Glenmorangie "A Midwinter Night's Dram"

43% alc./vol.

André 87%
Nose with velvety texture but very spicy. Fruit and orange cake, dried grapes, apples. Generously sweet, the mouth is textured and almost reminiscent of some sweet wines, then it really tastes chocolate egg-shaped stuffed with oranges (which I can not remember the name), a touch of dried fruits and sherry, cinnamon, ginger, to which will be added progressively the flavors of apples and pears. Appetizing flavors, greedy and round texture dotted with sparkles of spices. The finish is spicy, the length in the mouth is amazing, the texture is definitely one of the highlights of this whiskey. Unfortunately, the range of flavors will not surprise the taster because from the nose, the majority of flavors simply stretch to the final. An excellent dram, festive and greedy who will not empty your wallet by going to the checkout (70 $), which will leave you more money to buy your Christmas presents!

Patrick 90%
Although it is recommended to drink this Scotch in winter, I think it can be excellent in all seasons! Maybe it's because the coldest Scottish winters look like our spring? Nose: Sweet oranges, caramel, nuts, some vinous notes. Alluring! Mouth: Yum yum! Fruits, chocolate, spices, nuts, butter sweets and a subtle touch of orange. Finish: Long and tasty, marked by orange, wood spices and a touch of chocolate subtle.

Glenmorangie 10 years

40% alc./vol.
The main production is the Glenmorangie single malt whiskey range, which is also used in two of its other products, Bailie Nicol Jarvie and Highland Queen, brands of Scottish blended whiskey.

André 86%
Disarming simplicity and finesse, this fruity and malty single malt carries aromas and aromas ... with a little water, the banana smell is stunning.

Patrick 86%
Spicy nose and rich ... Interesting ... really gives the taste to taste! To taste, the spices, then the sweet malt, which offers an interesting contrast. A good Scotch, excellent value for money.

Glenmorangie 10 years old Cellar 13

43% alc./vol.
The difference between Cellar 13 and Glenmorangie 10 years lies in the cellars where it was matured. Cellar number 13 is the one located at the edge of the sea. It is slightly saltier, more iodized, than the traditional 10 years.

André 87%
Essence of vanilla and almond paste. Liquid finish on notes of toffee, honey and vanilla followed quickly by the fruits (peach and honey melon). The finish is drier but still supported by vanilla and sweet bourbon-like fragrances. Superbly well balanced, apart from its slightly clear finish and its somewhat dry finish but brilliant in its difference from other expressions in the Glenmorangie range. I just love it !

RV 83%
In short. Grain slightly sweet and burnt. In the mouth, development similar to smell, and even if it takes up space, it also looks like it is empty. The right kind of whiskey but for which there is little to write or describe.

Patrick 86%
Dried oak and bourbon touch. To taste, the bourbon seems more present and the oak goes from dried to slightly burned. In the final, the bourbon spices evolve towards a sweet side, to see fruity. Definitely interesting for the oak lovers in their whiskey! The whole is well balanced, and offers a nice evolution of flavors in the mouth.

Glenmorangie 10 years old Original

40% alc./vol.
Glenmorangie uses different types of barrels, but all production is aged in white oak barrels made from trees grown in Glenmorangie's own forest in the Ozark Mountains, Missouri, USA. The new barrels are left in the open for two years before being rented to Jack Daniel's and Heaven Hills distillers for the maturation of their four-year-old bourbon. These casks are then used with the alcohols of the Glenmorangie distillery.

André 86%
A surprise on the whole line for this version of line entry of the distillery, of a flexibility and a big generosity. Pears, peaches and fresh fruit are offered on the nose like stalls full of fresh fruit at the Vieux Port market on a hot summer day. In the final, nectarines and bananas but a slightly steep finish. A safe bet for the price, a very nice single malt.

RV 84%
PVC with frozen grape juice Welch. The fruit has difficulty in disengaging itself in the mouth, hides at the beginning of the final but gradually regains a primordial place in aftertaste, seconded by the barley which is a sidekick in the antipodes. Well designed, a more than adequate base for finishing, but I would have liked it to express itself more by itself.

Patrick 86%
On the nose, mandarins, lemon, apples, pears, and peaches. Ice Cream With Vanilla. Flowers and mint. To taste, creamy vanilla, peaches, mandarins, lemon. Nuts, spices, a little honey. In the final, the sugar of a fruit juice. Delicious, a safe value. Marries beautifully with a French cheese "Château de Bourgogne", which is a triple cream (a kind of intense brie).

Martin 88%
Very golden, I would say even pale honeycomb color. Nose: Honey, spices, caramel, vanilla, dried fruit, nectarine, flowers and traces of smoke. Looks creamy. Palate: Still spices, caramel, honey and vanilla. Notes of perfume, flowers, citrus and smoke. Touch of tiramisu. Very close to the nose. Finish: Woody and sweet, very short, dry and clean. Frankly even. Balance: Safe value. Excellent for initiation to the Highlands. Entry-level expression you can count on. More refined than Glenfiddich 12 and tastier than Glenlivet 12.

Glenmorangie 15 years

43% alc./vol.

André 91%
The nose is generously fruity but it is in the mouth that it delivers us what it has the best. The finish is also fruity with hints of bananas (typical of Glenmorangie again), unsalted almonds and moist white oak. The most surprising is the retro-olfaction which is very bourbon-flavored, sweet, but also powerful on the palate. Worth a lot of 120 $ requested and even for a single malt of 15 years.

Patrick 84%
A slight aroma of barley escapes from the glass with a slight fruity. Did I say light? I should rather say evanescent or ghostly. The delicate and fruity taste, shows a rather feminine sensibility. The kind of femininity that sings in the choir of the parish church. The final marked by juicy red berries is quite long, such as the final note of an Ave Maria who managed to wake us in time for the preaching sermon!

RV 83%
Very fresh vanilla, barley and agave sweet and warm. On the palate it is very green, but blue towards the agave to die quietly, with a decreasing curve a little too abrupt. Intriguing but lacks a bit of pep, as if she seemed to hold his cries. At over $ 100, far from being worth it for a bottle of just 15 years without a striking personality.

Glenmorangie 15 years Sauternes Wood Finish

46% alc./vol.
Old edition. 12 years in barrels of bourbon, then 2 years in casks of Sauternes.

Patrick & Pierre-Luc 89%
On the nose, smell the sugar that has heated in a saucepan and the cantaloupe. On the palate, a sweet and warm sugar with a hint of white grapes and apple honey. In the end, the heat of the sugar stretches for a long time. Less sweet than the 12 years we know today ... Or at least, more intense.

Glenmorangie 18 years (old traffic jam)

43% alc./vol.

André 83%
Not bad more edgy than the new Extremely Rare but the trio tangerine, lemon, orange is really good. Strong presence of bourbon cask (dry wood) with mint and smoked honey. Finer more fruity of a beautiful length. Well crafted but lacks refinement overall.

Patrick 84%
Nose marked by charred oak, citrus fruits, some apples and a touch of flowers and mint. To taste, caramel approach, then mint take more space, but the burnt oak returns in retro-olfaction. The finish stretches for a long time on the heat of burnt oak. The new version is definitely better.

RV 82%
Once again: Boring! Marshmallow and sweets cheap, on the palate it is quite clear but you have to be patient before the wood comes out convincingly. The sequel is in the same genre, unsurprising - even with the usual boredom of too much Glenmorangie. The same kind of usual platitude but with a sweeter nose.

Glenmorangie 18 years old Extremely Rare

43% alc./vol.
A long aging of 15 years in barrels of bourbon then 3 additional years in barrels of Oloroso Sherry.

André 87%
Woody and dry influence, vanilla. The mouth is fresh and spicy continues in the final on a drizzle smoke and a mixture of chocolate rounding everything in the mouth, which is a good thing because the first seconds in the mouth were very frank and tapered.

Patrick 89%
Lime, malt on the nose. Surprising flavor compared to the nose, offering a citrus crescendo and a touch of spice, almost smoke, which tickles the taste buds pleasantly, all married together by vanilla. The final, quite long, disappears slowly by making us discover different citrus fruits such as oranges, lemon, lime, etc. Best with each sip !!

RV 81%
Hard to grasp on the nose, grain and flour for bread, seal oil and peat moss. The baking powder attacks the tongue, but a citrus marmalade takes the place and extends to the final in the middle of a burned hay bale that is watered. Do not taste its age, and despite its beautiful box, its price easily 50 $ too expensive in fact a bottle that is better to stay on the shelves.

Glenmorangie 19 years

43 %% alc./vol.
Glenmorangie 19 is a whiskey aged exclusively in old bourbon casks. The barrels that compose the blend were chosen because of their aromatic freshness and citrus and vegetable notes. Glenmorangie 19 years is available in limited edition in duty free shop.

André 92%
What a superb edition that combines know-how, balance and the backbone of the distillery. The spirit of Glenmorangie, with its fine and sweet flavors allies so well with the bourbon cask. The amateurs of Glenmorangie Original and 18 years will be in known ground; citrus fruits, pears, pineapple, honey melon, apricots, green apples. Ultimate creaminess in the mouth, Bazooka gum powder, light floral, then the mouth confirms the smell of the nose; honey, fruit salad syrup, oranges, pears, honey melon, apricots, peaches, lemon, vanilla. Good dose of sugar, white chocolate, a dessert whiskey! Refreshing finish, fleshy fruits and nice lemony notes and oranges. A disarming simplicity that envelops you and wins you a lot of flavors. My next duty-free purchase!

Glenmorangie 23 years 1963

43% alc./vol.
15 bottle of 50.

André 91%
Fruit paste, figs, raisins, dates, coconut and nuts, furry peaches, caramel. In the mouth, many dates and figs, dried fruits are omnipresent, black cherries, grapes, fruit paste, dark chocolate. Oranges appear after a while, but the chocolate sensation is really unique. Long finish, but incredibly sweet, dark chocolate stuffed with dried fruit and orange. A whiskey unique in its history. I admit that it is difficult to put in context the value of it versus the flavors and the rendering in the mouth. But the overall experience is definitely unique. Guaranteed sensations.

Patrick 93%
An exceptional balance for an exceptional whiskey. It is always difficult to judge such whiskey impartially (when not served blind), but I can say unequivocally that it is an excellent whiskey. Nose: Intense raisins, nuts and a little sawdust. Everything is married together in a rather captivating way that encourages us not to dwell on the perfume that emanates from our glass, to plunge into more wait. Palate: Upon arrival, beautiful spices tickle the tongue, spices that evolve quickly to a rather surprising sweet fruit juice, the latter being wrapped in a surprising hint of salty dark chocolate. Finish: Long and warm, with hints of spicy caramel, orange, dark chocolate and ripe fruit. In short, the perfect finish that makes us almost cry when we see that we just drink the last sip.

English EN Français FR

Glenmorangie “A Midwinter Night’s Dram”

43% alc./vol.

André 87%
Nez à la texture veloutée mais très épicé. Gâteau aux fruits et oranges, raisins séchés, les pommes. Généreusement sucrée, la bouche est texturée et rappelle presque certains vins liquoreux, puis ça goûte réellement le chocolat en forme d’œuf fourré aux oranges (dont je ne me rappelle plus le nom), une touche de fruits secs et de sherry, cannelle, gingembre, auxquelles s’ajouteront progressivement les saveurs de pommes et de poires. Saveurs appétissantes, texture goulue et ronde parsemée d’étincelles d’épices. La finale est épicée, la longueur en bouche étonne, la texture est définitivement un des points forts de ce whisky. Malheureusement, l’éventail de saveurs ne surprendra pas le dégustateur car à partir du nez, la majorité des saveurs s’étirent simplement jusqu’en finale. Un excellent dram, festif et goulu qui en plus ne videra pas votre portefeuille en passant à la caisse (70$), ce qui vous laissera plus de sous pour acheter vos cadeaux de Noël!

Patrick 90%
Même s’il est recommandé de boire ce scotch l’hiver, je crois qu’il peut être excellent en toutes saisons ! Peut être est-ce parce que les plus froids hivers écossais ressemblent à nos printemps ? Nez : Oranges sucrées, caramel, noix, quelques notes vineuses. Alléchant ! Bouche : Miam miam ! Fruits, chocolat, épices, noix, bonbons au beurre et une touche subtile d’orange. Finale : Longue et savoureuse, marquée par l’orange, les épices du bois et une touche chocolatée des plus subtile.

Glenmorangie 10 ans

40% alc./vol.
La production principale est la gamme de whiskies single malt Glenmorangie, qui est également utilisée dans deux de ses autres produits, Bailie Nicol Jarvie et Highland Queen, marques de blended whisky écossais.

André 86%
Désarmant de simplicité et de finesse, ce single malt fruité et malté nous transportes d’arômes en arômes… avec un peu d’eau, l’odeur de banane est renversante.

Patrick 86%
Nez épicé et riche… Intéressant… Donne vraiment le goût d’y goûter! Au goût, les épices, puis le malt assez doux, ce qui offre un contraste intéressant. Un bon scotch, un excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Glenmorangie 10 ans Cellar 13

43% alc./vol.
La différence entre le Cellar 13 et le Glenmorangie 10 ans réside dans les chais où il a été porté à maturité. Le chai numéro 13 est celui situé au bord de la mer. Il est légèrement plus salé, plus iodé, que le traditionnel 10 ans.

André 87%
Essence de vanille et pâte d’amande. Arrivée liquide sur des notes de toffee, de miel et de vanille suivie rapidement par les fruits (pêche et melon au miel). La finale est plus sèche mais tout de même soutenue par les effluves vanillées et sucrée de type bourbon. Superbement bien balancé, mis à part son arrivée un peu claire et sa finale quelque peu sèche mais brillant de par sa différence des autres expressions de la gamme de Glenmorangie. J’adore !

RV 83%
En bref. Grain légèrement sucré et brûlé. En bouche, développement similaire à l’odorat, et même s’il prend de la place, on dirait aussi qu’il est vide. Le genre de whisky correct mais pour lequel il y a peu à écrire ou décrire.

Patrick 86%
Chêne séché et touche de bourbon. Au goût, le bourbon semble plus présent et le chêne passe de séché à légèrement brûlé. En finale, les épices du bourbon évoluent vers un côté sucré, voir fruité. Définitivement intéressant pour les amateurs de chêne dans leur whisky! L’ensemble est bien balancé, et offre une belle évolution de saveurs en bouche.

Glenmorangie 10 ans Original

40% alc./vol.
Glenmorangie utilise différents types de tonneaux, mais toute la production est vieillie dans des futs en chêne blanc d’Amérique fabriqués à partir des arbres poussant dans la propre forêt de Glenmorangie dans les Monts Ozark au Missouri, aux États-Unis. Les tonneaux neufs sont laissés à l’air libre pendant deux ans avant d’être loués aux distillateurs Jack Daniel’s et Heaven Hills pour la maturation de leur bourbon, qui dure quatre années. Ces tonneaux sont ensuite utilisés avec les alcools de la distillerie Glenmorangie.

André 86%
Un surprise sur toute la ligne pour cette version d’entrée de ligne de la distillerie, d’une souplesse et d’une grande générosité. Les poires, pêches et les fruits frais s’offrent au nez comme les étals regorgeant de fruits frais au marché du Vieux Port par une chaude journée d’été. En finale, nectarines et bananes mais une finale légèrement abrupte. Une valeur sûre pour le prix, un single malt très agréable.

RV 84%
PVC au jus de raisins congelé Welch. Le fruit a de la difficulté a se dégager en bouche, se cache en début de finale mais regagne graduellement une place primordiale en aftertaste, secondé par l’orge qui fait figure de sidekick aux antipodes. Bien conçue, une base plus qu’adéquate pour la finition, mais j’aurais quand même aimé qu’elle s’exprime plus par elle-même.

Patrick 86%
Au nez, mandarines, citron, pommes, poires, et pêches. Crème glacée à la vanille. Fleurs et menthe. Au goût, vanille crémeuse, pèches, mandarines, citron. Noix, épices, un peu de miel. En finale, le sucre d’un jus de fruit. Délicieux, une valeur sure. Se marie admirablement bien avec un fromage français “Château de Bourgogne”, qui est un triple crème (un genre de brie intense).

Martin 88%
Très doré, je dirais même couleur rayon de miel pâle. Nez: Miel, épices, caramel, vanille, fruits secs, nectarine, fleurs et traces de fumée. S’annonce crémeux. Bouche: Encore épices, caramel, miel et vanille. Notes de parfum, de fleurs, d’agrumes et de fumée. Touche de tiramisu. Très proche du nez. Finale: Boisée et douce, très courte, sèche et propre. Franche même. Équilibre: Valeur sûre. Excellent pour l’initiation aux Highlands. Expression d’entrée de gamme sur laquelle on peut compter. Plus raffiné que le Glenfiddich 12 et plus goûteux que le Glenlivet 12.

Glenmorangie 15 ans

43% alc./vol.

André 91%
Le nez est généreusement fruité mais c’est en bouche qu’il nous livre ce qu’il a de mieux. L’arrivée est fruité également avec des relents de bananes (typique de Glenmorangie encore une fois), d’amandes non-salées et de chêne blanc humide. Le plus surprenant est la rétro-olfaction qui est à saveur de bourbon très prononcé, sucré , mais aussi à la fois puissant en bouche. Vaut amplement des 120$ demandés et ce même pour un single malt de 15 ans.

Patrick 84%
Une légère arôme d’orge s’échappe du verre avec un léger fruité. Ai-je dit léger? Je devrait plutôt dire évanescent ou fantomatique. Le goût délicat et fruité, démontre une sensibilité plutôt féminine. Le genre de féminité qui chante dans la chorale de l’église paroissiale. La finale marquée par les petits fruits rouges juteux est assez longue, telle la note finale d’un Ave Maria qui réussi à nous réveiller à temps pour le sermon du curé!

RV 83%
Vanille très fraîche, orge et agave doux et chaud. En bouche elle est très verte, mais bleuit vers l’agave pour mourir tranquillement, avec une courbe décroissante un peu trop abrupte. Intrigante mais manque un peu de pep, comme si elle semblait retenir ses cris. À plus de 100$, loin de valoir la peine pour une bouteille d’à peine 15 ans sans personnalité marquante.

Glenmorangie 15 ans Sauternes Wood Finish

46% alc./vol.
Ancienne édition. 12 ans en fûts de bourbon, puis 2 ans en fûts de sauternes.

Patrick & Pierre-Luc 89%
Au nez, sent le sucre qui a chauffé dans une casserole et le cantaloup. En bouche, un sucre doux et chaleureux avec une petite pointe de raisins blancs et de miel de pomme. En finale, la chaleur du sucre s’étire longuement. Moins doux que le 12 ans que nous connaissons aujourd’hui… Ou du moins, plus intense.

Glenmorangie 18 ans (ancien embouteillage)

43% alc./vol.

André 83%
Pas mal plus edgy que le nouveau Extremely Rare mais le trio tangerine, citron, orange est vraiment bien. Forte présence du bois du fût de bourbon (bois sec) accompagné de menthe et de miel fumé. Finale plus fruitée d’une belle longueur. Bien ficelé mais manque de raffinement dans l’ensemble.

Patrick 84%
Nez marqué par le chêne carbonisé, les agrumes, un peu de pommes et une touche de fleurs et menthe. Au goût, approche de caramel, puis la menthe prends plus de place, mais le chêne brûlé revient en rétro-olfaction. Le finale s’étire longuement sur la chaleur du chêne brûlé. La nouvelle version est définitivement supérieure.

RV 82%
Once again: Boring! Guimauve et bonbons cheap, en bouche il est assez clair mais il faut être patient avant que le bois sorte de manière convaincante. La suite est dans le même genre, sans surprise – voire avec l’ennui habituel de trop de Glenmorangie. Le même genre de platitude habituel mais avec un nez plus sucré.

Glenmorangie 18 ans Extremely Rare

43% alc./vol.
Un long vieillissement de 15 ans en fûts de bourbon puis de 3 années supplémentaires en fûts de Sherry Oloroso.

André 87%
Influence boisée et sèche, vanillé. La bouche est plus fraiche et épicée se poursuit en finale sur une bruine fumée et une mixture de chocolat arrondissant le tout en bouche, ce qui est une bonne chose car les premières secondes en bouche étaient très franches et effilées.

Patrick 89%
Lime, malt au nez. Saveur surprenante comparativement au nez, offrant un crescendo d’agrumes et une touche épicée, presque fumée, qui chatouille agréablement les papilles gustatives, le tout marié ensemble par la vanille. La finale, assez longue, disparaît lentement en nous faisant découvrir différents agrumes tels les oranges, le citron, la lime, etc. Meilleur à chaque gorgée!!

RV 81%
Dur à cerner au nez, grain et farine pour le pain, huile de phoque et fond de tourbe. La poudre à pâte attaque la langue, mais une marmelade d’agrumes prend la place et s’étend jusqu’en finale au milieu d’une balle de foin brûlée qu’on arrose. Ne goûte pas son âge, et malgré sa belle boite, son prix facilement 50$ trop cher en fait une bouteille qui fait mieux de rester sur les tablettes.

Glenmorangie 19 ans

43%% alc./vol.
Glenmorangie 19 ans est un whisky vieilli exclusivement en anciens fûts de bourbon. Les fûts qui composent l’assemblage ont été choisis en raison de leur fraîcheur aromatique et de leurs notes d’agrumes et de végétaux. Glenmorangie 19 ans est disponible en édition limitée en boutique hors-taxes.

André 92%
Quel superbe édition qui allie savoir-faire, équilibre et l’épine dorsale de la distillerie. Le spirit de Glenmorangie, avec ses saveurs fines et douces s’allie tellement bien au fût de bourbon. Les amateurs du Glenmorangie Original et du 18 ans seront en terrain connus; agrumes, poires, ananas, melon au miel, abricots, pommes vertes. Onctuosité ultime en bouche, poudre des gommes Bazooka, léger floral, puis la bouche confirme les odeurs du nez; miel, sirop de salade de fruits, oranges, poires, melon au miel, abricots, pêches, citron, vanille. Bonne dose de sucre, chocolat blanc, un whisky dessert! Finale rafraichissante, les fruits à chair et de belles notes citronnées et d’oranges. Une simplicité désarmante qui vous enveloppe et vous gagne à grand coup de saveurs. Mon prochain achat duty-free!

Patrick 92%
Un excellent whisky, riche, complexe et superbement balancé. Tout ce qu’on peut attendre d’un Glenmorangie,et ça, ça veut dire beaucoup! Nez : Parfum très riche, avec des noix, des poires, de la vanille, une touche de tarte aux pommes (avec ses épices) et quelques gouttes de miel. Bouche : Ok… C’est ici que ça se passe! Du bois savoureux, des fruits exotiques, des figues, une bonne dose d’épices et du miel. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée, boisée, poivrée et avec quelques agrumes.

Glenmorangie 22 ans 1971 – 150th Anniversary

43% alc./vol.

André 94%
Pelures de pommes rouges et réglisse rouge, agrumes, citron, papaye, pêches, kiwi, une touche de cannelle et d’anis et de belles notes rondes de sherry. On prend le temps et on revient au verre après 10 minutes et… caramel, toffee, oranges confites, papaye, melon au miel, vin licoreux. Arrivée tout en douceur en bouche, texture ronde et moelleuse. L’amalgame de saveurs de fruits divers est étonnant; papaye, melon au miel, pêches, kiwis, sherry. Une touche de fumée en finale de bouche qui s’accompagne d’une solide bouffée d’épices et de poudre de cacao, gingembre, melon au miel, papaye. De l’intensité raffinée.

Patrick 94%
Pas le Glenmorangie habituel, mais wow! On y retrouve toute la maîtrise dont Glenmorangie est capable, avec une complexité rarement vue. J’adore! Nez : Quand le parfum d’un whisky te fait baver… De beaux fruits séchés, un mélange de fruits des champs et de fruits exotiques. Le tout avec une belle petite touche boisée. Bouche : Ooooooh. Toujours le mix de fruits mentionné précédemment, avec du bois, quelques épices et une bonne dose de caramel. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée et fruitée.

Martin 94%
Nez: Fruits séchés depuis longtemps, bois ultra-sec, vineux à souhait, presque poussiéreux. Clémentines, fruits de la passion, zeste d’orange. Xérès dans le piton. Léger savon. Bouche: Texture généreuse, boisée et fruitée. Raisins secs, dattes et sherry. Cannelle et orange. Fortes épices. Finale: Bien ronde et fumée, elle ne va pas à l’encontre du reste de l’expérience. Poudre de cacao. Équilibre: Quand même très solide dès qu’on le verse. Mais si on attend 5-10 minutes avant de se lancer, le plein portfolio de saveurs se présente à nous. Je ne suis pas accoutumé à voir des Glenmorangie dans cette ligue à part. Suave et intense à la fois, comme tout bon Glenmo.

English EN Français FR