Bruichladdich 10 years old (old traffic jam)

46% alc./vol.
Far from other major groups ruling the world of whiskey, this distillery can indeed pride itself on belonging to a small circle of private individuals. Built in 1881 by Robert, William and John Gourlay Harvey, the distillery was rebuilt in 1886, took the form of Bruichladdich Distillery Co. Ltd., but still remained under the direction of the same family. 1929 put 1937 to sleep and was bought by Joseph Hobbs who took advantage of the growing demand for whiskey in the US market. Redeemed late 2000 by the current owners: Mark Reynier, Simon Coughlin (formerly Murray McDavid) and Gordon Wright (formerly Springbank), the stimulus was overseen by Jim Mc Ewan. Dismantled and repaired, the production unit, some elements of which dated from its creation, allowed to distil again from 2001.

André 88.5%
Does the nose smell really good, passion fruit, oranges, zesty? Not very representative of Islay but more than pleasant. One of my favorite versions of Bruichladdich. Simple but effective. Simple is beautiful! We ask for more.

RV 80.5%
Low salted juices in oak and cedar bark, with a Duncan HInes cake mix. Very nutty in the mouth gold it lacks a little length in the final. When he gets older, the vinous expresses himself more but hides what is most subtle. Okay, nothing more.

Patrick 88%
Very saline, slight sherry. Brown sugar. Green banana. Conifers. Citrus.

Bruichladdich 10 years old (new traffic jam)

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 84%
Fresh, lively. To taste, fruity, "zesty", fresh and lively. Although I do not find what I'm looking for in an Islay malt, it is a very high quality malt. However, Bruichladdich's price / quality ratio is still lacking, probably because of their significant marketing efforts. Nevertheless, a well-stocked collection must contain a Bruichladdich.

Bruichladdich 12 years old (old traffic jam)

46% alc./vol.

RV 82%
Really sweet on the nose, with vanilla but little or no peat, but it deserves to breathe a little. The finish is warm and honeyed, and develops slowly with a little ash fallen on an old carpet a little wet. The finish is a little soporific, and makes me think of a blend. Ok if I feel a bit tired and do not want to be challenged.

Patrick 90%
Nose: Vanilla and butter, with oak and exotic fruits. Palate: Salt and spices, then ripe oak and vanilla fruits. Final: Long and warm. Balance: Wow, I understand why I finished the bottle so fast. What happiness! What complexity! What a balance! I love.

Bruichladdich 12 years old (new traffic jam)

46.25% alc./vol.

André 87.5%
Very fruity green grapes, creamy vanilla, cold butter. Sweeter in the mouth, a good wave of grapes accompanied by a floral tip. Very sweet and really refreshing. Finely peated finish, with a return on the omnipresent grapes.

RV 82%
Even on the quiet side of Islay is an instrumental piece that gets lost in the air. First of all with butter and flower, there is no surprise, neither good nor bad. At least, a slightly peated taste with floral lily accents marks a brief presence, both in the mouth and aftertaste. Nothing remarkable, but at least it goes well.

Patrick 90%
On the nose, fruits, barley and oak trying to hide a small maritime side. In the mouth however, the first thing that strikes us is the salt, then the brine, which evolves to a flavor reminiscent of a fish broth of a delicious Asian soup. Barley and a hint of grapes remind us effectively that it is not a soup but a very good Scotch! The set has a nice oily texture that allows to extend the final, which is quite salty, to the point of encouraging us to take a sip more to quench our thirst! A superb scotch, well balanced, offering a beautiful set of flavors and which is simply pleasant to drink in all circumstances, my bottle too quickly emptied.

Bruichladdich 15 years old

46% alc./vol.
This cold unfiltered single malt aged in bourbon casks has been refined in casks containing one of the most famous Sauternes wines. A subtle Bruichladdich, surprisingly smoked. The slight pungency of the peat smoke agrees perfectly with the noble rot (botrytis cinerea) of the grapes. An official version bottled on the island of Islay.

André 85%
More saline than the 10 years of age, oranges have continued their way throughout the 5 extra years of ripening but have now evolved on tangerines. Everything is now accompanied by a taste of fir gum bubbles and conifers, the smell of a damp undergrowth where the soil is covered with pine needles and fir trees. The finish is fruity with a return on citrus and salty pears but the aftertaste is disappointing because of its slight acidity.

RV 82.5%
Hoop barrel rusty and vanilla. Pecans and sawdust of spruce saw with a wave of gas mouthwash mixed with too much oil. On the palate it's a kind of sweet linseed oil. A much better aftertaste than his younger sister, well supported with a return on the sawdust. Ok But bad value for money.

Patrick 84%
On the nose, salt barley. To taste, a little salt, spices, unsweetened cocoa. A very good malt. Saline and sailor, but it looks more like a malt from the coast of Scotland than from Islay. In summary, spices (pepper), salt and malt.

Bruichladdich 16 years Bourbon Cask Finish

46% alc./vol.
Matured in bourbon casks from the Jim Beam Distillery and refined in barrels from the Buffalo Trace Distillery, this edition of Bruichladdich celebrates the 75th anniversary of the abolition of American Prohibition.

André 85.5%
Very fresh, strongly sweet and vanilla. Fruity to perfection. Banana Split with vanilla ice cream, spices. Quite singular but the nose is so promising that even the magnitude of what delivers the mouth disappoints. A bottle to have in his collection, but also that we would like to have paid $ 25 cheaper. A start on the road but a sprinter who does not make the weight in a long distance marathon.

RV 80.5%
Not far from the normal Bruichlabich (although it is increasingly difficult to know what an original Bruichladdich is) a touch more relaxed than usual, with a taste reminiscent of the Bourbon Arran Cask. Sweet on the palate, the taste is little changed and disappoints after the nose. By cons, good final.

Bruichladdich 16 years Cuvée A - Château Lafite Finish

46% alc./vol.

RV 80.5%
A choir where we let the tone of the barrel soloist bury the voices of the choir. Very powerful nose of unripe cherries and very shallow peat bottom. The palate is more tame, but the sour cherry makes the whole uneven. In the end hay and spices explode leaving an aftertaste quite ordinary, despite a nice heat of alcohol. A correct product but far from being in my tastes, with a finish that harms the base that is capable of better.

Patrick 90%
On the nose, through the expected fruity and malty notes, a delicate aroma of hazelnuts surprises us. In the mouth, the words "suave" and "warm" spontaneously come to mind. Very vinous, with a touch of salt and steak spices ... I will also test it with a good filet mignon cooked on the BBQ this summer. An excellent whiskey refined in an excellent barrel for a very satisfactory result! I imagine very well to abuse on a hot summer evening!

Bruichladdich 16 years Cuvée C - Château Margaux Finish

46% alc./vol.

André 90.5%
First thing that catches our eye once the glass is well filled is the color of rosé wine, a mixture of peach and rose. Quite unusual in a single malt. The discovery continues on the nose; flagrances of bunches of grapes freshly picked, light spices. In the mouth, it is delivered with a "complex simplicity", very vinous but without the tannins of these. The surprise is total; a whiskey with the smell and taste of wine and grapes. All is still quite linear until the final, enhanced by a slightly higher alcohol content, allowing a nice retro-olfaction without abruptness but still offers a lot of presence in the mouth. The beauty of the experience lies in the novelty brought and the singularity of it. A nice compromise that will perhaps bring together, as much fans of single malts as oenologists around a good drink, creating beautiful heated discussions on their favorite spirits.

RV 84%
Very very nice nose, but a beauty that reveals a problem grime once the hood open. Rum and sugar cane, moderately sweet and almost burnt orange. The citrus continues in the mouth but suddenly a wave of repellent grapes takes hold of the final and the aftertaste.

Patrick 91%
Vinous, sweet, sweet. Green grapes. Relatively simple, but incredibly effective. Swedish raspberry and blackberry sweets. Dry out your mouth, which is not unpleasant. Will convince the novice as much as the connoisseur. A whiskey that I would gladly abuse.

Bruichladdich 16 years Cuvée E - Château Yquem Sauternes Finish

46% alc./vol.

André 87%
Again this beautiful pink-peach color. Again, this wine fruity nose, grapes and a nice vanilla. More frank and dry in the mouth than the vintage C Margaux, which unfortunately shortens its final or rather that dries up its final. In the line of Margaux, very vinous but less persistence in the mouth, which makes him lose some feathers for its final too steep. Nice but my heart leans for the Margaux finish.

RV 82%
A good warm bread, but we forget easily once the meal is over. Vanilla and beautiful olfactory sweetness. Superb roundness but seems to remain muted. The length also lacks vigor.

Patrick 88%
Barley sugar on the nose. To taste, the sugar explodes and leaves fruit aromas in its wake. Heat effect very nice, but cut a bit too fast in the final.

Bruichladdich 17 years 1992 PX

46% alc./vol.
2 Series, 1992 Distilled, 2009 Bottled, 5743 6000 Bottle

André 89%
Sherry a little winey, notes of fruit paste and berries, fruit cake, hot honey and melted sugar. Dates and raisins, dusty figs. In the mouth, the whiskey is soft and approachable, it makes me think a little Macallan (old version). Sherry is greedy and sweet, a lot of sugar cane and caramel. Flavors of dates and raisins, fruit cake with a spicy finish with diplomacy sprinkled with sea salt. The aromatic palette of this whiskey is certainly limited but the quality of the presentation is beyond doubt. The sherry lover in me is happy.

Patrick 89%
Nose: sherry, ripe fruit and brown sugar. Palate: Brown sugar, warm wine ... OMG! Did I mention "warm wine"? Wow, a nice vinous wave warm and sweet. Final: Long, intense and warm. Libra: In fact, so warm and intense that I would recommend for parties where you do not want to take more than one dram. In short, I like, but in small doses. A bit like a succulent dish a little fat: Just thinking about it saliva, but if it is abused, it will be on the heart for a few days.

Martin 91%
Deep red orange, almost a mix between the strawberry Fruitopia and his colleague orange. Nose: All the typical notes of a sherry cask jump right in the nose, with a bonus of a kind of mulled wine of the holiday season. Brown sugar and berries. Small leather strap. Palate: Beautiful and sweet wave of hot salted caramel, subtly accompanied by leather, tobacco leaf and incense, teak wood aroma. Fruit salad and iced tea. Sublime. Final: Once we are caught, the final refuses to give up. It is here that the peat of Bruichladdich comes to pierce the thick cloud of the influence of sherry. Balance: A dram for special occasions. The "foie gras" of Islay Single Malts. Decadent to the extreme, maybe even too much ...

English EN Français FR

Bruichladdich 10 ans (ancien embouteillage)

46% alc./vol.
Loin des autres grands groupes régnant sur le monde du whisky, cette distillerie peut en effet s’enorgueillir d’appartenir à un petit cercle de personnes privées. Bâtie en 1881 par Robert, William et John Gourlay Harvey, la distillerie fut reconstruite en 1886, prit la forme de Bruichladdich Distillery Co. Ltd., mais resta encore sous la direction de la même famille. Mise en sommeil de 1929 à 1937, elle fut rachetée par Joseph Hobbs qui profita de la progression de la demande de whisky sur le marché américain. Rachetée fin 2000 par les propriétaires actuels : Mark Reynier, Simon Coughlin (ex Murray McDavid) et Gordon Wright (ex Springbank), l’opération de relance fut supervisée par Jim Mc Ewan. Démontée et réparée, l’unité de production dont certains éléments dataient de sa création, permit de distiller à nouveau dès 2001.

André 88.5%
Le nez sent vraiment bon, fruits de la passion, oranges, zesty? Pas très représentatif d’Islay mais plus qu’agréable. Une de mes versions préférées de Bruichladdich. Simple mais efficace. Simple is beautiful ! On en redemande.

RV 80.5%
Jus de bas salés dans des écorces de chêne et de cèdre, avec un fond de préparation à gâteau Duncan HInes. Très noisette en bouche or il manque un peu de longueur en finale. Quand il vieillit, le vineux s’exprime davantage mais dissimule ce qu’il a de plus subtil. Bien correct, sans plus.

Patrick 88%
Très salin, léger xérès. Cassonade. Banane verte. Conifères. Agrumes.

Bruichladdich 10 ans (nouvel embouteillage)

46% alc./vol.

Patrick 84%
Frais, vif. Au goût, fruité, “zesty”, frais et vif. Malgré que je n’y retrouve pas ce que je recherche dans un malt d’Islay, il s’agit d’un malt de très grande qualité. Toutefois, le rapport qualité/prix de Bruichladdich laisse toujours à désirer, probablement à cause de leur importants efforts marketing. Malgré tout ca, une collection bien garnie se doit de contenir un Bruichladdich.

Bruichladdich 12 ans (ancien embouteillage)

46% alc./vol.

RV 82%
Vraiment doux au nez, avec de la vanille mais peu ou pas de tourbe, mais il mérite de respirer un peu. L’arrivée est chaude et mielleuse, et se développe lentement avec un peu de cendre tombée sur un vieux tapis un peu humide. La finale est un peu soporifique, et me fait penser à un blend. Ok si je me sens fatigué un peu et que je ne désire pas être challengé.

Patrick 90%
Nez : Vanille et beurre, avec du chêne et des fruits exotiques. Bouche : Sel et épices, puis fruits mûrs chêne et vanille. Finale : Longue et chaleureuse. Balance : Wow, je comprends pourquoi j’ai fini la bouteille aussi vite. Quel bonheur! Quelle complexité! Quel équilibre! J’aime.

Bruichladdich 12 ans (nouvel embouteillage)

46.25% alc./vol.

André 87.5%
Très fruité raisins verts, vanille crémeuse, beurre froid. Plus sucré en bouche, une bonne vague de raisins accompagnés d’une pointe florale. Très doux et vraiment rafraichissant. Finale finement tourbée, avec un retour sur les omniprésents raisins.

RV 82%
Même du côté calme d’Islay c’est une pièce instrumentale qui se perd dans l’air. Tout d’abord avec du beurre et de la fleur, il n’y a pas de surprise, ni bonne ni mauvaise. Au moins, un goût légèrement tourbé aux accents fleuris de lys marque une brève présence, autant en bouche qu’en aftertaste. Rien de remarquable, mais au moins ça passe bien.

Patrick 90%
Au nez, fruits, orge et chêne qui tentent de cacher un petit côté maritime. En bouche toutefois, la première chose qui nous frappe est le sel, puis la saumure, qui évolue vers une saveur rappelant un bouillon de poisson d’une délicieuse soupe asiatique. L’orge et une touche de raisin nous rappellent toutefois efficacement qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une soupe mais bien d’un très bon scotch! L’ensemble présente une belle texture huileuse qui permet de prolonger la finale, qui est passablement salée, au point de nous encourager à prendre une gorgée de plus pour nous désaltérer! Un superbe scotch, bien équilibré, offrant un bel ensemble de saveurs et qui est simplement agréable à boire en toutes circonstances, ma bouteille trop rapidement vidée en faisant foi.

Bruichladdich 15 ans

46% alc./vol.
Ce single malt non filtré à froid vieilli en fût de bourbon a été affiné dans des fûts ayant contenu l’un des plus célèbres vins de Sauternes. Un Bruichladdich subtil, étonnamment fumé. La légère âcreté de la fumée de tourbe s’accorde parfaitement avec la pourriture noble, (botrytis cinerea), du raisin. Une version officielle embouteillée sur l’île d’Islay.

André 85%
Plus salin que le 10 ans d’âge, les oranges ont poursuivi leur chemin tout au long du 5 ans supplémentaire de maturation mais ont maintenant évolué sur les tangerines. Le tout est maintenant accompagné d’un goût de bulles de gomme de sapin et de conifères, l’odeur d’un sous bois quelque peu humide où le sol est recouvert d’aiguilles de pins et de sapins. La finale est fruitée avec un retour sur les agrumes et les poires salées mais l’aftertaste est décevant par sa légère acidité.

RV 82.5%
Cerceau de tonneau rouillé et vanillé. Pacanes et bran de scie d’épinette avec une vague de boucane de gaz mixé avec trop d’huile. En bouche c’est un genre d’huile de lin sucré. Un bien meilleur aftertaste que sa jeune sœur, bien soutenu avec un retour sur le bran de scie. Ok Mais mauvais rapport qualité prix.

Patrick 84%
Au nez, l’orge salin. Au goût, un peu de sel, des épices, du cacao non sucré. Un très bon malt. Salin et marin, mais on dirait plus un malt de la côte de l’Écosse que d’Islay. En résumé, épices (poivre), sel et malt.

Bruichladdich 16 ans Bourbon Cask Finish

46% alc./vol.
Mûri dans des fûts de bourbon de la distillerie Jim Beam et affiné dans des fûts de la distillerie Buffalo Trace, cette édition de Bruichladdich célèbre le 75eme anniversaire de l’abolition de la Prohibition américaine.

André 85.5%
Très frais, fortement sucré et vanillé. Fruité à souhait. Banana Split avec crème glacée à la vanille, épices. Assez singulier mais le nez est tellement prometteur que même l’ampleur de ce que livre la bouche déçoit. Une bouteille à avoir dans sa collection, mais aussi que l’on aimerait avoir payé 25$ moins cher. Un départ sur les chapeaux de roues mais un sprinter qui ne fait pas le poid lors d’un marathon longue distance.

RV 80.5%
Pas très loin du Bruichlabitch normal (quoiqu’il est de plus en plus difficile de savoir c’est quoi un Bruichladdich original) une touche plus détendue qu’à l’habituel, avec un goût qui n’est pas sans rappeler le Arran Bourbon Cask. Mielleux en bouche, le gout en est peu changé et déçoit après le nez. Par contre, bonne finale.

Bruichladdich 16 ans Cuvée A – Château Lafite Finish

46% alc./vol.

RV 80.5%
Une chorale où on laisse le ton du soliste de baril enterrer les vois du chœur. Nez très puissant de cerises pas encore mûres et fond très peu profond de tourbe. La bouche est davantage apprivoisée, mais la cerise acerbe rend l’ensemble inégal. En finale le foin et les épices explosent en laissant un aftertaste somme toute ordinaire, malgré une belle chaleur d’alcool. Un produit correct mais loin d’être dans mes goûts, avec une finition qui nuit à la base qui est capable de mieux.

Patrick 90%
Au nez, au travers des notes fruitées et maltées attendues, un délicat arôme de noisettes vient nous surprendre. En bouche, les mots “suave” et “chaleureux” nous viennent spontanément à l’esprit. Très vineux, avec une touche de sel et d’épices à steak… Il me faudra d’ailleurs le tester en compagnie d’un bon filet mignon cuit sur le BBQ cet été. Un excellent whisky affiné dans un excellent fût pour un résultat très satisfaisant! Je m’imagine très bien en abuser lors d’une chaude soirée d’été!

Bruichladdich 16 ans Cuvée C – Château Margaux Finish

46% alc./vol.

André 90.5%
Première chose qui attire notre attention une fois le verre bien rempli, c’est cette couleur de vin rosé, mélange de pêche et de rose. Assez inusité chez un single malt. La découverte se poursuit au nez; des flagrances de grappes de raisins fraichement cueillies, de légères épices. En bouche, il se livre avec une “complexe simplicité”, très vineux mais sans les tannins de ceux-ci. La surprise est totale; un whisky à l’odeur et au goût de vin et de raisins. L’ensemble est tout de même assez linéaire jusqu’à la finale, rehaussée d’un taux d’alcool légèrement plus élevé, permettant une belle rétro-olfaction sans brusquerie mais qui offre tout de même beaucoup de présence en bouche. La beauté de l’expérience réside dans la nouveauté apportée et dans la singularité de celle-ci. Un beau compromis qui réunira peut-être, autant les amateurs de single malts que les œnologues autour d’un bon verre, créant de belles discussions enflammées sur leur spiritueux préféré.

RV 84%
Très très joli nez, mais une beauté qui dévoile un problème crasse une fois le capot ouvert. Rhum et canne à sucre, orange moyennement sucrée et quasi-brûlée. L’agrume se poursuit en bouche mais soudainement une vague de raisin répulsive s’empare de la finale et de l’aftertaste.

Patrick 91%
Vineux, sucré, doux. Raisins verts. Relativement simple, mais incroyablement efficace. Bonbons aux framboises et mûres suédoises. Assèche un peu la bouche, ce qui n’est pas désagréable. Saura convaincre le novice autant que le connaisseur. Un whisky dont j’abuserais volontiers.

Bruichladdich 16 ans Cuvée E – Château Yquem Sauternes Finish

46% alc./vol.

André 87%
Encore une fois cette superbe couleur rose-pêche. De nouveau, ce fruité du vin au nez, les raisins et un bel apport vanillé. Plus franc et sec en bouche que la cuvée C Margaux, ce qui écourte malheureusement sa finale ou plutôt qui assèche sa finale. Dans la ligné du Margaux, très vineux mais moins de persistance en bouche, ce qui lui fait perdre quelques plumes pour sa finale trop abrupte. Agréable mais mon cœur penche pour le Margaux finish.

RV 82%
Un bon pain chaud, mais qu’on oublie facilement une fois le repas terminé. Vanille et belle douceur olfactive. Superbe rondeur mais semble demeurer en sourdine. La longueur manque aussi de vigueur.

Patrick 88%
Sucre d’orge au nez. Au goût, le sucre explose et laisse des arômes de fruits dans son sillage. Effet de chaleur très agréable, mais qui coupe un peu trop vite en finale.

Bruichladdich 17 ans 1992 PX

46% alc./vol.
Série 2, distillé en 1992, embouteillé en 2009, bouteille 5743 de 6000

André 89%
Sherry un peu vineux, notes de pâte de fruits et de petits fruits des champs, gâteau aux fruits, miel chaud et sucre fondu. Dattes et raisins secs, figues poussiéreuses. En bouche, le whisky est doux et approchable, ça me fait un peu penser à un Macallan (ancienne version). Le sherry est goulu et doux, beaucoup de canne à sucre et de caramel. Saveurs de dattes et de raisins secs, de gâteau aux fruits avec une finale épicée avec diplomatie saupoudrée de sel de mer. La palette aromatique de ce whisky est certes limitée mais la qualité de la présentation ne fait aucun doute. L’amoureux de sherry en moi est heureux.

Patrick 89%
Nez : Xérès, fruits mûrs et cassonade.  Bouche : Cassonade, vin chaleureux…  OMG!  Ai-je mentionné « vin chaleureux »?  Wow, un belle vague vineuse chaleureuse et sucrée.  Finale : Longue, intense et chaleureuse.  Balance : En fait, tellement chaleureux et intense que je le recommanderais pour les soirées où l’on ne veut pas prendre plus d’un dram.  Bref, j’aime, mais à petite dose.  Un peu comme un succulent plat un peu gras : Juste à y penser on salive, mais si on en abuse, on l’aura sur le cœur pour quelques jours.

Martin 91%
Roux profond hyper-orangé, presqu’un mélange entre le Fruitopia aux fraises et son collègue à l’orange. Nez: Toutes les notes typiques d’un fût de sherry nous sautent au nez, avec en prime un genre de vin chaud du temps des fêtes. Sucre brun et fruits des champs. Petite lanière de cuir. Bouche: Belle et douce vague de chaud caramel salé, accompagné subtilement de cuir, de feuille de tabac et d’encens, arôme bois de teck. Salade de fruits et thé glacé. Sublime. Finale: Une fois qu’on y est pris, la finale refuse de nous abandonner. C’est ici que la tourbe de Bruichladdich vient percer l’épais nuage de l’influence du xérès. Équilibre: Un dram pour les grandes occasions. Le « foie gras » des Islay Single Malts. Décadent à l’extrême, peut-être même trop…

English EN Français FR