Bruichladdich Octomore 12 years old Château Yquem Finish

61% alc./vol.
Cask #2, Distilled 16 / 12 / 2005, Transferred to Yquem's drum 04 / 04 / 2012, Sample from the cask at the distillery warehouse. Initial maturation of 7 aged ex-bourbon cask and aging of 5 aged in Château Yquem cask.

André 88%
When two passions meet, but it will consume after a lot of patience ... a good 20 minutes in the glass to reach its sensory peak. Immediately on the nose, we are immersed in the smell of licoreux wine, almost resinous, a creaminess that tames the wild passion of the young Octomore. The powerful and raw peat transpires this cloud of opaque flavors. Initially, we discover pears and apricots, candied lemon, oranges, then a phenolic and maritime peat 2 × 4 version with nails. Surprisingly, the mouth is much more silky than one would expect hyper peat whiskey version 61% alcohol, thanks to the sweet and licorice conjunction of the bourbon cask and the Sauternes cask. The texture is oily and oily, begins with tropical and candied fruits, pear syrup, residual sugars and then migrates to an epic crossing of phenolic, medicinal, saline, earthy and maritime peat fields. Nice delivery of honey and lemony cereals, vanilla and caramelized sugars. The finish is luscious on the flavors and slice skillfully with the sensation of ashes cooled in the back of the mouth left by the peat. A bit weird as an approach but an experience that tests the tasting.

Martin 90.5%
Nose: An old tanned leather. Grapes, tobacco, peat is there, but fades before the other aromas. Vanilla and chocolate. Citrus, smoked meat and red wine. The high alcohol level seems as harmless as a kitten. Palate: Raisins and oak, peppered sherry, graceful peat and leather tip. A superb blend of peat and barrels. Wow, it's disorienting! Tobacco pipe and cocoa, orange and licorice, oak and pepper, peat, peat and peat. The degree of alcohol again gives us a surprising chance. Final: Long, full of character and assertive. Oak and spices of course, but with a good dose of both marine and phenolic peat. Balance: With ripening almost as long as the initial ripening, there is a tendency to lose sight of the line between the two, though this is not necessarily a bad thing. A big malt, but did we expect less from an Octomore? Unbeatable.

Leave a Comment

English EN Français FR

Bruichladdich Octomore 12 ans Château Yquem Finish

61% alc./vol.
Cask #2, Distilled 16/12/2005, Transféré en fût d’Yquem le 04/04/2012, Sample from the cask at the distillery warehouse. Maturation initiale de 7 ans en ex-bourbon cask et affinage de 5 ans en fût de Château Yquem.

André 88%
Lorsque deux passions se rencontrent, mais qu’il faudra consommer après beaucoup de patience… un bon 20 minutes dans le verre pour atteindre son apogée sensorielle. Immédiatement au nez, on est plongé dans les effluves de vin licoreux, presque résineux, une onctuosité qui dompte la fougue sauvage du jeune Octomore. La tourbe puissante et brute transperse ce nuage de saveurs opaques. Au départ, on décelle les poires et les abricots, du citron confit, des oranges, puis une tourbe phénolique et maritime version 2×4 avec des clous. Étonnamment, la bouche est beaucoup plus soyeuse que l’on pourrait s’attendre du whisky hyper tourbé version 61% d’alcool, merci à la conjonction sucrée et licoreuse du bourbon cask et du fût de Sauternes. La texture est grasse et huileuse, s’amorce sur les fruits tropicaux et confits, le sirop de poires, les sucres résiduels puis migre vers une traversée épique de champs de tourbe phénolique, médicinale, saline, terreuse et maritime. Belle livraison de céréales mielleuses et citronnées, de vanille et de sucres caramélisés. La finale est pulpeuse sur les saveurs et tranche habilement avec la sensation de cendre refroidie en fond de bouche laissée par la tourbe. Un peu bizarre comme approche mais une expérience qui met à l’épreuve la dégustation.

Martin 90.5%
Nez: Un vieux cuir tanné. Raisins, tabac, la tourbe y est, mais s’efface devant les autres arômes. Vanille et chocolat. Agrumes, viande fumée et vin rouge. Le taux d’alcool élevé semble aussi inoffensif qu’un chaton. Bouche: Raisins secs et chêne, xérès poivré, tourbe gracieuse et pointe de cuir. Un superbe assemblage de la tourbe et des fûts. Wow, c’est déboussolant! Tabac à pipe et cacao, orange et réglisse, chêne et poivre, tourbe, tourbe et tourbe. Le degré d’alcool encore une fois nous laisse une surprenante chance. Finale: Longue, pleine de caractère et affirmée. Chêne et épices bien sûr, mais avec une bonne dose de tourbe à la fois maritime et phénolique. Équilibre: Avec un affinage presque aussi long que la maturation initiale, on a tendance à un peu perdre de vue la ligne entre les deux, quoique ce ne soit pas nécessairement une mauvaise chose. Un grand malt, mais s’attendait-on à moins de la part d’un Octomore? Indétrônable.

Laisser un commentaire

English EN Français FR