Gordon & MacPhail Collection Tamdhu 8 years

40% alc./vol.

Martin 79%
Legs expected of such a rate of alcohol, on the golden tones of a radiant sun. Nose: Alcohol very present, but which slowly changes to the nail polish remover and finally ends in vanilla, powdered sugar, lemon, grapes and wood chips. A second nose reveals in a little way the small fermented berries that make the birds drunk. Palate: Cream of English, dried fruits and citrus. We continue on a little grass and caramel to finish on an oak wood asserted. Young but determined. Finish: Very short, with pleasant notes of chocolate, oak, citrus and vanilla. The badly controlled alcohol comes to break the party. Balance: Loses points on the duration of the final and on its low alcohol level, maladaptive to the potential of this bottling. Still remains a Dr Dr 5 in 7 summer.

Hepburn's Choice Tamdhu Single Cask 12 2001

46% alc./vol.
Bottled in 2013, 367 bottles.

André 86%
Grassy and vanilla nose, orange and honey flavors. I did not expect to be dismounted but I admit that the nose is a little soporific. The mouth is astonishing in its strength and stature, spiced with conviction, lots of grass and cereal flavors, orange pods, dark chocolate and even this sensation of virgin oak latent expressed through notes of lemon and Limoncello liqueur. Final dry and spicy, whiskey definitely surprises despite its young age, the final is long and well supported.

Patrick 87%
A very summer whiskey. Luckily I tasted it in June, because in 6 months it probably would not have had such a good rating !! Still, it is hot and this whiskey is perfect for the occasion! Nose: Very grassy, ​​with hints of orange and honey. Pleasant. Palate: Herbs and spices in the first place, with more subtle notes of orange, dark chocolate and citrus. Final: A little short, but nice.

Old Particular Tamdhu 11 years old

48.4% alc./vol.
Sherry Butt #DL12577, November 2006, Bottled May 2018, 407 bottles.

André 83%
Carried on cereals and vanilla from the barrel, dried wood and pears, melon with honey, mashed apples. Very peppery in the mouth, good dose of cinnamon too, despite the creaminess of honey and vanilla relegated to the background. We still have notes of pears and apple pie, dried cereals and fruit salad. Long finish very peppery and with a touch of oranges.

Patrick 89%
A very good whiskey, with a lot more pep than most whiskeys I have drunk from this distillery. Nose: cooked apples, citrus and a maritime note. Palate: First the citrus fruits, then the fruits that were cooked, a little salt and a woody touch. Finale: A good length, salty and spicy.

Martin 83.5%
Nose: Tropical fruits, especially pineapple. Light vanilla and smoke. Shy notes of stewed potatoes and cinnamon. Palate: Delicately peated fruit salad. Barley and peach apple. Oak and white pepper. Final: A skilful recovery of the flavors expressed since the beginning of the trip. Balance: Without throwing me down my chair, I must admit that this whiskey enjoys a consistency that I have not seen often, and at all stages.

Provenance Tamdhu 12 years

46% alc./vol.
Distilled March 2004, Bottled August 2016

André 84.5%
Oranges, citrus, honey, oaky nose, vanilla, crème brûlée. The palate is sweet, but punched on spices, honey, vanilla and citrus, the charred barrel is very present as announced the nose, it also reveals a touch of crushed black pepper. The finish is straight and smooth, medium length, lots of vanilla accents and oak wood.

Tamdhu

40% alc./vol.
Built in 1897 by a group of assemblers, the Tamdhu distillery, whose name means "little black hill" in Gaelic, soon became the property of Highland Distillers ... until today! A quiet story, therefore, despite a dormant 1927 1947. Enlarged and modernized in the 70 years, Tamdhu saw the number of stills move to 4 and 6 1975. Today, it is one of the few distilleries to malt all of their barley in their walls; the wooden fermentation tanks also bring a traditional touch to a modern production unit.
Tamdhu whiskey is almost totally used for blends like The Famous Grouse, J & B and Cutty Sark.

André 83%
Fruity, strawberries? Seabed.

RV 81.5%
A short paragraph with a pale writing in the single malt book. Vanilla, unripened small grain and fine pollen floral. Caramelized arrival and the final is clover honey, like the Highland Park a little more boring. For 18 at 118 years, but could probably be suitable for newborns

Patrick 81%
Leafy wet, a little grass, a little spicy. Refreshing, very good for the summer. Interesting, good value for money.

Tamdhu 10 years old Sherry Matured

43% alc./vol.

André 80%
Poor Sherry, light cheese and some smells that could almost be associated with new oak, vanilla and some spices. Sherry is puny and a little clumsy. Breathing, the whiskey becomes more and more creamy, dry fruits emerge, supported by a good dose of vanilla and caramel. Good kick of spices, fluid but pleasant texture. Purple grapes and crescendo spice (ginger and cinnamon) strongly supported, then powerful sherry whatever diluted. The finish is spicy and fruity, beautiful durability but use sherry cask somewhat doubtful.

Patrick 90%
An excellent whiskey, meeting all expectations for a Speyside Scotch, aged in sherry casks and sold at this price. Bravo. (Definitely, André and I have not tasted the same batch!) Nose: Fragrance dominated by the aroma of sweet sherry, with hints of milk chocolate, a ripe fruit dish and a subtle touch of oak. Enticing. Palate: A superb warm sherry, sweet and spicy all at the same time. Always with chocolate, but a little blacker than the nose and served on a board of burnt oak. Finish: A beautiful length, stretches on ripe fruit and burnt oak.

English EN Français FR

Gordon & MacPhail Collection Tamdhu 8 ans

40% alc./vol.

Martin 79%
Jambes attendues d’un tel taux d’alcool, sur les tons dorés d’un soleil radiant. Nez: Alcool très présent, mais qui se mute doucement vers le solvant à vernis à ongles pour enfin se terminer dans la vanille, le sucre en poudre, le citron, les raisins et les copeaux de bois. Un second nez révèle de façon peu compexe les petites baies fermentées qui rendent les oiseaux saouls. Bouche: Crème anglaise, fruits séchés et agrumes. On poursuit sur un peu d’herbe et de caramel pour finir sur un bois de chêne affirmé. Jeune mais déterminé. Finale: Très courte, sur des notes plaisantes de chocolat, de chêne, d’agrumes et de vanille. L’alcool mal maîtrisé vient casser le party. Équilibre: Perd des points sur la durée de la finale et sur son faible taux d’alcool, mésadapté au potentiel de cet embouteillage. Reste tout de même un dram potable en 5 à 7 estival.

Hepburn’s Choice Tamdhu Single Cask 12 ans 2001

46% alc./vol.
Embouteillé en 2013, 367 bouteilles.

André 86%
Nez herbeux et vanillé, saveurs d’oranges et de miel. Je ne m’attendais pas à être désarçonné mais j’avoue que le nez est un peu soporifique. La bouche étonne par sa force et sa stature, épicé avec conviction, beaucoup de saveurs d’herbe et de céréales, cosses d’oranges, chocolat noir et encore cette sensation de virgin oak latente qui s’exprime via des notes de citron et de liqueur Limoncello. Finale sèche et épicée, le whisky étonne définitivement malgré son jeune âge, la finale est longue et bien soutenue.

Patrick 87%
Un whisky très estival. Heureusement que j’y ai goûté en juin, car dans 6 mois il n’aurait probablement pas eu une si bonne note!! Toujours est-il que ce soir, il fait chaud et que ce whisky est donc parfait pour l’occasion! Nez : Très herbeux, avec des notes d’orange et de miel. Agréable. Bouche : Herbes et épices en premier lieu, avec des notes plus subtiles d’orange, de chocolat noir et d’agrumes. Finale : Un peu courte, mais agréable.

Provenance Tamdhu 12 ans

46% alc./vol.
Distilled March 2004, Bottled August 2016

André 84.5%
Oranges, agrumes, miel, oaky au nez, vanille, crème brûlée. La bouche est douce, mais punchée sur les épices, miel, vanille et agrumes, le fût carbonisé est très présent comme l’annonçait le nez, on y décèle aussi une touche de poivre noir broyé. La finale est rectiligne et douce, longueur moyenne, beaucoup d’accents de vanille et du bois de chêne.

Tamdhu

40% alc./vol.
Construite en 1897 par un groupe d’assembleurs, la distillerie Tamdhu dont le nom signifie « petite colline noire » en gaélique, devint peu de temps après la propriété de Highland Distillers…et ce, jusqu’à nos jours ! Une histoire tranquille donc, malgré une mise en sommeil de 1927 à 1947. Agrandie et modernisée dans les années 70, Tamdhu vit le nombre de ses alambics passer à 4 puis à 6 en 1975. Aujourd’hui, elle fait partie des rares distilleries à malter la totalité de leur orge dans leurs murs ; les cuves de fermentation en bois apportent également une touche traditionnelle dans une unité de production néanmoins moderne.
Le whisky de Tamdhu est presque totalement utilisé pour la production de blends tels The Famous Grouse, J & B et Cutty Sark.

André 83%
Fruité, des fraises? Fond marin.

RV 81.5%
Un court paragraphe avec une écriture pâle dans le livre des single malt. Vanille, petit grain non vieilli et floral de pollen fin. Arrivée caramélisée et la finale est de miel de trèfle, à l’image des Highland Park un peu plus ennuyant. Pour 18 à 118 ans, mais pourrait probablement convenir pour les nouveaux nés

Patrick 81%
Feuillu humide, un peu d’herbes, un peu épicé. Rafraichissant, très bien pour l’été. Intéressant, bon rapport qualité/prix.

Tamdhu 10 ans Sherry Matured

43% alc./vol.

André 80%
Sherry de mauvaise qualité, léger fromage et certaines odeurs que l’on pourrait presque associer aux fûts neufs, vanille et quelques épices. Le sherry est chétif et un peu malhabile. En respirant, le whisky devient de plus en plus crémeux, les fruits secs émergent, appuyé par une bonne dose de vanille et de caramel. Bon kick d’épices, texture fluide mais agréable. Raisins mauves et crescendo d’épices (gingembre et cannelle) fort soutenues, puis puissant sherry quoi que dilué. La finale est épicée et fruitée, belle pérennité mais utilisation de fût de sherry quelque peu douteux.

Patrick 90%
Un excellent whisky, rencontrant toutes les attentes pour un scotch du Speyside vieillit en fûts de xérès et vendu à ce prix. Bravo. (Définitivement, André et moi n’avons pas goûtés à la même batch!) Nez : Parfum dominé par l’arôme du xérès sucré, avec des notes de chocolat au lait, un plat de fruits mûrs et une subtile touche de chêne. Alléchant. Bouche : Un superbe xérès chaleureux, sucré et épicé tout à la fois. Toujours avec le chocolat, mais un peu plus noir qu’au nez et servi sur une planche de chêne brûlée. Finale : D’une belle longueur, s’étire sur les fruits mûrs et le chêne brûlé.

English EN Français FR