Fujimi Blended Japanese Whiskey

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 80%
Wow. More than $ 80 for a cheap blend, which is made from Scotch for the most part? There is someone in Japan who understood how to enjoy the fashion of Japanese whiskeys. Not bad, but at least four times too expensive compared to its quality. Nose: Fragrance of grain whiskey, floral notes and some dried fruits. The whole is rather cool. Palate: Always grain whiskey, dry wood, a touch of discrete smoke. But especially grain whiskey. Finish: Medium length, marked by grain whiskey and some wood.

Very Rare Old Suntory Expo 1975

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Beautiful fruity sweetness, a blend of fruit marmalade, cherries and pineapple as well as honey. The sugar level is super nice and makes the whiskey inviting. At nose; cherry puree, milk chocolate, pineapple, brown sugar, plums, raisins, stale licorice. The first impression at the first sip ... maybe a little diluted, a little too much grain whiskey maybe? ... but it corrects quickly to the second lap. There is an addition of layers of fruit that becomes almost pasty in the long run; lots of cherries, raisins, plums, then oranges, pineapple topped with vanilla and honey. Glosettes (raisins soaked in milk chocolate). Finely spiced finish on a basket of fresh fruits. Big plus for the flavors, a flat on the texture in the mouth and a finish where the fruits are blooming a little too quickly. Not bad but no crush too.

Nikka Yochi Single Malt NAS

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Quickly, tropical fruits; oranges, lemon, pear, melon with honey, then accents of peat smoke present without being invasive. Second sniff ... Pineapple, bananas, vanilla, honey, green apples. Stuffy; notes of oak, quite spice too, on some flavors, it looks almost like a grain whiskey with the continued contribution of cereals, tropical fruits delivered in the mouth. Nice honeyed texture a little sticky. Final, spicy and smoky, albeit a bit short.

Suntory "The Chita" Single Grain Japanese Whiskey

43% alc./vol.
Combination of cask aged bourbon whiskey, sherry cask and wine cask.

André 77%
How to hide a grain whiskey with its harsh side ... we use drums that can adust it. Honey cereals, pears, red berries, dried cereal dust side, oranges, toasted cereal grains, raisins, honey melon and fleshed fruits. Despite the use of different types of barrels, the contribution of cereals is undeniable and this trend of dried cereals a little rough annoys a little. In the mouth, flat and diluted texture, the whiskey is a bit spicy and dry, oranges and pears, cereals with honey and caramel, flesh fruits, raisins, a touch of vanilla and green grass also in the finish. Not great as a presentation, it lacks refinement and general balance. I do not know what's going on with Japanese whiskeys lately, but it's discouraging to see what's on the market.

Ichiro's Malt Mizunara Wood Reserve

46% alc./vol.

André 89%
Beautiful fragrant nose, both floral, fruity and sweet. Mix of red fruits, tropical fruits, icing sugar, creamy vanilla, pear apple, honey, a little lemon too. Nice entry in the mouth; the apple topped with caramel, red fruits, pear apple topped with honey, a touch of pepper and ginger, woody flavors too. Somewhat tannic after a few sips, sensation of cask sherry or cherries, raisins paired with a nice spicy kick, notes of coconut, dried leaves in autumn, tobacco leaves. Final a little short but super well balanced, peppery and spicy, caramel and honey. Interesting, a whisper calm and serene.

Patrick 93%
An incredibly subtle and delicate whiskey, but at the same time, so tasty. Warning, this is a whiskey that you should try the first time at breakfast time !! Nose: A subtle and incredibly delicate fragrance. Beautiful captivating white sugar, a little oak and beautiful exotic fruits. Palate: Beautiful subtle sugar, exotic fruits, vanilla and spicy oak. All presented on a beautiful oily texture. Again. Final: A superb length, especially considering how delicate this is. Stretches on a tasty mix of spices and sugar.

Suntory Hibiki 17 years old

43% alc./vol.
Blended whiskey, blended from the finest malt and grain whiskeys from Suntory's three distilleries (Yamazaki, Hakushu and Chita).

André 88%
We do in lace for the approach, just like Hibiki Harmony. Nothing abrupt and direct, finesse and subtle nuances. Super soft nose; meringue, honey block with wax, citrus fruits, tropical fruits, white flowers, oranges. More liquid in the mouth than the nose, citrus fruits, flesh, oranges, vanilla and honey, toffee. The finish is much more spicy and peppery, dried fruit, trace of sherry, nice length and displays quite accents from the oak wood too, pinch of cinnamon in all final. Pineapple retro-olfaction in spicy slice.

Kura the Whiskey Rum Cask Finish

40% alc./vol.
Limited Edition of 2000 bottles.

André 77%
Oh there ... weird nose. Fermented cereals and touches of sulphide, distant peat, red and tropical fruits, pepper, touch of wood stump in the humid forest. Poor texture on the palate, a mixture of pepper and earthy peat smoke, various fruits, vanilla, cereal grains, honey, dried grapes, a touch of residual sugar but good ... Peppermint and on the wood wet in a cloud of smoke . An ordinary whiskey hidden in rum finish, it remains an ordinary whiskey, in rum finish, but ordinary the same.

Patrick 81%
Not bad, but you must be seriously lacking Japanese whiskey to pay more than 100 $ for that. Nose: Superb perfume, with a slight smoke, vanilla, a little fruit and apples. Enticing. Taste: Smoke dry, slightly peppery, vanilla and a touch of apples. Finale: Of a rather short and tasteless length.

Mars Iwai Tradition

40% alc./vol.
Originally from Japan, the March distillery has a history as tumultuous as it is out of the ordinary. Its founder is none other than Kiichiro Iwai, the man behind the departure for Scotland of the famous Masataka Taketsuru and above all owner of a spirits company producing shochu (Japanese brandy). The Shinshu Mars distillery enjoys an exceptional geographical location offering its whiskey a singular character. Perched at 800 meters high in a harsh climate region, the distillery benefits from pure water sources filtered through the mountains for centuries. Another special feature is the production of whiskey only during the winter months. The drop in demand in the 80 years forces the distillery to close in 1992 until it reopens in 2011. A blended whiskey consisting of 75% malt whiskey and 25% corn whiskey.

André 78%
Nose atrophied and flat, a whisper of sherry, a lot of cereals and corn is really powerful compared to its percentage going into the composition; corn syrup, dried cereals, honey and vanilla, a touch of red fruits, cinnamon, raisins. It's pretty basic and not bad drunk on purpose. The whiskey is very volatile and the flavors quickly fade from the glass. The mouth is super sweet, monotonous and the flavors are transient; strawberry and dried berries, corn syrup, cereals, banana split. We seem to have wanted to hide the youth and lack of balance of whiskey by drowning it in sherry and wine cask. Nonchalant finish, pout notes of cereals flavored with wild fruits. Disappointing…

Patrick 80%
Not bad, interesting even, but not quite to the point. Does the problem come from the still or barrels, I can not say with a single sample, but still it is that I am glad not to be the one who paid for the bottle! On this subject, thank you to Jonathan Pub Nelligan! Nose: Light sweet malt scent, with a good dose of bitter herbs that a little discouraged me at first. Palate: An interesting blend of grass, ripe fruit and sweet cereals. It's interesting, but the jury has not yet decided whether it's good. Final: A little dry, or rather, marked by dried grass or burned.

Super Nikka - Limited Edition "Revival"

43% alc./vol.
Launched in 2015 in memory of the 1962 blend

André 87%
Superb and really approachable, the kind of whiskey that you serve novices and will make new fans. Beautiful smoked sherry nose and spices (ginger, clove and cinnamon), burnt caramel and just dried oak, milk chocolate. On the palate, notes of honey and milk chocolate, hazelnuts, sherry and spices, as well as a fine peppery touch. The texture is soft and silky with a slight astringent, spicy and dry touch in mouth finish. A good all-purpose whiskey, nice flavors, friendly stuff.

Patrick 87%
A great blend, with a rich complexity that requires time to contemplate in all its splendor. I like. Nose: Succulent typically Japanese fragrance featuring herbs, citrus, ginger, coffee hints and a subtle touch of freshly cut oak. Also, a je-ne-sais-quoi reminding me of an undergrowth after the rain. Palate: The first sip surprised me with a note of peat smoke that, although delicate, is not discrete so far. Then, once the surprise is over, there are also spicy notes of cinnamon, pepper, ginger, herbs, honey, flowers and a subtle touch of vanilla. Finish: Long and tasty, stretches on the flavors of peat smoke, spices from burnt wood and subtle floral notes.

Ichiro Malt Wine Wood Reserve

46% alc./vol.
Ichiro 's Malt Wine Wood Reserve is an unusual malt vatted as it is composed of Chichibu, Hanyu but also Scottish single malt. This rare expression has aged in barrels that have contained red wine before being refined in ovum barrels, which are French oak barrels shaped in Charentes by the Best Workers of France team Taransaud.

André 86.5%
When you have four inches of makeup in the face, it's probably a sign that it's hiding an ass face. It's a bit like the nose of this whiskey, drowned in the wine cask beefy and not subtle and sugar. On the nose, avalanche of red fruits, mixed spices of sugar, dark chocolate stuffed with orange, a little licoreux and not subtle on the influence of the used barrels. What surprises in the mouth is the strength of the notes of crushed black pepper, ginger and spices, bent with notes of red fruits and wild fruits, orange pods, big purple grapes. There is an off-key somewhere in the mouth, a little something in the wine cask. The finish is super spicy and pepper, relatively long, fruity without subtlety, with a return on a spicy-sweet mixture a little disorienting. A whiskey showing great ambiguity, sometimes difficult to follow but also with beautiful flavors and aromas.

Patrick 82%
Well, my expectations were high, so yes, I'm disappointed. A rather mono-dimensional whiskey, which will be ideal for those who love wine more than whiskey! But for lovers of whiskey, we will iron ... I also tried the experience with friends who just prefer wine to whiskey, and they loved their drama! Nose: Fragrance marked by a beautiful sweet and fruity red wine, with a touch of caramel and vanilla. Palate: Very intense warm wine, burnt oak, burnt caramel and spicy vanilla. Finale: Of a beautiful length, marked by the burned wood.

English EN Français FR

Fujimi Blended Japanese Whisky

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 80%
Wow. Plus de 80$ pour un blend cheap, qui est fait à partir de scotch en majeure partie? Il y a quelqu’un au Japon qui a compris comment profiter de la mode des whiskys japonais. Pas mauvais, mais au moins quatre fois trop cher par rapport à sa qualité. Nez : Parfum de whisky de grain, des notes florales et quelques fruits secs. L’ensemble est plutôt frais. Bouche : Toujours le whisky de grain, du bois sec, une touche de fumée discrète. Mais surtout le whisky de grain. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, marquée par le whisky de grain et un peu de bois.

Very Rare Old Suntory Expo 1975

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Belle douceur fruitée, un mélange de marmelade de fruits, cerises et d’ananas ainsi que de miel. Le taux de sucre est super agréable et rend le whisky invitant. Au nez; purée de cerises, chocolat au lait, ananas, sucre brun, prunes, raisins secs, réglisse éventée. La première impression à la première gorgée… peut-être un peu dilué, un peu trop de grain whisky peut-être? …mais cela se corrige rapidement à la deuxième lapée. Il y a une addition de couches de fruits qui devient presque pâteux à la longue; beaucoup de cerises, raisins secs, prunes, puis oranges, ananas nappé de vanille et de miel. Glosettes (raisins trempés dans le chocolat au lait). Finale finement épicée sur un panier de fruits frais. Gros plus pour les saveurs, un bémol sur la texture en bouche et une finale où les fruits s’époumonnent un peu trop rapidement. Pas mauvais mais pas de coup de cœur aussi.

Nikka Yochi Single Malt NAS

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Rapidement, les fruits tropicaux; oranges, citron, poires, melon au miel, puis accents de fumée de tourbe présentes sans être envahissantes. Deuxième sniff… Ananas, bananes, vanille, miel, pommes vertes. Bouche; notes de bois de chêne, passablement d’épices aussi, sur certaines saveurs, ça ressemble presque à un grain whisky avec l’apport soutenu de céréales, fruits tropicaux livrés en bouche. Belle texture mielleuse un peu collante. Finale, épicée et fumée, quoiqu’un peu courte.

Suntory “The Chita” Single Grain Japanese Whisky

43% alc./vol.
Combinaison de whisky vieillis en bourbon cask, sherry cask et wine cask.

André 77%
Comment cacher un whisky de grain avec son côté harsh… on utilise des fûts qui peuvent l’adoussir. Céréales au miel, poires, fruits rouges, côté de poussières de céréales séchées, oranges, grains de céréales toasted, raisins secs, melon au miel et fruits à chair. Malgré l’utlisation des différents types de fûts, l’apport des céréales est indéniable et cette tendence de céréales séchées un peu rêche agace un peu. En bouche, texture flat et diluée, le whisky est un peu piquant et sec, oranges et poires, céréales au miel et caramel, fruits à chair, raisins secs, une touche vanillée et d’herbe verte aussi en finale. Pas super comme présentation, ça manque de raffinement et d’équilibre général. Je ne sais pas ce qui se passe avec les whiskies Japonais ces derniers temps mais c’est décourageant de voir ce qui est offert sur le marché.

Ichiro’s Malt Mizunara Wood Reserve

46% alc./vol.

André 89%
Beau nez parfumé, à la fois floral, fruité et sucré. Mélange de fruits rouges, fruits tropicaux, de sucre à glacer, vanille onctueuse, pomme poire, miel, un peu citronné aussi. Belle entrée en bouche; la pomme nappée de caramel, fruits rouges, pomme poire nappée de miel, une touche de poivre et de gingembre, saveurs boisées aussi. Aspect un peu tannique après quelques gorgées, sensation de sherry cask ou de cerises, de raisins secs jumelé d’un kick épicé agréable, notes de coconut, feuilles séchées en automne, feuilles de tabac. Finale un peu courte mais super bien équilibrée, poivrée et épicée, caramel et miel. Intéressant, un whisky calme et serein.

Patrick 93%
Un whisky incroyablement subtil et délicat, mais en même temps, si savoureux. Avertissement, c’est un whisky que vous devriez essayer la première fois à l’heure du petit déjeuner!! Nez : Un parfum des plus subtils et incroyablement délicat. Du beau sucre blanc envoûtant, un peu de chêne et de beaux fruits exotiques. Bouche : Du beau sucre subtil, des fruits exotiques, de la vanille et du chêne épicé. Le tout présenté sur une belle texture huileuse. Encore. Finale : D’une superbe longueur, surtout si on considère à quel point ce dram est délicat. S’étire sur un savoureux mélange d’épices et de sucre.

Suntory Hibiki 17 ans

43% alc./vol.
Blended whisky, assemblé à partir des meilleurs whiskies de malt et de grain des trois distilleries de Suntory (Yamazaki, Hakushu et Chita).

André 88%
On fait dans la dentelle pour l’approche, tout comme le Hibiki Harmony. Rien de brusque et de direct, de la finesse et de subtiles nuances. Nez hyper doux; meringue, bloc de miel avec la cire, agrumes, fruits tropicaux, fleurs blanches, oranges. Plus liquide en bouche que l’annonçait le nez, agrumes, fruits à chair, oranges, vanille et miel, toffee. La finale est beaucoup plus épicée et poivrée, fruits secs, trace de sherry, belle longueur et affiche passablement d’accents provenant du bois de chêne aussi, pincée de cannelle en toute finale. Rétro-olfaction d’ananas en tranche épicé.

Kura the Whisky Rum Cask Finish

40% alc./vol.
Limited Edition of 2000 bottles.

André 77%
Oh là là… bizarre de nez ça. Céréales fermentées et touche de sulfure, tourbe lointaine, fruits rouges et tropicaux, poivre, touche de souche de bois dans la forêt humide. Pauvre en texture en bouche, mélange de poivre et de fumée de tourbe terreuse, fruits divers, vanille, grains de céréales, miel, raisins séchés, une touche de sucre résiduel mais bon… Finale poivrée et sur le bois mouillé dans un nuage de fumée. Un whisky ordinaire caché dans le rhum finish, ça demeure un whisky ordinaire, dans le rhum finish, mais ordinaire pareil.

Patrick 81%
Pas mauvais, mais faut être sérieusement en manque de whisky japonais pour payer plus de 100$ pour ça. Nez : Superbe parfum, avec une légère fumée, de la vanille, un peu de fruits et des pommes. Alléchant. Bouche : Fumée sèche, légèrement poivrée, de la vanille et une touche de pommes. Finale : D’une longueur plutôt courte et insipide.

Mars Iwai Tradition

40% alc./vol.
Originaire du Japon, la distillerie Mars a une histoire aussi tumultueuse qu’hors du commun. Son fondateur n’est autre que Kiichiro Iwai, l’homme à l’origine du départ pour l’Ecosse du fameux Masataka Taketsuru et surtout propriétaire d’une société de spiritueux productrice de shochu (eau- de-vie japonaise). La distillerie Shinshu Mars bénéficie d’une situation géographique exceptionnelle offrant à son whisky un caractère singulier. Perchée à 800 mètres d’altitude dans une région au climat rude, la distillerie bénéficie de sources d’eau pure filtrée par la montagne pendant des siècles. Autre particularité, la production de whisky n’a lieu que pendant les mois d’hiver. La baisse de la demande dans les années 80 oblige la distillerie à fermer ses portes en 1992 jusqu’à sa réouverture en 2011. Un blended whisky composé de 75% de malt whisky et de 25% de corn whisky.

André 78%
Nez atrophié et plat, un murmure de sherry, beaucoup de céréales et le corn est vraiment puissant comparé à son pourcentage entrant dans la composition; sirop de de maïs, céréales séchées, miel et vanille, une touche de fruits rouges, petite cannelle, raisins secs. C’est assez basic et pas mal drette au but. Le whisky est très volatile et les saveurs s’effacent rapidement du verre. La bouche est hyper douce, monotone et les saveurs passagères; fraise et petits fruits secs, sirop de maïs, céréales, banana split. On semble avoir voulu cacher la jeunesse et le manque d’équilibre du whisky en le noyant dans le xérès et le wine cask. Finale nonchalante, notes de moue de céréales aromatisé aux fruits sauvages. Décevant…

Patrick 80%
Pas mauvais, intéressant même, mais pas tout à fait au point. Est-ce que le problème vient de l’alambic ou des fûts, je ne saurais l’affirmer avec un seul échantillon, mais toujours est-il que je suis bien content de ne pas être celui qui a payé pour la bouteille! A ce sujet, merci à Jonathan du Pub Nelligan! Nez : Léger parfum de malt sucré, avec une bonne dose d’herbes amères qui m’ont un peu rebuté au premier abord. Bouche : Un intéressant mélange d’herbe, de fruits mûrs et de céréales sucrées. C’est intéressant, mais le jury n’a pas encore rendu son verdict à savoir si c’est bon. Finale : Un peu sèche, ou plutôt, marquée par de l’herbe séchée, voire brûlée.

Super Nikka – Limited Edition « Revival »

43% alc./vol.
Lancé en 2015 en mémoire du blend de 1962

André 87%
Superbe et vraiment approchable, le genre de whisky que tu sers aux novices et qui fera des nouveaux adeptes. Beau nez de sherry fumé et d’épices (gingembre, clou de girofle et cannelle), caramel brûlé et chêne tout juste séché, chocolat au lait. En bouche, notes de miel et de chocolat au lait, noisettes, sherry et épices, ainsi qu’une fine touche poivrée. La texture est douce et soyeuse avec une légère touche astringente, épicée et sèche en finale de bouche. Un bon whisky passe-partout, des saveurs agréables, friendly stuff.

Patrick 87%
Un grand blend, présentant une riche complexité qui demande d’avoir du temps pour la contempler dans toute sa splendeur. J’aime bien. Nez : Succulent parfum typiquement japonais présentant des herbes, des agrumes, du gingembre, des notes de café et une subtile touche de chêne fraichement coupé. Aussi, un je-ne-sais-quoi me rappelant un sous-bois après la pluie. Bouche : La première gorgée m’a surpris avec une note de fumée de tourbe qui, bien que délicate, n’est pas discrète pour autant. Ensuite, une fois la surprise passée, on y trouve aussi des notes épicées de cannelle, de poivre, de gingembre, des herbes, du miel, des fleurs et une touche subtile de vanille. Finale : Longue et savoureuse, s’étire sur les saveurs de fumée de tourbe, d’épices venant du bois brûlé et de subtiles notes florales.

Ichiro Malt Wine Wood Reserve

46% alc./vol.
Ichiro’s Malt Wine Wood Reserve est un vatted malt inhabituel puisqu’il est composé de Chichibu, de Hanyu mais aussi de single malt écossais. Cette rare expression a vieillie en fûts ayant contenu du vin rouge avant d’être affinée en barriques Ovum, qui sont des futs chêne français façonnés en Charentes par les Meilleurs Ouvriers de France de l’équipe Taransaud.

André 86.5%
Quand t’as quatre pouces de maquillage dans l’visage, c’est probablement le signe que ça cache un visage de cul. C’est un peu l’impression que donne le nez de ce whisky, noyé dans le wine cask costaud et pas subtil et le sucre. Au nez, avalanche de fruits rouges, d’épices mélangées de sucre, chocolat noir fourré à l’orange, un peu licoreux et pas subtil sur l’influence des fûts utilisés. Ce qui surprend en bouche c’est la force des notes de poivre noir broyé, de gingembre et d’épices, cintrées de notes de fruits rouges et de fruits sauvages, les cosses d’oranges, les gros raisins mauves. Il y a un off-key quelque part en bouche, un petit quelque chose dans le wine cask. La finale est hyper épicée et poivre, relativement longue, fruitée sans subtilité, avec un retour sur un mélange épicé-sucré un peu désorientant. Un whisky faisant preuve de beaucoup d’ambiguïté, parfois difficile à suivre mais aussi avec de belles saveurs et arômes.

Patrick 82%
Bon, mes attentes étaient élevées, alors oui, je suis déçu. Un whisky plutôt mono-dimensionnel, qui sera idéal pour ceux qui aiment plus le vin que le whisky! Mais pour les amateurs de whisky, on repassera… J’ai d’ailleurs tenté l’expérience avec des amis qui justement préfèrent le vin au whisky, et ils ont adorés leur dram! Nez : Parfum très marqué par un beau vin rouge sucré et fruité, avec une touche de caramel et de vanille. Bouche : Vin chaleureux très intense, chêne brûlé, caramel cramé et vanille épicée. Finale : D’une belle longueur, marquée par le bois brûlé.

English EN Français FR