Old Particular Glenburgie 21 years old

51.5% alc./vol.
Sherry Butt #DL12572, June 1997, Bottled June 2018, 607 bottles

André 83%
Raspberries, cherries, apricots, pears and pear syrup, honey. Very attractive this fruity nose with the sweet inviting texture. The sherry cask is discreet, but the dried berries are definitely present in the mouth; apple pie, raspberries, fruit salad syrup, distant smoke and warehouse notes of moist earth, honey, pear syrup, creamy vanilla. Final a bit short on the astringency of dry oak wood and vanilla.

Patrick 82%
An intense whiskey, but whose balance is not extraordinary. Nose: Moist cereals, some fresh wood and herbs. Palate: Burnt wood, herbs. Intense. Finale: Of a beautiful length, marked by the burned wood.

Martin 89.5%
Nose: cooked green apples, vanilla and cream. Red grapes, dates and prunes. Viny oak and nutmeg. Orange and cocoa. Palate: Raisins and spices, apples and oranges, hot spices and toffee. Tobacco and latte coffee. Final: Superb retro-olfaction. Barley, smoke, caramel, spices and dark chocolate. Balance: An excellent single cask, but like many old single casks, mostly from independent bottlers, a tad out of my price range.

Leave a Comment

English EN Français FR

Old Particular Glenburgie 21 ans

51.5% alc./vol.
Sherry Butt #DL12572, Distilled June 1997, Bottled June 2018, 607 bottles

André 83%
Framboises, cerises, abricot, poires et sirop de poires, miel. Très attrayant ce nez fruité à la douce texture invitante. L’apport du sherry cask est discrète, mais les fruits rouges sechés définitivement présents en bouche; tarte aux pommes, framboises, sirop de salade de fruits, notes de fumée distantes et de warehouse au sol de terre humide, miel, sirop de poires, vanille onctueuse. Finale un peu courte sur l’astringence du bois de chêne sec et la vanille.

Patrick 82%
Un whisky intense, mais dont la balance n’est pas extraordinaire. Nez : Céréales humides, un peu de bois frais et des herbes. Bouche : Du bois brûlé, des herbes. Intense. Finale : D’une belle longueur, marqué par le bois brûlé.

Martin 89.5%
Nez: Pommes vertes cuites, vanille et crème. Raisins rouges, dattes et pruneaux. Chêne vineux et muscade. Orange et cacao. Bouche: Raisins secs et épices, pommes et oranges, épices chaudes et toffee. Tabac et café latte. Finale: Superbe rétro-olfaction. Orge, fumée, caramel, épices et chocolat noir. Équilibre: Un excellent single cask, mais comme bien des single casks agés, surtout provenant d’embouteilleurs indépendants, un tantinet hors de ma fourchette de prix.

Leave a Comment

English EN Français FR