Ile de Ré - Camus Cognac

40% alc./vol.
Fine Island Cognac (there's just the French to write that in English in the French version of the text!)

Patrick 92%
An extraordinary Cognac, especially for the scotch lover of Islay. Rich and intense, balanced as well as possible. I just love it. Nose: Ripe fruit, black cherry and dark chocolate, with a touch of appetizing sea salt. Palate: Tasty sea salt, ripe fruit, dark chocolate, subtle caramel and intense spices. Finish: Very very very salty and fruity.

Augier Cognac - The Oceanic

40.1% alc./vol.
Vintage Ordinary Wood from Ile d'Oleron, Ugni Blanc grape variety. Made the 23 July 2015

Patrick 90%
The best compliment I can give a spirits, especially when it's not a whiskey, is to buy a bottle on the spot after tasting. And that's what I did here! Scotch lovers should love it, and Cognac lovers should be at least intrigued. I just love it. Nose: Extraordinary scent of green apples, touch of sea air, subtle spices and a touch of tobacco. Palate: Beautiful fresh and tasty fruit, a very good dose of salt, the spices of the oak and a delicate bouquet of flowers that completes the whole. Finish: A beautiful length, marked by oak, flowers and a delicate salt.

Cognac Augier - The Singular

41.7% alc./vol.
Cru Fine Champagne, Folle Blanche grape variety. Realized the 8 September 2015

Patrick 89%
A superb Cognac, rich and intense, something that may disturb traditional lovers of Cognac. Nose: Fresh red berries, subtle vanilla and caramel, wrapped in fresh, delicious oak. Palate: Very ripe grapes, dry and spicy oak, pepper, burnt brown sugar. Rich and intense. Finale: Of a beautiful length, spicy and intense.

Cognac Augier - The Wild

40.8% alc./vol.
Vintage Petite Champagne, Ugni Blanc grape variety. Realized the 4 December 2014

Patrick 87%
A very good Cognac, punches, original and full of relief. Warning, this is not for novices in the world of spirits, but if you "qualify", you will like a lot. Nose: Sweet and fruity fragrance, light but still captivating. Taste: Spicy, with a hint of oak, pepper and a little burnt grape. Finish: Medium length, woody and peppery.

Martell Blue Swift

40% alc./vol.
Spirit Drink - VSOP Cognac Finished in Bourbon Barrels

Patrick 84%
A nice Cognac (well, theoretically, it's not a Cognac, but in practice, it's not bad) and tasty. Simple and effective, the kind of Cognac I would bring to the woods this weekend. Nose: Perfume as sweet as a pure spirit can be, fruits, and a little sweet bourbon. Palate: Beautiful raisins, nuts, plums, spicy oak and a note reminiscent of bourbon. Finale: A little short, marked by some nuts and a note of liquorice warmed.

Remy Martin Excellence XO

40% alc./vol.

RV 82%
From the beginning, the fruits do not give the impression of an XO cognac but of something really younger. This juvenile aspect is also felt in the mouth which is not very developed, not very subtle and too clear. The finish is more interesting, first with old grapes, followed by mellow spices, and finally the grape that has become deliciously juicy. Unfortunately the teenage orange that also dominates the whole is a bit too little too late, especially for the price.

Pierre Ferrand Selection of Angels 1er vintage

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
A prodigious complexity, an incredible balance. At the height of expectations, which is saying a lot because it was high. Nose: Curry chocolate, oaky-vanilla, flowers, raisins, black licorice and ginger. Very complex at the level of spices. Palate: Arrival in the mouth spectacular, with an explosion of complex spices and vanilla oak. Tea, curry, ginger, saffron, nutmeg, dark chocolate, dried herbs. So complex! Final: Long and tasty. Stretches on a mixture of spices and chocolate.

RV 89%
More fruity than the Pierre Ferrand Réserve, curiously this older cognac is fresh and does not let the weight of the years of the wood to exceed it of the nose. On the palate, spices come to mix with oak instead of fighting with him. The final is undeniably wise, combining spices (cinnamon) and vanilla, and of course keeping the memory of the grape that plays much more a (very beautiful) backstory that the great fanfare. And even for a beginner, impossible to deny its quality.

Pierre Ferrand Grande Champagne Reserve

40% alc./vol.

RV 85%
Grapes this time in their declination "dry" with a touch of wood in the background. On the palate it reveals a surprise of maturity with a texture much more creamy and elegant. The final goes in the same vein, and the aftertaste is really neat, silky, and flat clothing for very long seconds. A good walk over her younger sister, this bottle is a beautiful young lady talking low in decibel but with seductive notes.

Pierre Ferrand Ambré Grande Champagne Premier Cru

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 89%
Exceptionally well balanced, with a tasty complexity. Wow, a great spirit. Nose: Floral scent dominated by roses and violets, complemented by acid raisins and touches of pears and apricots. Palate: Delicious on the palate, with a nice fruity sugar, grapes, apricots, vanilla and a touch of understated oak, but not as much as the peppery notes. Final: Medium length and pleasant.

RV 80%
Very sweet on the nose, a good approach to coax the lovers of wine, but probably ill-advised to try to open the spirit horizons of a single malt lover of Islay. However, in the mouth, a hint of caramel and wood is heavy on the tongue, to establish a firm presence. Finally, the finish is good taste, very little pronounced, and there is little or no aftertaste. So definitely to keep on the harmless side of the liquor library.

Michel Forgeron Special Reserve XO Cognac Grande Champagne

43% alc./vol.

RV 85%
So close to the grapes that if it were served in an opaque glass, I would think that the liquid would probably be purple. So we play on fine note of grapes, but only the grapes, as if the liquid had barely aged (and it is still an XO). In the mouth, a little surprising with the pepper that attacks the tongue before a bunch of grapes explodes with the final. Fancy, we play only one note but in several ranges, and although not necessarily in my palette, the quality and especially the subtlety are undeniable.

English EN Français FR

Ile de Ré – Camus Cognac

40% alc./vol.
Fine Island Cognac (y’a juste les Français pour écrire ça en anglais dans la version française du texte!)

Patrick 92%
Un extraordinaire Cognac, surtout pour l’amateur de scotchs d’Islay. Riche et intense, balancé aussi bien possible. J’adore. Nez : Fruits mûrs, cerise noire et chocolat noir, avec une touche de sel de mer appétissante. Bouche : Savoureux sel de mer, fruits mûrs, chocolat noir, caramel subtil et épices intenses. Finale : Très très très salée et fruitée.

Cognac Augier – L’Océanique

40.1% alc./vol.
Cru Bois Ordinaires de l’Ile d’Oléron, cépage Ugni Blanc. Réalisé le 23 juillet 2015

Patrick 90%
Le meilleur compliment que je puisse donner à un spiritueux, surtout lorsqu’il ne s’agit pas d’un whisky, est de m’en acheter une bouteille sur-le-champ après y avoir goûté. Et c’est ce que j’ai fait ici! Les amateurs de scotch devraient adorer, et les amateurs de Cognac devraient être à tout le moins intrigués. J’adore. Nez : Extraordinaire parfum de pommes vertes, touche d’air marin, de subtiles épices et une touche de tabac. Bouche : De beaux fruits frais et savoureux, une très bonne dose de sel, les épices du chêne et un délicat bouquet de fleurs qui complète le tout. Finale : D’une belle longueur, marquée par le chêne, les fleurs et un sel délicat.

Cognac Augier – Le Singulier

41.7% alc./vol.
Cru Fine Champagne, cépage Folle Blanche. Réalisé le 8 septembre 2015

Patrick 89%
Un superbe Cognac, riche et intense, quelque chose qui risque toutefois de déranger les amateurs de Cognac traditionnels. Nez : Petits fruits rouges frais, vanille et caramel subtils, le tout enveloppé par un beau chêne frais et délicieux. Bouche: Raisin très mûr, chêne sec et épicé, poivre, cassonade brûlée. Riche et intense. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée et intense.

Cognac Augier – Le Sauvage

40.8% alc./vol.
Cru Petite Champagne, cépage Ugni Blanc. Réalisé le 4 décembre 2014

Patrick 87%
Un très bon Cognac, punché, original et plein de relief. Avertissement, ce n’est pas pour les novices dans le monde des spiritueux, mais si vous vous « qualifiez », vous aimerez beaucoup. Nez : Parfum sucré et fruité, léger mais tout de même envoûtant. Bouche : Épicé, avec une touche de chêne, du poivre et du raisin un peu brûlé. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, boisée et poivrée.

Martell Blue Swift

40% alc./vol.
Spirit Drink – Cognac VSOP ayant subi une finition en fûts de Bourbon

Patrick 84%
Un beau Cognac (bon, théoriquement, ce n’est pas un Cognac, mais en pratique, c’est pas mal ça) et savoureux. Simple et efficace, le genre de Cognac que j’apporterais dans le bois là fin de semaine. Nez : Parfum aussi sucré qu’un spiritueux pur peux l’être, des fruits, et un peu de bourbon sucré. Bouche : De beaux raisins secs, des noix, des prunes, du chêne épicé et une note rappelant le bourbon. Finale : Un peu courte, marquée par quelques noix et une note de réglisse réchauffée.

Remy Martin Excellence XO

40% alc./vol.

RV 82%
Dès le début, les fruits ne donnent pas l’impression d’un cognac XO mais de quelque chose de vraiment plus jeune. Cet aspect juvénile se ressent aussi en bouche qui n’est pas très développée, peu subtile et trop claire. La finale est davantage intéressante, avec tout d’abord du vieux raisin, suivie d’épices feutrés, et enfin le raisin qui est devenu délicieusement juteux. Malheureusement l’orange adolescente qui domine aussi l’ensemble est un peu trop peu trop tard, spécialement pour le prix.

Pierre Ferrand Sélection des Anges 1er cru

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
D’une complexité prodigieuse, d’un équilibre incroyable. A la hauteur des attentes, ce qui n’est pas peu dire car elle étaient élevées. Nez : Chocolat au curry, boisé-vanillé, fleurs, raisins secs, réglisse noire et gingembre. Très complexe au niveau des épices. Bouche : Arrivée en bouche spectaculaire, avec une explosion d’épices complexes et de chêne vanillé. Thé, curry, gingembre, safran, muscade, chocolat noir, herbes séchées. Tellement complexe! Finale : Longue et savoureuse. S’étire sur un mélange d’épices et de chocolat.

RV 89%
Plus fruité que le Pierre Ferrand Réserve, curieusement ce cognac plus âgé est frais et ne laisse pas le poids des années du bois le dépasser du nez. En bouche, les épices viennent se mélanger au chêne au lieu de se battre avec lui. La finale est indéniablement sage, alliant les épices (la cannelle) et la vanille, et gardant bien sûr le souvenir du raisin qui joue beaucoup plus une (très belle) trame de fond que la grande fanfare. Et même pour un débutant, impossible de renier sa qualité.

Pierre Ferrand Réserve Grande Champagne

40% alc./vol.

RV 85%
Raisins cette fois-ci dans leur déclinaison “secs” avec une touche de bois en second plan. En bouche il révèle une surprise de maturité avec une texture beaucoup plus crémeuse et élégante. La finale va dans la même veine, et l’aftertaste est vraiment soigné, soyeux, et plane habillement pendant de très longues secondes. Une bonne marche au-desuss de sa jeune soeur, cette bouteille est une belle jeune dame au parler bas en décibel mais aux notes aguichantes.

Pierre Ferrand Ambré Grande Champagne Premier Cru

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 89%
Exceptionnellement bien balancé, avec une complexité savoureuse. Wow, un grand spiritueux. Nez : Parfum floral où dominent les roses et les violettes, complété par du raisin acide ainsi que des touches de poires et d’abricots. Bouche : Délicieuse arrivée en bouche, avec un beau sucre fruité, du raisin, des abricots, de la vanille et une touche de chêne discrète, mais pas autant que la note poivrée. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne et agréable.

RV 80%
Très doux au nez, une bonne approche pour amadouer les amoureuses de vin, mais probablement mal avisé pou tenter d’ouvrir les horizons spiritueuses d’un amateur de single malt d’Islay. Toutefois, en bouche, une pointe de caramel et de bois se fait lourde sur la langue, pour établir une ferme présence. Enfin, la finale est de bon goût, très peu prononcée, et il n’y a peu ou pas d’aftertaste. Donc définitivement à garder du côté inoffensif de la bibliothèque des spiritueux.

Michel Forgeron Réserve Spéciale X.O. Cognac Grande Champagne

43% alc./vol.

RV 85%
Si proche du raisin que s’il était servi dans un verre opaque, je croirais que le liquide serait probablement mauve. On joue donc sur de fine note de raisin, mais seulement le raisin, comme si le liquide avait à peine vieilli (et il s’agit tout de même d’un XO). En bouche, un peu surprenant avec le poivre qui attaque la langue avant qu’une grappe de raisin explose en emportant la finale. Fancy, on ne joue qu’une seule note mais dans plusieurs gammes, et bien que pas nécessairement dans ma palette, la qualité et surtout la subtilité sont indéniables.

English EN Français FR