AD Rattray Caol Ila 13 years old Sherry Cask

60.5% alc./vol.

André 89.5%
Nose frank and dry, not denying its maritime and peaty origins but remaining a bit indefinite as long as it does not open the mouth. She does have an accent but has been able to assimilate her refining into sherry casks, a little discreet on the nose but more present in the mouth. Superbly voluptuous displaying a little animal and fruity side, leading to the final maritime and phenolic flavors.

Patrick 90%
Nose of burnt rubber and bacon. Also a nice vanilla to marry everything. On the palate, vanilla, peat and smoke ... All is still very invigorating. Reminds Pierre-Luc of a mushroom risotto? In any case, a small ton of salt. As Émilie says, it looks like a fire! In the final, the salt stretches for our greatest pleasure. A superb whiskey, very well balanced, a pity that the bottle is already empty.

RV 92%
Better than the sum of its parts, it is not a good Coal Ila: it is an excellent Islay, point to the line. Beautiful olfactory Islay ca! Appetizing the beautiful balance between peat and salt, anchored in a hint of maritime land. In the mouth, obliging alcohol, after the salt the heat settles and does not leave before the throat. However, on this floor, it is the powerful peat of Ardbeg that turns into a beautiful suite concluding by flowing gently in the seaweed. For a young 13 years, shows a beautiful maturity and variety.

Adelphi Selection Caol Ila 12 years old

58.1% alc./vol.
Distilled in 2003, bottled in 2015, 285 bottles, Spanish oak, ex-sherry casks.

André 90.5%
Beautiful peat coating a handful of dried fruit, ground black pepper, bacon, chimney soot and hot asphalt falling from the open bucket of the 10 truck wheels. The mouth is surprisingly soft and the flavors are varied and are rising crescendo. Sweet at the start with creamy vanilla and dark chocolate, then ground pepper and more muscular Caribbean spices preceding the freshly steamed bitumen and dying beach fire in the morning breeze. Slender notes of sherry and dried fruits. We even have a few sighs of camphor in the finish of mouth that mix with chimney soot and peat moss. Wow, solid as presentation.

Patrick 94%
The best Caol Ila I have ever tasted, beautifully balanced and wonderfully beautiful to allow each component to express itself wonderfully. Nose: Smoke of peat and seaweed, vanilla, oak and some succulent fruits. Palate: Intense salt, peat, pepper, spices and powerful oak with a touch of vanilla. Everything is enveloped by algae. Final: Long and tasty.

Caol Ila 12 years old

43% alc./vol.
Single peated malt from Islay Island. Caol Ila is the Gaelic name for the "Sound of Islay", the channel that separates the island of Islay from its neighbor, Juara, in one of the wildest areas of the Scottish west coast.

André 87%
Superb. Too bad we do not have access to their products so often because they are really good quality. Peaty, smoked and completely Islay! Wow!

Patrick 91%
On the nose, smoke, peat, wow! To taste, Wow! That's why I like whiskey! Smoked, peaty, a little spicy, all combining admirably well. Attention, we tend to drink too fast! By far the best value for money Caol Ila. 2eme tasting: 88%: 2th tasting: Nose: Peat. Taste: Peat, smoke, strawberries in jelly! Finished with peat, light spices, fruits and smoke. Simple, effective, ideal by the fire of summer.

Martin 88.5%
Nose: Honey and lemony peat. Vanilla and toasted malt, smoke and wood. Some discrete tropical fruits. Palate: Strawberries and peat smoke. Beautiful spices that try to take up space, like a cask strength. Oak and roasted cereals. Finish: Quite long, well wooded and smoky, sweet and spicy. Pleasant heat. Balance: An excellent Islay, who does not try to impress excessively, but who scores all points in good places. Buy when it goes.

RV 87.5%
Like the cleavage of a beautiful, poorly endowed girl; always pleasant to consider, but suffers from a lack of depth. Peat and rye juice. The finish is pretty nil, a little filthy, but a bit like PC6 peat peat peat peat ... and again?

Caol Ila 12 years Fèis Ìle 2017

55.8% alc./vol.
Double Matured in Amoroso cask wood - 1500 bottles

André 93.5%
Wow, what a nose ... Red fruits, industrial smoke, asphalt, sea salt, crushed black pepper, citrus fruits, seafood. The arrival of mouth is very supple, the flavors are ample and intense, bowl of wild fruits, black pepper and sea salt, industrial peat, citrus fruits, red apple peel. The blend of sweet and sweet red fruits contrasts nicely with the animal and industrial peat and the powerful pepper but in the end everything balances beautifully. The finish is long, strong and very peppery. The retro-olfaction is sweet with a peat in the background ... I love it !!!!!!!!!!!!

Patrick 89%
All the ingredients for a successful whiskey are there, but with too much oak burnt. Nose: Fruits covered with white sugar and vanilla, with a nice dose of smoked charcoal. Palate: Smoked fruits, spices, burnt oak, pepper and charcoal ... Finale: Long, intensely marked by smoke, spices and a nice fruity note.

Caol Ila 14 years Unpeated

59.3% alc./vol.
2012 special edition limited to 5958 bottles.

André 86.5%
An unusual Caol Ila. Fruit salad, exotic fruits, lemon and citrus fruits. There is 20% alcohol hidden somewhere because the nose shows no trace. Pears topped with vanilla and a smoke-burnt far away. In the mouth, the oranges appeared from nowhere, some notes of red fruits and various tropical fruits. Retro-olfaction of citrus fruits. Alcohol hits a lot in the mouth, it surprises a little after the nose so docile. The finish is long and peppery, the alcohol is present but softened by the hints of tropical fruits.

Patrick 91%
Candied grapes, vanilla and peaches escape from the glass. On the palate, a beautiful fruity white wine, with grape and vanilla. In the finish, the white wine has a discreet spicy note. Overall perfect, I want more!

Caol Ila 15 years old 1998-2014 Unpeated

60.39% alc./vol.

André 87%
Destabilizing a Caol Ila presented in this way. Many bourbon cask influences, the nose is creamy and captivating, golden cereals, a sprig of citrus, light caramelized toasted. After an 10 minutes to breathe, strong chocolate notes. Without being super varied, the quality of the presentation is irreproachable. The mouth is super silky, we do not guess the blind alcohol rate. Honeycomb cereals, honey, vanilla bathed in sweet spices, oily sensation and strange flavors reminiscent of the death of peat with a layer of green grass just mowed. The finish is surprisingly mild for such a powerful alcohol level. The notes of almond chocolates also come back above the melee and help soften all the alcohol. In spite of a great quality of presentation and a texture out of the ordinary, the lack of variety of the presented flavors will amputate this whiskey of some precious points.

Patrick 79%
Impressive to see how well they managed to remove all the flavor of whiskey (not just peat smoke)! Fortunately it was bottled by the force of the barrel because otherwise it would have been difficult to distinguish it from a glass of dirty water. Nose: Malt, sea air, the whole is very sweet and sweet. Palate: Salted caramel, chili and herbs. Rather light, and without great personality. Finale: Short and without relief.

Caol Ila 15 years old 2001-2016 Unpeated

61.5% alc./vol.

André 82%
I must admit that I had an unfavorable opinion after reading Pat's review, which, usually, let's face it, notes higher than me. So I tried to put that aside and make my own opinion. The nose is a little anasthetic, nice shades of butterscotch and creamy vanilla, malted cereals, citrus, green apples, wet green grass, salty and maritime background. With the alcohol content of more than 60%, it would be justified to expect to be picked up by an 10 alcohol truck but ... nope, smoothness and the very fat side of the whiskey coats the mouth that is amazingly protected from sneaky and alcoholic bite. The arrangement of flavors is a bit difficult to follow, these same flavors of the nose continue to develop in the mouth and the finish is a little confusing with notes of wet green grass, black pepper and sea salt. General is still generally sweet and very cereal. This whiskey draws a little in all directions and the guideline is hard to follow. But hey, a Caol Ila unpeated definitely offers a beautiful picture out of the ordinary in the Islay whiskey landscape.

Patrick 78%
Thank you Caol Ila for pumping most of your whiskeys. Because I love your peaty whiskeys, as much as those who are not repellent me. Nose: Fragrance of wet cereals a little past date, but still sweet. Taste: Beautiful tasty spices, a ton of sweet cereals, but always this little side of past wet cereals date ... Final: Stretches on past cereals date.

Caol Ila 17 years Unpeated

55.9% alc./vol.
1997-2015

Patrick 76%
Weird ... To drink this Scotch, we understand instantly why we chose to put forward the peat versions of this distillery. To try for curiosity only: We will buy a shot in a pub, but never a full bottle. Nose: After drinking a regular shot of 12, this whiskey seems extraordinarily sweet and fruity, almost like candy. Palate: Here again, the fruit and the sugar. The whole is accompanied by a strange vanilla and notes of fresh and spicy oak, salt, citrus notes and seaweed. In short, a little anything. Finish: Long and carried by notes of citrus and seaweed offering a rather weird feeling in the mouth.

Caol Ila 18 years old

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Green peat. Nose differs a little from my expectations, but the taste is really different. Really weird, I do not know if I like it or not. You must "feel" for; Intriguing. But the 12 is definitely better and more complex.

RV 82%
Peat green, salty, sweet in the finish. Odd indeed. Iron? Metallic? I do not know whether I love or I love. The 12 years is really better.

Patrick 84%
Green! Barley, salty, iodized; spicy, leafy, a little salt.

Caol Ila 18 years unpeated (2017 Edition)

59.8% alc./vol.
Distilled at Caol Ila, one of eight distilleries active on Islay, this single malt bottled at the natural level is the twelfth limited edition of Caol Ila unpeated. From a vintage produced once a year, from unpeated malt, for "Highland" type blends. Distilled in 1998, this is the oldest Caol Ila age account in this range. Aged in hogshead of American oak of second filling.

André 85%
Nose: Pears, citrus, pineapple, vanilla, some peat, maritime and beefy and very on the bourbon cask. The palate is frank, we feel a lot of the influences of the bourbon cask; citrus fruits, lemon, pears pears, big vanilla, cooked green apple pie, a little sea salt and black pepper. A touch of smoke, intriguing because it's an unpeated version. Final a little too edgy, citrus and orange, of good length with a retro-olfaction of spices and black licorice. Interesting but not in my aromatic palette.

Patrick 87%
One of the best "unpeated" Caol Ila I have had. That being said, I recommend it for curiosity, because in the style of flavors, I prefer a Glenmorangie Astar. Nose: Very discreet and light fragrance, marked by cereals, a little vanilla, citrus and a little sawdust. Palate: Gives me the impression of biting into a well-dried hardwood board! Then, the "plate" leaves us notes of citrus and discrete spices. And smoke very very very subtle. Final: A little short and woody.

English EN Français FR

A.D. Rattray Caol Ila 13 ans Sherry Cask

60.5% alc./vol.

André 89.5%
Nez franc et asséché, ne niant pas ses origines maritimes et tourbées mais demeurant un peu indéfini tant qu’elle n’ouvre pas la bouche. Elle a bien un accent mais a bien su assimiler son affinage en fût de sherry, un peu discret au nez mais plus présent en bouche. Superbement voluptueuse affichant un p’tit côté animal et fruité, menant à la finale aux saveurs maritimes et phénoliques.

Patrick 90%
Nez de rubber brûlé et bacon. Aussi une belle vanille pour bien marier le tout. En bouche, la vanille, la tourbe puis la fumée… Le tout est tout de même très vivifiant. Rappelle à Pierre-Luc un risotto aux champignons? En tout cas, une petite tonne de sel. Comme le dit Émilie, on dirait un feu de grève! En finale, le sel s’étire pour notre plus grand plaisir. Un superbe whisky, très bien équilibré, dommage que la bouteille soit déjà vide.

RV 92%
Meilleur que la somme de ses parties, ce n’est pas un bon Coal Ila: c’est un excellent Islay, point à la ligne. Du beau Islay olfactif ca! Appétissante la belle balance entre la tourbe et le sel, ancrée dans une pointe de terre maritime. En bouche, alcool obligeant, après le sel la chaleur s’installe et ne quitte pas avant la gorge. Toutefois, a cette étage, c’est la tourbe puissante d’Ardbeg qui se transforme dans une belle suite se concluant en coulant doucement dans les algues. Pour un jeune 13 ans, fait preuve d’une belle maturité et variété.

Adelphi Selection Caol Ila 12 ans

58.1% alc./vol.
Distillé en 2003, embouteillé en 2015, 285 bouteilles, chêne espagnol, ex-fûts de xérès.

André 90.5%
Belle tourbe enrobant une poignée de fruits séchés, poivre noir moulu, bacon, suie de cheminée et asphalte chaude tombant de la benne ouverte du camion 10 roues. La bouche étonne par sa douceur et les saveurs sont bien variées et se présentent en montée crescendo. Douces au départ avec la vanille crémeuse et le chocolat noir, puis le poivre moulu et les épices des Caraïbes plus musclées précédent le bitume fraichement passé au rouleau compresseur et le feu de plage mourant dans la brise matinale. Notes ténues de sherry et de fruits secs. On a même droit à quelques soupirs de camphre en finale de bouche qui se mélangent avec la suie de cheminée et la tourbe maritime. Wow, du solide comme présentation.

Patrick 94%
Le meilleur Caol Ila que j’aie jamais goûté, présentant une belle complexité équilibrée à merveille pour permettre à chaque composante de s’exprimer à merveille. Nez : Fumée de tourbe et algues marines, vanille, chêne et quelques succulents fruits. Bouche : Sel intense, tourbe, poivre, épices et puissant chêne avec une touche de vanille. Le tout demeure enveloppé par les algues. Finale : Longue et savoureuse.

Caol Ila 12 ans

43% alc./vol.
Single malt tourbé de l’île d’Islay. Caol Ila est le nom gaélique du “Sound of Islay”, le bras de mer qui sépare l’île d’Islay de sa voisine, Juara, dans l’une des régions les plus sauvages de la côte occidentale écossaise.

André 87%
Superbe. Dommage qu’on ait pas accès si souvent à leurs produits car ils sont de vraiment bonne qualité. Peaty, fumé et complètement Islay ! Wow !

Patrick 91%
Au nez, fumée, tourbe, wow! Au goût, Wow! Ca c’est pourquoi j’aime le whisky! Fumé, tourbé, un peu épicé, le tout se combinant admirablement bien. Attention, on a tendance à le boire trop vite! De loin le meilleur rapport qualité prix pour Caol Ila. 2eme tasting: 88%: 2ème dégustation : Nez : Tourbe. Goût : Tourbe, fumée, fraises en gelée! Finale marquée de tourbe, de légères épices, de fruits et de fumée. Simple, efficace, idéal au bord du feu l’été.

RV 87.5%
Comme le décolleté d’une belle fille mal pourvue; toujours agréable à considérer, mais souffre d’un manque de profondeur. Tourbe et jus de raie. L’arrivée est assez nulle, un peu crasseuse, mais un peu comme PC6 peat peat peat peat… et encore?

Caol Ila 12 ans Fèis Ìle 2017

55.8% alc./vol.
Double Matured in Amoroso cask wood – 1500 bouteilles

André 93.5%
Wow, quel nez… Fruits rouges, fumée industrielle, asphalte, sel de mer, poivre noir concassé, agrumes, fruits de mer. L’arrivée de bouche est très souple, les saveurs sont amples et intenses, bol de fruits sauvages, poivre noir et sel de mer, tourbe industrielle, agrumes, écorse de pomme rouge. Le mélange de fruits rouges très doux et sucrés contraste agréablement avec le tourbe animale et industrielle et le puissant poivre mais au final tout s’équilibre admirablement. La finale est longue, soutenu et très poivrée. La rétro-olfaction est sucrée avec une toile de tourbe en background… J’adore!!!!!!!!!!!!

Patrick 89%
Tous les ingrédients pour réussir un whisky y sont, mais avec une trop grande pointe de chêne brûlé. Nez : Fruits couverts de sucre blanc et de vanille, avec une belle dose de charbon fumé. Bouche : Fruits fumés, épices, chêne brûlé, poivre et charbon… Finale : D’une belle longueur, marquée intensément par la fumée, les épices et une belle note fruitée.

Caol Ila 14 ans Unpeated

59.3% alc./vol.
Édition spéciale de 2012 limitée à 5958 bouteilles.

André 86.5%
Un Caol Ila des plus inusuels. Salade de fruits, fruits exotiques, citron et agrumes. Il y a 20% d’alcool de caché quelque part car le nez n’en démontre aucune traces. Poires nappées de vanille et un fumé-brûlé lointain. En bouche, les oranges sont apparues de nulle part, quelques notes de fruits rouges et de fruits tropicaux divers. Rétro-olfaction de d’agrumes citronnés. L’alcool frappe pas mal fort en bouche, ça étonne un peu après le nez si docile. La finale est longue et poivrée, l’alcool est bien présent mais adouci par les notes de fruits tropicaux.

Patrick 91%
Des raisins confits, de la vanille et des pêches s’échappent du verre. En bouche, un beau vin blanc fruité, avec raisin et vanille. En finale, le vin blanc s’étire sur une discrète note épicée. Globalement parfait, j’en veux plus!

Caol Ila 15 ans 1998-2014 Unpeated

60.39% alc./vol.

André 87%
Déstabilisant un Caol Ila présenté de cette manière. Beaucoup d’influences du fût de bourbon, le nez est crémeux et enjôleur, céréales dorées, un brin d’agrume, léger toasted caramélisé. Après un 10 minutes à respirer, fortes notes de chocolat. Sans être super variée, la qualité de la présentation est irréprochable. La bouche est hyper soyeuse, on ne devinerait pas le taux d’alcool à l’aveugle. Céréales Honeycomb, miel, vanille baignant dans de douces épices bien relevées, sensation huileuse et étranges saveurs rappelant la morte de tourbe avec une couche d’herbe verte tout juste tondue. La finale est étonnamment douce pour un si puissant taux d’alcool. Les notes de chocolats aux amandes reviennent aussi au-dessus de la mêlée et aident à adoucir l’ensemble de l’alcool. Malgré une grande qualité de présentation et une texture hors de l’ordinaire, le manque de variété des saveurs présentées amputera ce whisky de quelques précieux points.

Patrick 79%
Impressionnant de voir à quel point ils ont réussi à enlever toute la saveur du whisky (et pas seulement la fumée de tourbe)! Heureusement qu’il a été embouteillé à la force du fût car autrement, on aurait eu de la difficulté à l distinguer d’un verre d’eau sale. Nez : Malt, air marin, l’ensemble est très doux et sucré. Bouche : Caramel salé, chili et herbes. Plutôt léger, et sans grande personnalité. Finale : Courte et sans relief.

Caol Ila 15 ans 2001-2016 Unpeated

61.5% alc./vol.

André 82%
Je dois avouer que j’avais un avis défavorable après avoir lu la review de Pat, qui, habituellement, avouons-le, note plus haut que moi. Alors j’ai tenté de mettre ça de côté et de faire ma propre opinion. Le nez est un peu anasthésié, belles nuances de caramel Écossais et de vanille crémeuse, céréales maltées, agrumes, pommes vertes, herbe verte mouillée, background salé et maritime. Avec le taux d’alcool de plus de 60%, il serait justifié de s’attendre à se faire ramasser par un camion 10 roues d’alcool mais… nope, l’onctuosité et le côté très gras du whisky enrobe la bouche qui est protégée de façon étonnante de la morsure sournoise et alcoolisée. L’agencement de saveurs est un peu difficile à suivre, ces mêmes saveurs du nez continuent à se développer en bouche et la finale est un peu déroutante avec des notes d’herbe verte mouillée, de poivre noir et de sel de mer. Le canevas général est tout de même généralement sucré et très céréalier. Ce whisky tire un peu dans toutes les directions et la ligne directrice est difficile à suivre. Mais bon, un Caol Ila unpeated offre définitivement une belle picture hors norme dans le paysage des whiskies d’Islay.

Patrick 78%
Merci Caol Ila de tourber la plupart de vos whiskys. Car autant j’aime vos whiskys tourbés, autant ceux qui ne le sont pas me rebutent. Nez : Parfum de céréales mouillées un peu passées date,mais tout de même sucrées. Bouche: De belles épices savoureuses, une tonne de céréales sucrées, mais toujours ce petit côté de céréales mouillées passées date… Finale: S’étire sur les céréales passées date.

Caol Ila 17 ans Unpeated

55.9% alc./vol.
1997-2015

Patrick 76%
Weird… A boire ce scotch, on comprends instantanément pourquoi on a choisi de mettre de l’avant les versions tourbées de cette distillerie. A essayer pour la curiosité seulement : On en achètera une shot dans un pub, mais jamais une pleine bouteille. Nez : Après avoir bu une shot de 12 ans régulier, ce whisky semble extraordinairement sucré et fruité, presque comme du bonbon. Bouche : Ici encore, le fruit et le sucre. Le tout est accompagné par une vanille étrange et des notes de chêne frais et épicé, du sel, des notes d’agrumes et des algues. Bref, un peu n’importe quoi. Finale : Longue et portée par des notes d’agrumes et d’algues offrant un feeling plutôt bizarre en bouche.

Caol Ila 18 ans

43% alc./vol.

André 84%
Peat vert. Nez différent un peu de mes attentes, mais le goût est vraiment différent. Vraiment bizarre, je sais pas si je l’aime ou pas. Faut que tu “feel” pour; Intriguant. Mais le 12 est définitivement meilleur et plus complexe.

RV 82%
Peat vert, salé, sucré en finale. Bizarre en effet. Fer? Métallique? Je ne sais pais si j’aime ou j’hais. Le 12 ans est vraiment meilleur.

Patrick 84%
Vert! Barley, salé, iodé; épicé, feuillu, un peu de sel.

Caol Ila 18 ans unpeated (Edition 2017)

59.8% alc./vol.
Distillé à Caol Ila, l’une des huit distilleries en activité sur Islay, ce single malt embouteillé au degré naturel est la douzième édition limitée de Caol Ila non tourbé. Issu d’une cuvée produite une fois par an, à partir de malt non tourbé, destiné aux blends de type “Highland”. Distillée en 1998, c’est le plus ancien compte d’âge de Caol Ila dans cette gamme. Vieilli en hogshead de chêne américain de second remplissage.

André 85%
Nez: Poires, citrus, ananas, vanille, un peu de tourbe, maritime et costaud et très sur le bourbon cask. La bouche est franche, on ressent beaucoup les influences du fût de bourbon; agrumes, citron, poires pêches, grosse vanille, tarte aux pomme vertes cuite, un peu de sel de mer et de poivre noir. Petite touche de fumée, intrigante car c’est une version unpeated. Finale un peu trop edgy, agrumes et oranges, de bonne longueur avec une rétro-olfaction d’épices et de réglisse noire. Intéressant mais pas dans ma palette aromatique.

Patrick 87%
L’un des meilleurs “unpeated” de Caol Ila que j’aie eu. Ceci étant dit, je le recommande pour la curiosité, car dans le style de saveurs, j’y préfère un Glenmorangie Astar. Nez : Parfum très discret et léger, marqué par les céréales, un peu de vanille, des agrumes et un peu de sciure de bois. Bouche : Me donne l’impression de mordre dans une planche de bois franc bien séchée! Puis, la “planche” nous laisse des notes d’agrumes et de discrètes épices. Et de la fumée très très très subtile. Finale : Un peu courte et boisée.

English EN Français FR