Game of Thrones House Lannister Lagavulin 9 years old

46% alc./vol.

André 90%
A Lagavulin hybrid, a Laproaigvulin ... The nose is punches and typical; maritime and camphor, tasty blend of vanilla and mashed bananas, lemon citrus, powerful smoke, sensation of chalk powder, red apples, pears, salted caramel, undeniable maritime spirit. Beautiful texture in the mouth, the flavors are intense and defined; marmalade of grapes, apples, pears, bananas, citrus fruits, tropical fruits, oranges, salted caramel, smoked meat, peat moss, kelp, phenolic smoke. Many inputs from bourbon cask and a touch of sherry (probably). Peat is potent, phenolic, eucalyptus sweets and maritime enbrils. The finish is a little short, dry, camphorated.

Patrick 92%
Lagavulin, just like House Lannister, is made to rule. Even if it is relatively young here, one feels from the first scents that it is a product that is not addressed to the plebs, but to powerful and intelligent people. Nose: The incomparable peat smoke of Lagavulin with a touch of tar, discrete salt, wood and herbs. Palate: Salt, tarred peat smoke, spicy wood and a touch of caramel and vanilla. Finale: Of a beautiful length, smoke, salty and subtly sweet.

Martin 93%
Nose: Peat in a casket of sherry, iron hand in a velvet glove, just like the house Lannister. Tundra, caramel, sea peat and berries. Apple-grape juice. Intoxicating smoke. Palate: Silky and sensual texture, fruity peat, oak wood, spices, sherry and orange. Very vinous, tannins, leather and caramel. Raspberry jams. Delicious. Final: Sweet and full-bodied at a time, on a long bewitching period. Oak saturated with sherry and spices, discrete and salty smoke at the same time. Balance: The big winner of the series. In almost every work of fiction, the villain is always more complex. Here we are entitled to a great Lagavulin, its only weak point being that just like the Lannisters, we knew what to expect. Tywin must have casks and barrels under the foundations of Casterly Rock.

Lagavulin 12 years 1995-2008

48% alc./vol.
Bottled specifically for Friends of Classic Malts, #02976 bottle. Aged exclusively in European sherry oak barrels.

André 92.5%
Classic Lagavulin in the approach but tenderized by the notes of sherry fruit. The nose is fully spicy but keeps a nice roundness despite the maritime and peaty tendencies, black licorice, soft vanilla, honey. The palate is vigorous but languorous, still displaying its maritime masculine duality of sea salt and phenolic peat opposing with the flavors of red fruits and melancholic spices. Oily texture with citrus accents and mouth-watering peaty-fruity peat finish really superb. Amazing to have a whiskey with such powerful flavors that is so sweet in the mouth. Finale with a touch of oak wood, honeyed vanilla, then expertly orchestrated sherry-smoked-spun blend.

Patrick 96%
When you say "Lagavulin has it's best", that's saying something! At 48% more alcohol, we could not ask for more! A stellar whiskey, definitely out of this world! It's been 15 years that I look for, better than that, it does not exist! Nose: intense sherry, delicate smoke, touch of tar, good bottom of peat and messy envelope of the most pleasant. Palate: Beautiful oily texture, sherry, burnt oak, spices, smoke, subtle red licorice and equally discreet dark chocolate. Finale: Of a beautiful length, spicy and smoke.

Martin 93%
Beautiful deep hue that betrays his education in sherry. Nose: Peat slightly salty but who knows how to stand straight. Beautiful sherry notes that harmonize with the smoke. Raisins and oak. Palate: Sparkling red fruits, spices, grapes on one side, sweet phenols from the maritime smoke on the other. Final: The oak and sherry are in a proportion that marry perfectly the peat perfectly dosed Lagavulin. Balance: Already a classic? We hope so. Still a little far from dethroning the 16 years, but it's a malt that requires its place in your whiskey cabinet.

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength (Third release) 1991

57.8% alc./vol.

André 92.5%
Nose with puzzling sweetness for whiskey so alcoholic. Focus on smoked grains and medicinal peat, nose of citrus fruits and oranges, cold ash, pumice dust, light acidulous. The palate is powerful and maritime, many phenolic peat flavors sharpened by powerful alcohol but still rounded off by sweet notes and vanilla. The texture of the mouth is very masculine, a little raspy but the majority of the flavors are sweet and pleasant, small accents of green grass that mixes with the oily and filthy peat, fresh pears, citrus, campfire. Long finish, supple and oily, phenolic and assertive. It made a beautiful bottle to open for my party!

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 1991

57.8% alc./vol.
A cask strength edition of Lagavulin bottled in 2003 from first generation American oak barrels.

RV 92%
Olfactive spice race with pepper and juniper head, but exceeded by yellow mustard grains propelled by the very present alcohol. Arrival somewhat timid, but with a development in phases; first mustard, spices and alcohol, well controlled by a smoke that comes just before the final rather quiet. By cons, this tranquility installs very well aftertaste in spices softer, soothing and soothing length. If the 16YO is a sweet end of the evening in a simple yet comfortable country house attic, this 12YO is the hot smoked meat tasted on a small table in front of the old, still hot stove.

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 1994

57.8% alc./vol.
A special edition of Lagavulin, bottled in 2006 with the strength of the barrel directly from first generation American oak barrels.

André 90%
In my opinion, high alcohol levels spoil the very roots of traditional Lagavulin. But to have the chance to taste the Lagavulin "raw" as here, it is what we can qualify as privilege.

RV 90%
Smoked, bay leaf. Pepper. Large bottle in itself, but lower than 16.

Patrick 92%
Smoked, peat, peppered explosive; Very light fruity. Lagavulin, always my favorite.

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 2000

56.1% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
Aromas of sea air and coal, with less peat than I would have expected. On the palate, salt, peat and ripe red fruits. In the end, the smoked peat finally express itself with all the strength that was expected. Definitely the best edition of the 12 aged cask strength that I have tasted.

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 2003

57.8% alc./vol.

Patrick 94%
Lagavulin. Do I need to say more? Nose: Intense peat fragrance, with salt, citrus, vanilla, oak and happiness in my heart. Palate: Spicy finish on the palate, which evolves rapidly to a powerful peat smoke, all with hints of pepper, citrus, oak, charcoal and sea salt. Finish: Long and super tasty, dominated by oak spices and sea salt.

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 2015

56.8% alc./vol.

André 88%
A lot of peat here, no surprises, but full notes of maritime citrus, lemony sensation, crackers salted with butter, vanilla, pears, honey and green wood, a little grassy even, minty and fresh. Oily mouth, peat, mixed soil of wet grass, tropical fruits, spicy sharp, spicy pepper spikes. The texture is inferior to the 2016 edition even if we quickly notice the concern of the presentation, tasty medicinal notes. The finish is copiously peppery and spicy and for my part the notes of green wood bother me a little. Finished up, many camphor and earthy notes and greenish flavors (leaves and green wood). Not my favorite edition of 12 years old but a quality that many distilleries aspire one day to deliver to their consumers.

Patrick 90%
Intense and tasty, complex and superbly balanced. I would bring any whiskey from this distillery with me to a deserted island. Nose: Burnt peat, salt, pepper and ... boiled vegetables? Palate: Salt, peat smoke, pepper, burnt wood and a very subtle sweet barley note. Nice oily texture. Finale: Long, smoky, peppery and especially intense!

Lagavulin 12 years old Cask Strength 2016 200th Anniversary

57.7% alc./vol.

André 95%
Classic nose representative of the distillery; powerful peat but with the right balance, greenish and camphoric elements, vanilla and caramelized sugar, citrus seasoned with a maritime touch and oranges. The texture on the palate is unique, silky and round even if sprinkled with spices that explode like small fireworks in the mouth. Very citrusy set with a tasty sea pepper and spicy freshness delivered on a cloud of peat smoke and potholed asphalt vapors just repaired. The finish is sweet, long, though unambiguous. The cornerstone of this whiskey is its unique texture that serves as a backdrop to the multitude of maritime and peat flavors. I must admit, I fell in love with it ...

Patrick 91%
Very complex and well balanced as only Lagavulin knows how to get there. I just love it. Nose: Smoke of peat, sweet citrus, barley. Palate: Intense smoke and pepper in the first place. Then a little honey, salt and burnt wood. Finale: Beautiful, intense and tasty finish, with a nice oily texture.

Lagavulin 14 years

56.5% alc./vol.
Distilled in 1993 and bottled in 2007. Warehouse #1, drum #4893, bottle #0671, this bottling is only available at the distillery.

Patrick 94%
On the nose, the incomparable complexity of Lagavulin. Rich peat, light smoke, blackberries and traces of citrus. To taste, everything seems to explode, with red fruits, fruit cake and peat. The finish is always marked by peat and fruits. Wow. When I die, if I go to Heaven, I will certainly wake up on Islay!

English EN Français FR

Elements of Islay LG8

59.5% alc./vol.
Produit à partir de 2 ex-bourbon barrels distillés en 2006 à la distillerie Lagavulin.

André 89%
Poires, melon au miel, pêches, mangue, agrumes, vanille, bbq sur la plage, belle salinité maritime, tourbe crasseuse et terreuse. Sensation huileuse et de grasse de viande cuisant sur un bbq de plage, boisson au citron et agrumes, jus de salade de fruits tropicaux, la bouche est puissante et généreusement poivrée, l’alcool est franc et la tourbe puissante, cendreuse et un peu sale et industrielle, médicinale et camphrée. Notes de bois de chêne carbonisé aussi, bonbons casse-grippe à la menthe et Tiger Balm, bacon. Boisson au citron et au miel. Longue finale, bien poivrée, bacon bits, charcoal et fruits tropicaux. Un Lagavulin un peu unidimentionnel mais avec des saveurs justes.

Patrick 91%
Du Laphroaig cask strength, c’est rare qu’on se trompe avec ça. Nez : Du beau gros Laphroaig sale, avec de la belle fumée médicamenteuse. Bouche : Fumée intense et médicamenteuse, avec une bonne dose de charbon de bois et une touche de goudron, le tout porté par une délicieuse texture huileuse. Finale : D’une superbe longueur, très fumée, épicée, goudronnée et tourbée.

Game of Thrones House Lannister Lagavulin 9 ans

46% alc./vol.

André 90%
Un Lagavulin hybride, un Laproaigvulin… Le nez est punché et typique; maritime et camphré, savoureux mélange de vanille et de purée de bananes, agrumes citronnées, fumée puissante, sensation de poudre de craie, pommes rouges, poires, caramel salé, esprit maritime indéniable. Belle texture en bouche, les saveurs sont intenses et définies; marmelade de raisins, pommes, poires, bananes, agrumes, fruits tropicaux, oranges, caramel salé, viande fumée, sphaigne, varech, fumée phénolique. Beaucoup d’apports provenant du bourbon cask et une touche provenant de xérès (probablement). La tourbe est puissante, phénolique, bonbons à l’eucalyptus et enbruns maritime. La finale est un peu courte, sèche, camphrée.

Patrick 92%
Lagavulin, tout comme House Lannister, est faite pour régner. Même s’il est ici relativement jeune, on sent dès les premières effluves qu’il s’agit d’un produit qui ne s’adresse pas à la plèbe, mais bien à des gens puissants et intelligents. Nez : L’incomparable fumée de tourbe de Lagavulin avec une petite touche de goudron, du sel discret, du bois et des herbes. Bouche : Le sel, la fumée de tourbe goudronnée, du bois épicé et une petite touche de caramel et de vanille. Finale : D’une belle longueur, fumée, salée et subtilement sucrée.

Martin 93%
Nez: Tourbe dans un écrin de sherry, main de fer dans un gant de velours, tout comme la maison Lannister. Tundra, caramel, tourbe maritime et fruits des champs. Jus de pomme-raisin. Fumée enivrante. Bouche: Texture soyeuse et sensuelle, tourbe fruitée, bois de chêne, épices, xérès et orange. Très vineux, tannins, cuir et caramel. Confitures de framboise. Exquis. Finale: Douce et corsée à la fois, sur une longue et ensorcelante période. Chêne gorgé de xérès et d’épices, fumée discrète et salée à la fois. Équilibre: Le grand gagnant de la série. Dans presque toute oeuvre de fiction, le vilain est toujours plus complexe. Ici nous avons droit à un grand Lagavulin, son seul point faible étant que tout comme les Lannisters, nous savions à quoi nous attendre. Tywin doit en avoir des tonneaux et des tonneaux sous les fondations de Casterly Rock.

Lagavulin 11 ans Offerman Edition

46% alc./vol.

André 88%
Quelle belle façon de présenter un whisky si affirmé. Bananes, poires, pommes vertes. Ça sent les bonbons en forme de bananes jaunes presque oranges que l’on retrouve encore dans certaines confiseries. On oscille aussi entre les saveurs de fruits tropicaux, les agrumes, l’ananas, le citron et les saveurs plus maritimes et nordiques avec du sel de mer et des algues marines séchées sur les galets. Un taux d’alcool de cette intensité permet de détecter les nuances de saveurs très facilement et on a aussi réussi à gerder une texture bien huileuse et amoureuse bien agréable duquel s’échappe des notes tourbées médicinales domestiquées. Saveurs primaires de bananes et d’ananas, de sel de mer, d’herbe verte mouillée et de fumée de tourbe. Les notes de sherry nous manquent un peu tout de même. Finale moyenne en longueur, tourbée, phénolique et médicinale mais aussi avec un bon taux de sucre de fruits.

Patrick 89%
Un superbe whisky, comme je m’attendais venant de Lagavulin. Intense et savoureux, il n’a pas la finesse du 16 ans, mais ça demeure très bon. Nez : Fumée de tourbe intense, pleine de suie et avec une touche de sel – le tout fait penser aux cendres fumantes d’un feu de camp sur le bord de la mer. Bouche : Tel que senti au nez, c’est de la belle fumée de tourbe pleine de suie et de sel, avec aussi de belles épices. Le tout, porté par une belle texture huileuse. Finale : D’une belle longueur, marquée par la fumée huileuse.

Lagavulin 12 ans 1995-2008

48% alc./vol.
Embouteillé spécialement pour Friends of Classic Malts, bouteille #02976. Vieilli exclusivement en fûts de chêne de Xérès Européen.

André 92.5%
Classique Lagavulin dans l’approche mais attendri par les notes de fruits du xérès. Le nez est pleinement épicé mais garde une belle rondeur malgré les atours maritimes et tourbés, la réglisse noire, la vanille tendre, le miel. La bouche est vigoureuse mais langoureuse, affichant encore sa dualité masculine maritime de sel de mer et de tourbe phénolique s’opposant avec les saveurs de fruits rouges et d’épices mélancoliques. Texture huileuse avec accents d’agrumes et finale de bouche de tourbe terreuse-fruitée vraiment superbe. Étonnant d’avoir un whisky aux saveurs primaires si puissantes qui est si doux en bouche. Finale avec une touche de bois de chêne, vanille mielleuse, puis mélangé savamment orchestré de sherry-fumé-tourné.

Patrick 96%
Quand on dit « Lagavulin a son meilleur », ce n’est pas peu dire! A 48% d’alcool en plus, on ne saurait demander mieux! Un whisky stellaire, définitivement hors de ce monde! Ca fait 15 ans que je cherche, meilleur que ça, ça n’existe pas! Nez : Xérès intense, fumée délicate, touche de goudron, bon fond de tourbe et enveloppe malpropre des plus agréables. Bouche : Belle texture huileuse, xérès, chêne brûlé, épices, fumée, réglisse rouge subtile et chocolat noir tout aussi discret. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée et fumée.

Martin 93%
Belle teinte profonde qui trahit son éducation dans le sherry. Nez: Tourbe légèrement salée mais qui sait se tenir droite. Belles notes de xérès qui viennent s’harmoniser avec la fumée. Raisins secs et chêne. Bouche: Fruits rouges pétillants, épices, raisins d’un côté, doux phénols de la fumée maritime de l’autre. Finale: Le chêne et le sherry sont dans une proportion qui épouse à merveille la tourbe parfaitement dosée de Lagavulin. Équilibre: Déjà un classique? On l’espère. Encore un peu loin de détrôner le 16 ans, mais c’est un malt qui exige sa place dans votre armoire à whisky.

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength (Third release) 1991

57.8% alc./vol.

André 92.5%
Nez avec douceur déroutante pour un whisky si alcoolisé. Porté sur les grains fumés et la tourbe médicinale, nez d’agrumes et d’oranges, cendre froide, poussière de pierre ponce, léger acidulé. La bouche est puissante et maritime, beaucoup de saveurs de tourbe phénolique aiguisée par l’alcool puissant mais tout de même arrondi par les notes sucrées et de vanille. La texture de bouche est très masculine, un peu râpeuse mais la majorité des saveurs sont douces et agréables, petits accents d’herbe verte qui se mélange à la tourbe huileuse et crasseuse, poires fraiches, agrumes, feu de camp. Finale longue, souple et huileuse, phénolique et affirmée. Ça a fait une bien belle bouteille à ouvrir pour ma fête!

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength 1991

57.8% alc./vol.
Une édition cask strength de Lagavulin embouteillée en 2003 de fûts de chêne américain de première génération.

RV 92%
Course d’épices olfactive avec poivre et genièvre en tête, mais dépassés par des grains de moutarde jaune propulsés par l’alcool très présent. Arrivée quelque peu timide, mais avec un développement en phases; d’abord la moutarde, les épices puis l’alcool, bien contrôlée par une fumée qui vient juste avant la finale plutôt tranquille. Par contre, cette tranquillité installe très bien l’aftertaste en épices plus doux, d’une longueur apaisante et calmante. Si le 16YO est une fin de soirée doucereuse devant le foyer dans un grenier simpliste mais confortable d’une maison de campagne, ce 12YO est le smoked meat chaud dégusté sur une petite table devant le vieux poêle à bois encore chaud.

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength 1994

57.8% alc./vol.
Une édition spéciale de Lagavulin, embouteillée en 2006 à la force du fût directement de fûts de chêne américain de première génération.

André 90%
À mon avis, le haut taux d’alcool gâche les racines mêmes du Lagavulin traditionnel. Mais d’avoir la chance de goûter au Lagavulin à “l’état brut” comme ici, c’est ce qu’on peut qualifier de privilège.

RV 90%
Fumé, feuille de laurier. Poivré. Grande bouteille en soi-même, mais inférieur au 16.

Patrick 92%
Fumé, peat, poivré explosif; Très léger fruité. Lagavulin, toujours mon préféré.

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength 2000

56.1% alc./vol.

Patrick 93%
Arômes d’air marin et de charbon, avec moins de tourbe que je me serais attendu. En bouche, sel, tourbe et fruits rouges mûrs. En finale, la tourbe fumée s’exprimer enfin avec toute la force qu’on s’attendait. Définitivement la meilleure édition du 12 ans cask strength que j’aie goûtée.

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength 2003

57.8% alc./vol.

Patrick 94%
L-a-g-a-v-u-l-i-n. Ai-je besoin d’en dire plus? Nez : Parfum de tourbe intense, avec du sel, des agrumes, de la vanille, du chêne et du bonheur dans mon cœur. Bouche : Belle arrivée en bouche épicée, qui évolue rapidement vers une puissante fumée de tourbe, le tout avec des pointes de poivre, d’agrumes, de chêne, de charbon et de sel de mer. Finale : Longue et hyper savoureuse, dominée par les épices du chêne et le sel de mer.

Lagavulin 12 ans Cask Strength 2015

56.8% alc./vol.

André 88%
Beaucoup de tourbe ici, pas de surprises, mais de pleines notes d’agrumes maritimes, sensation citronnée, biscuits salés au beurre, vanille, poires, miel et du bois vert, un peu herbeux même, mentholé et frais. Bouche huileuse, tourbée, terre mélangée d’herbe mouillée, fruits tropicaux, épicés tranchantes, pointes de poivre frais. La texture est inférieure à l’édition 2016 même si on constate vite le souci de la présentation, savoureuses notes médicinales. La finale est copieusement poivrée et épicée et pour ma part les notes de bois vert me dérangent un peu. Finale relevée, beaucoup de notes camphrées et terreuses ainsi que des saveurs verdâtres (feuilles et bois vert). Pas mon édition préférée du 12 ans d’âge mais une qualité que bien des distilleries aspirent un jour à livrer à leur consommateurs.

Patrick 90%
Intense et savoureux, complexe et superbement balancé. J’apporterais n’importe quel whisky de cette distillerie ave moi sur une ile déserte. Nez : Tourbe brûlée, sel, poivre et… des légumes bouillis ? Bouche : Sel, fumée de tourbe, poivre, bois brûlé et une note d’orge sucré très subtile. Belle texture huileuse. Finale : Longue, fumée, poivrée et surtout intense !

Martin 86%
Nez: Assez doux versus les attentes de son degré d’alcool. Tourbe salée, algues et pierre, orge et fleurs. Le calme avant la tempête. Bouche: Tourbe, herbe, citron, miel, menthol, fruits rouges, agrumes, épices, huile et feu du taux d’alcool. Texture un peu unidimensionnelle. Finale: Bois sec et vert, légèrement moisi, ce qui vient un peu gâter la sauce. Équilibre: Un bel effort, mais ça reste malheureusement le vilain petit canard de l’éventail de la distillerie.

English EN Français FR