me semble ni forcé ni contraint. Un digne remplaçant du défunt cask strength dont le petit côté sucré excuse le 15$ supplémentaire, que je verrais très bien servi avec de la truite aux canneberges dans un chalet dans le fond du bois sur le bord d’un lac.

Patrick 88%
Nez fumé et salé typique d’un bon Bowmore. Au goût, sel, très marqué par les agrumes et légère tourbe. Une valeur sure.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #2

56% alc./vol.

André 92%
Superbe nez, dans la ligne de la distillerie. Le bourbon cask est à l’honneur; embruns maritimes, sel marin, tourbe relativement puissante, agrumes, oranges et nectarines, vanille, citron, pommes vertes, poires, abricots. Puissant en bouche en arrivée, l’attaque est franche avant que s’installe l’effet mouth coating huileux du whisky. Puis, lentement mais avec asssurance, les saveurs de fruits s’installent fermement; poires, ananas, abricots, vanille, citron, agrumes, nectarines, tourbe un peu sale et maritime, chocolat noir. La tourbe s’évapore lentement en bouche en laissant une sensation de suie un peu froide, rafraichie par les saveurs de fruits tropicaux. La finale est fruitée et tourbée, la tourbe frétille sur la langue comme l’huile dans une poêle chaude, belles vagues d’agrumes et conclusion de sel de mer. Une ode à la mer sur des notes de bourbon cask.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #3

55.6% alc./vol.
La troisième dans la série des cuvées limitées, Tempest batch 3 a été entièrement vieilli en fûts de bourbon de premier remplissage pendant 10 ans.

André 91.5%
La tourbe médicinale de Bowmore avec les arômes de fruits sous jacentes, les oranges et les fruits tropicaux, beaucoup de miel aussi, de la pêche peut-être puis les saveurs maritimes jumelés de citron. L’arrivée en bouche est comme un coup de pelle en plein visage, c’est puissant, fumé au style Bowmore, rappelant un feu de plage s’éteignant doucement sous la pluie et les fruits qui réapparaissent progressivement, surtout en rétro-olfaction (oranges et citron…encore). La finale est tout aussi puissante et vraiment représentative du « Bowmore style »; de la tourbe, suie, du sel avec les fruits tropicaux. Un Bowmore qui nous ramène aux anciennes versions, plus punchées et soutenues. Superbe ! .

RV 90%
Beaufort en a vécu de plus violentes, mais à quoi bon le challenge quand on peut doucement voguer? À en lire l’étiquette, sur l’échelle de l’illustre capitaine cette édition se voudrait une violente tempête; le nez m’en dit tout autre avec des impressions d’une balade dans les bois habillé en lapin à la recherche d’œufs de chocolat noir. En bouche, l’agréable balade reste toute aussi frivole, voletant parmi la pierre douce, le chocolat et même le miel. C’est en finale qu’on sort de la forêt pour tomber dans le végétal un peu plus austère mais aussi plus traditionnel. Un marketing à mon avis pour le moins frauduleux… à moins que celui-ci ne soit destiné pour les nouveaux moussaillons; c’est toutefois ce qu’il y a dans la bouteille qui a le délicieux mot final.

Patrick 92%
Une belle fumée de tourbe maritime typique de Bowmore se dégage du verre. En s’approchant un peu du verre, on y découvre aussi des notes de fruits tropicaux et d’agrumes. En bouche, une vague de sel et de fumée tourbée. A la seconde gorgée, on y découvre aussi les notes d’agrumes et de fruits tropicaux. La finale s’étire sur une note fumée-salée durant de longues minutes, à notre plus grand plaisir. Tellement puissant, tellement frais! Définitivement un scotch « quatre-saisons » : la fumée de tourbe pour l’automne et l’hiver, les agrumes pour le printemps et l’été.

Martin 88%
Les ports sont des endroits où les bateaux sont à l’abri des tempêtes, mais exposés à la furie des douanes. Nez: Une légère tourbe fumée et iodée se camoufle derrière la douce vanille du fût de bourbon. Ce scotch cache bien son jeu pou un cask strength. Bouche: On commence sans surprise avec la dîte vanille du bourbon, pour ensuite de faire désarmer par la piqûre de son taux d’alcool. On reste avec de la boucane extrêmement tourbée en bouche. Blitzkrieg est un mot approprié. Finale: Moyennement longue avec un reste de fumée. Si c’était une chandelle parfumée on l’appellerait “Souvenirs de l’Islay”. Équilibre: En tout et partout, un whisky qui se vante beaucoup. Ne vous méprenez pas, c’est une excellente expression, c’est juste que les attentes étaient trop élevées.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #4

55.1% alc./vol.
Issu d’un vieillissement en fûts de bourbon de premier remplissage, ce quatrième opus de Bowmore Tempest, est un small batch mis en bouteille au degré naturel qui nous mène sur des sentiers fumés et tourbés parse- més de genêts. Un Bowmore puissant et équilibré. Une petite merveille ! First Fill Bourbon Barrel, édition limitée.

André 86.5%
Comment un whisky à ce pourcentage d’alcool peut-il avoir un nez si apprivoisé ?! Nez de bonbon camphré et maritime, enrobé de vanille. Le nez est relativement effacé et je reste sur ”ma soif”… La bouche est plus forte, les saveurs maritimes plus présente, la tourbe s’esclaffera avec retenue dans un sourire d’orange et d’agrume, les amandes grillées et la vanille. Finale tourbée et fumée, citronnée, étrangement posée et domestiquée. Cette édition tranche abruptement des précédentes, une variante plus calme et tranquille. Une journée ensoleillée sur le Loch Indaal.

RV 85.5%
Une recrue sherpa au camp de base: du beau courage, une forme déjà hors du commun, mais pas d’expérience. Au nez du moins, la tourbe y est autant que le sel, mais le foin sec semble moins frais, comme si les champignons fleurissaient sous les éléments plus communs de la distillerie. En bouche l’alcool se veut assez fort et pousse fort la tourbe jaune, mais est assez unidimensionnelle. Par chance, la finale est beaucoup plus appétissante car les champignons ont laissé place au sucre vanillé. Pas un mauvais whisky pour tout standard qui se respecte, mais pour Bowmore un contre-performance; heureusement qu’il s’agit d’un batch qui se corrige plus facilement qu’une édition normale.

Patrick 82%
Nez : Menthol, agrumes, noix de coco, vanille, algues. Bizarre, sans être tout à fait rébarbatif. Bouche : Chêne, citron, vanille, clémentines et pamplemousse. Ensuite, poivre et pin, note maritime trèèèèès subtile. Finale : Chêne et touche de champignons. Balance : Dégusté après avoir goûté 4 anciens embouteillages de la distillerie, je m’avoue très déçu. Il s’agit d’un exercice intéressant, mais pour moi, Bowmore est synonyme du mariage des fûts de bourbon et de xérès. Pour fans finis seulement (ok, j’en suis un!).

Martin 86.5%
Arbore un joli coloris jaune doré un peu léger qui fait presque penser à un jus de pomme inoffensif. Nez: Un départ fougueux lourd de tourbe nous annonce sans grande subtilité son degré d’alcool. On se sent légèrement agressé par du poivre et un gros feu de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Par contre, une fois qu’on a passé par-dessus son petit côté Matricule 728, on se fait un plaisir d’y déceler vanille, citron et caramel écossais. Bouche: Offre une rondeur bien agréable en bouche, mais on doit se dépêcher de capter miel et vanille avant que la fumée de tourbe suivie du 55% d’alcool prennent toute la couverture. Cet équilibre nous nargue tout de même de façon ludique. Finale: Fisherman’s Friend à l’eucalyptus, cannelle, chêne, baies de genévrier et cassonade. Équilibre: Moins puissant et affirmé que la batch #3. Son grand frère est peut-être supérieur, mais ce quatrième opus demeure un grand Bowmore qui tient la route, surtout pour un maigre 75$.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #5

55.9% alc./vol.

André 87%
On peut difficilement faire plus Bowmore au nez… Pastilles Fisherman’s Friend, notes coastal, le sel de mer, les agrumes, beaucoup de vanille, les oranges. La bouche est huileuse et franchement sexy en approche de bouche, puis un bon déferlement d’oranges, de nectarine, de sel de mer et de tourbe camphrée qui demeure d’une belle douceur malgré la force de l’alcool. En s’aérant, belles vagues d’amandes salées et de nectarines, caramel. Le tout remonte en finale et s’accentue avec quelques notes d’épices (clou de girofle, réglisse noire) pour ensuite redescendre en pentes douce vanillées, d’agrumes et d’orange fumées. Moins punché que les 3 premières éditions, mais représentatif et nuancé.

Patrick 90%
Une autre preuve qu’à la question « quelle est la meilleure distillerie au monde », Bowmore fait définitivement partie des plus sérieuses candidates. Un autre excellent whisky. Nez : Air salin et agrumes. Huileux, vanillé et fumé. Bouche : Très huileuse, salée et fumée. Puis, les agrumes, le caramel, le bois brûlé et quelques noix. Finale : Longue, savoureuse et marquée par le sel, la fumée et les épices.

Martin 89%
Beau coloris d’un ambre riche qui transcende sa futaille de bourbon. Nez: La familiarité de la distillerie nous saute au nez. La fumée laisse rapidement place à l’air salin et au citron, des arômes bien de Bowmore, et pourtant un vent de renouveau tente de s’installer sur vanille et mûres. Bouche: Texture soyeuse mais assumée, sur d’agréables notes d’iode, de vanille, d’agrumes et de miel, pour boucler le voyage sur un retour inattendu d’une tourbe qui s’était faite trop discrète jusqu’ici. Finale: Ici se présente un beau vent d’eucalyptus et de diachylon qui m’avait mis sur le cul quand j’ai goûté il y a des lustres à mon premier Bowmore 12. On s’étend ensuite tout en douceur sur un peu d’épices et de noix. Équilibre: Objectivement, un sacré bon whisky. Subjectivement, dû à la mémoire olfactive et à la nature humaine, cette expression me relance dans la nostalgie de mes débuts dans le monde du whisky, et juste ça, ça vaut un point de plus.

Bowmore 10 ans Tempest Batch #6

54.9% alc./vol.

André 93%
Blast d’oranges et de nectarines, de fruits tropicaux, une pincée de citron et de sel maritime discret. La tourbe est enrobée, présente mais pas du style mononcle qui monopolise la soirée. On peut ressentir les origines maritimes du whisky, le sel de mer et les agrumes, la tourbe un peu crasseuse, léger citronné un peu acide. Wow, superbe équilibre, typiquement Bowmore. Texture crémeuse en arrivée de bouche, pelletée de nectarines fraiches, hallucinant… ananas, vanille. En respirant, la noix de coco et l’ananas… agrumes, oranges. L’alcool est complètement absent du nez et de la bouche, très dangereux comme whisky. Finale salée-poivrée, tourbe mélangée d’agrumes et encore ces saveurs d’oranges & de nectarines, les ananas et la noix de coco salée. Rétro-olfaction de tourbe et de sel marin. Superbe, superbe, superbe!

Patrick 89%
Sans être un classique, ça demeure un très bon Bowmore, ce qui est donc largement au dessus de la moyenne. En fait, il est meilleur de gorgée en gorgée. Nez : Noix de coco, fruits tropicaux et évidemment tout ce que l’océan peut offrir comme saveurs. Bouche : Sel de mer, algues, fruits tropicaux dont la mandarine et les ananas. L’ensemble est frais et intense. Finale : D’une belle longueur et délicieuse, marquée par le sel.

English EN Français FR