Ben Birdsall - Whiskey Burn; The Distilleries of Ireland by Vespa

Wittenborg University Press - 2018

Patrick 90%
The author has constructed this book in much the same way as his previous work, Whiskey Burn; Distilleries of Scotland by Vespa, less humor, the waterproof tent and more (which is a must in Ireland). However, I learned a lot more, especially thanks to the fact that most of the distilleries visited did not exist during my previous trip! Built like a story of travel or adventure (the Vespa is still 3 years older than the previous book!), This is one of the few whiskey books for which you will spend sleepless night: Will the Vespa be able to cross Ireland up and down? You will have to read it to find out!

Like its predecessor on Scottish distilleries, this book is for beginners and those who think they know everything about whiskey.

Ben Birdsall - Whiskey Burn; Distilleries of Scotland by Vespa - Highlands and Islands

Wittenborg University Press - 2015

Patrick 94%
For fans of adventures and scotch, this book is a must: The author goes around the Scottish distilleries driving his Vespa 50CC ... 1979! Not only can it seem incredible to have survived such an epic Vespa, but in addition, he stopped to paint and camp in a tent more or less waterproof and despite the terrible Scottish climate. I particularly loved the many humorous dialogues of his interactions with locals. In fact, the whole work reminded me of a twenty-first century version of the most classic work on whiskey, The Whiskey Distilleries of the United Kingdom by Alfred BarnardSo, it's telling you!

Finally, this book is for novices as well as those who think they know everything about whiskey. Real candy to read!

Charles K. Cowderey - Bourbon, Strange

Made and Bottled in Kentucky - 2014

Patrick 84%
I was looking forward to this new book by Charles K. Cowderey after reading "Bourbon, Straight". I have to admit I was not satisfied ... I had the impression that I read a re-edition of the first book, and unlike "Straight", it did not teach me much again, if it does not. is only a few anecdotes. In short, yes, a good book, which I had fun reading, but considering that it is almost impossible to find north of the border, let's say there are other more interesting and easier books to find.

Davin De Kergommeaux - Canadian Whiskey: The New Portable Expert

Appetite - 2017

Patrick 92%
THE book to read about Canadian whiskey. Even my college books have rarely taught me as much as this book. The amount of research Davin had to do is incredible. A must for you to appreciate a style of whiskey too often snobbed despite its high quality. Yes, this book will practically make you an expert in the field of Canadian Whiskey! Anecdote Example: Did you know that Molson (yes, yes, the same as beer) has already been among the biggest distillers of whiskey in the country?

Charles K. Cowderey - Bourbon, Straight

Made and Bottled in Kentucky - 2004

Patrick 94%
If you only have one book to read about bourbon, it must be this one. An essential reference, as much for its content as for the pure pleasure to read Cowderey. Obviously, do not expect here an exhaustive list of American whiskeys (the book dates from 2004, after all), but rather a better understanding and history and industry of American whiskey. And above all, you will realize that many legends surrounding American whiskey are indeed just legends!

Dave Broom - Whiskey: The Manual

Octopus Books - 2014

Patrick 82%
In this book, Dave Broom encourages us to try to consume our favorite spirits differently. In particular, it tastes dozens of whiskeys by mixing them with soda, cola, ginger ale, coconut water and green tea. The problem is that I definitely do not have the same tastes as the author: I hate his favorites, and I love what he tells us to avoid!

English EN Français FR

Ben Birdsall – Whiskey Burn; The Distilleries of Ireland by Vespa

Wittenborg University Press – 2018

Patrick 90%
L’auteur a bâti ce livre suivant sensiblement le même modèle que son précédent ouvrage, Whisky Burn; Distilleries of Scotland by Vespa, l’humour en moins, la tente imperméable en plus (ce qui est un must en Irlande). En revanche, j’y ai appris beaucoup plus, en particulier grâce au fait que la plupart des distilleries visitées n’existaient pas lors de mon précédent voyage ! Bâti à la manière d’un récit de voyage, voire d’aventure (la Vespa est tout de même 3 ans plus vieille que lors du livre précédent !), c’est l’un des rares livres de whisky pour lequel vous passerez une nuit blanche : Est-ce que la Vespa sera capable de traverser l’Irlande de long en large ? Vous devrez le lire pour le savoir !

Comme son prédécesseur sur les distilleries écossaises, ce livre s’adresse tout autant aux novices qu’à ceux qui pensent tout connaître sur le whisky.

Ben Birdsall – Whisky Burn; Distilleries of Scotland by Vespa – the Highlands and Islands

Wittenborg University Press – 2015

Patrick 94%
Pour les amateurs d’aventures et de scotch, ce livre est un incontournable : L’auteur fait le tour des distilleries écossaises au volant de sa Vespa 50CC de… 1979 ! Non seulement il peut sembler incroyable d’avoir survécu à une telle épopée en Vespa, mais en plus, il s’arrêtait pour peindre et camper sous une tente plus ou moins imperméable et ce, malgré l’exécrable climat écossais. J’ai particulièrement adoré les nombreux dialogues humoristiques de ses interactions avec les locaux. En fait, l’ensemble de l’œuvre m’a fait penser à une version du XXIème siècle du plus classique ouvrage qui soit sur le whisky, The Whisky Distilleries of the United Kingdom d’Alfred Barnard, c’est donc vous dire !

Enfin, ce livre s’adresse tout autant aux novices qu’à ceux qui pensent tout connaître sur le whisky. Du vrai bonbon à lire !

Charles K. Cowderey – Bourbon, Strange

Made and Bottled in Kentucky – 2014

Patrick 84%
J’attendais avec impatience ce nouvel ouvrage de Charles K. Cowderey après avoir lu « Bourbon, Straight ». Je dois admettre être resté sur ma faim… J’avais en partie l’impression de relire une réédition du premier livre, et contrairement à « Straight », celui-ci ne m’a pas appris grand-chose de nouveau, si ce n’est que de quelques anecdotes. Bref, oui, un bon livre, que j’ai eu du plaisir à lire, mais compte tenu qu’il est presque impossible à trouver au nord de la frontière, disons qu’il y a d’autres ouvrages plus intéressants et plus faciles à trouver.

Davin De Kergommeaux – Canadian Whisky : The New Portable Expert

Appetite – 2017

Patrick 92%
LE livre à lire sur le whisky canadien. Même mes livres d’université m’ont rarement autant appris que ce livre. La quantité de recherche qu’a dû effectuer Davin est incroyable. Un must pour vous faire apprécier un style de whisky trop souvent snobbé malgré sa grande qualité. Oui, ce livre fera pratiquement de vous un expert dans le domaine du whisky canadien! Exemple d’anecdote : Saviez-vous que Molson (oui, oui, le même que la bière) a déjà été parmi les plus grands distillateurs de whisky au pays?

Charles K. Cowderey – Bourbon, Straight

Made and Bottled in Kentucky – 2004

Patrick 94%
Si vous n’avez qu’un seul livre à lire sur le bourbon, il faut que ce soit celui-ci. Une référence incontournable, autant pour son contenu que pour le pur plaisir à lire Cowderey. Évidemment, ne vous attendez pas ici à une liste exhaustive des whiskeys américains (le livre date de 2004, après tout), mais plutôt à une meilleure compréhension et l’histoire et de l’industrie du whiskey américain. Et surtout, vois vous rendrez compte que bien des légendes qui entourent le whiskey américain ne sont en effet que des légendes!

Dave Broom – Whisky : The Manual

Octopus Books – 2014

Patrick 82%
Dans ce livre, Dave Broom nous encourage à essayer de consommer notre spiritueux de prédilection différemment. En particulier, il déguste des dizaines de whiskys en les mixant avec du soda, du cola, du ginger ale, de l’eau de noix de coco et du thé vert. Le problème est que je n’ai définitivement pas les même goûts que l’auteur : je déteste ses coups de coeur, et j’adore ce qu’il nous dis d’éviter!

Fred Noe – Beam, straight Up – The bold story of the first family of bourbon

Wiley – 2012

Patrick 93%
Un livre de l’histoire de la famille Beam, qui est rendue aujourd’hui la famille royale du bourbon au Kentucky. L’un des meilleurs livres de whisky qui soient, un livre émouvant, qui m’a aussi bien fait rire. Je rêve depuis de rencontrer M. Fred Noe, un personnage absolument unique! À lire pour le plaisir, tout simplement.

English EN Français FR