Dewar's 12 years

40% alc./vol.

Martin 84%
Amber-caramel nuances. Nose: Grain and caramel. Apple, vanilla and raisins. Tiny pinch of alcohol, a very tickle. Palate: Juicy and fresh raisins, kind of fruit. Apples, pears and vanilla. A little spicy and peppered to masculinize the end of the palate. Finale: Fruity and peppery. Sweet and moderately long. Go through the grapes and the lighter fumes to finish on a heavy note of bitter dark chocolate. Balance: Surprising, in a good way. For the price, it's still a good week drama if you can get it. I have the curious impression that this blend is a bit of Dewar's answer to Johnnie Walker Black. It depends on whether you will feel smokier or fruity that night.

Dewar's 18 years

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 88%
A blend as I like them, complex and superbly balanced. Nose: Rich and complex, all in subtlety. In the mess, there are spices, fresh fruit, wood, citrus and vanilla. In short, a bit of everything. Taste: Rich, complex and tasty, with delicious sweet and slightly spicy cereals, some flowers, fruits, caramel and a subtle hint of vanilla. Finish: Medium length, marked by cereals and wood spices.

Dewar's Special Reserve 12 years old

40% alc./vol.

André 87.5%
Almonds rolled in honey, malted cereals, fresh vanilla, a fruity touch and finely floral, kind white flower. Balance and consistency, which is rare in the world of blends, but this whiskey has something to surprise. The texture is divine in the mouth, super sexy, silky and supple, even if a little rectilinear in terms of flavors - honey, vanilla, discreet touch of smoke, dried grains of cereals. The finale reveals some spicy accents. Harmonious set, pleasant flavors, beautiful texture, all delivered at extra cost friends. We ask for more.

Patrick 90%
Easy to understand the success of this whiskey: Superbly built, with everything you need in the right place. I just love it. Nose: Succulent raisins, green apple, caramel, touches of spice and oak. Superb perfume. Palate: Raisins, spices, oak, apples and vanilla. All superbly mixed and balanced. Finale: A beautiful length, fruity and vanilla.

Dewar's White Label

40% alc./vol.

RV 84%
Far from being a white label. For a seemingly boring bottle, opening with a caramel sweet, she insists on standing out from the generic blend. After a mouth-watering toffee speech, she ends her throat election tour with a beautiful burnt toffee. The best Dewar's so far, and it's not because it's the first one.

Martin 83%
In terms of appearance, we move a little away from the sponge to move towards the marmalade. Nose: A light smoked malt welcomes us to continue its journey on vanilla and caramel. On the horizon you can feel a little chord of apples and nail polish. Palate: Not very present in the mouth, focuses more on caramel and vanilla. A little apple oatmeal tries to shine, but its lack of weight combined with a wave of alcohol makes us quickly disillusioned. Finale: Hardly rubber, bitter smoke and spices. Disappointing as to its duration. Balance: Easy approach, and for the price, it looks good. Yet another reason to get rid of his JW Red.

Dewar's 12 years old The Ancestor

40% alc./vol.

André 82.5%
Notes of honey and nuts, flambé pears, pear apples and malted barley. Very approachable as whiskey. The palate is luscious and starts with notes of milk chocolate, dried fruits and grapes, a good sugar content that develops on tones of honey and exotic frutis, orange pods and cherries. What is surprising is that cereal intake does not monopolize the mouth at all and has been fully integrated into the end result. At the second sip, I have the fire of cherry wood and apple tree. Also appear good spices and a light smoke that accompany well the cherry flavors. Finer a little dry and cereal with exclamation marks of spices, pepper and smoke.

Patrick 90%
Wow, exactly what I expect from a blend: Complex, well balanced and easy to drink. Trèèèès easy to drink. Nose: A beautiful complex and appetizing fragrance, with hints of honey, nuts, pears, oranges and malted barley. Mouth: Oh, that's good. Oak, cereals, honey, barley, wood, dried fruits and a subtle smoke. All superbly attached by beautiful sweet grain. Final: Of a beautiful length and complex.

Dewar's Signature

43% alc./vol.

André 89%
Juicy and tasty, grape juice on a cover of cereal grains and toffee. Really beautiful on the palate where we find a good duality spices-sugar, pulling on the vanilla very creamy. The toffee-fudge is emancipated by letting the glass aerate, it becomes more and more textural and ample if it gives him time to oxygenate. The finish is a real silk in the mouth, toffee, honey and vanilla. Superb from beginning to end. Finally a blend that surprises.

RV 81.5
Really weird in the nose, between a bourbon and an average Canadian. Barley, a little flower, American heather in which there would be no trace of starch. The more he stays, the more he gets cheap-bourbonise (I hoped the opposite, I said to myself "I give him a chance to breathe"). In the mouth, cleaner, with a fairly long and uniform rye tip, or only the force varies. In a flash, the start of the final leaps and Scotland, in the high register Speyside / Northern Highlands with an aftertaste or only the sensation on the tip of the tongue is nice. Without being a bad whiskey or falling into the ranges of 72 Speysiders anonymous, not enough to make a detour.

English EN Français FR

Dewar’s 12 ans

40% alc./vol.

Martin 84%
Nuances d’ambre-caramel. Nez: Grain et caramel. Pomme, vanille et raisins secs. Infime pincement d’alcool, un chatouillement même. Bouche: Raisins secs juteux et frais, genre de la fruiterie. Pommes, poires et vanille. Un peu épicé et poivré pour masculiniser la fin du palais. Finale: Fruitée et poivrée. Douce et moyennement longue. Passe par les raisins et la plus légère des fumées pour finir sur une lourde note de chocolat noir amer. Équilibre: Surprenant, dans le bon sens. Pour le prix, ça reste un bon dram de semaine si vous pouvez vous le procurer. J’ai la curieuse impression que ce blend est un peu la réponse de Dewar’s au Johnnie Walker Black. Tout dépend si vous feelez plus fumé ou fruité ce soir-là.

Dewar’s 18 ans

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 88%
Un blend comme je les aime, complexe et superbement balancé. Nez : Riche et complexe, tout en subtilité. Dans le désordre, on y retrouve des épices, des fruits frais, du bois, des agrumes et de vanille. Bref, un peu de tout. Bouche : Riche, complexe et savoureuse, avec de délicieuses céréales sucrées et légèrement épicées, quelques fleurs, des fruits, du caramel et une note subtile de vanille. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, marquée par les céréales et les épices du bois.

Dewar’s Special Reserve 12 ans

40% alc./vol.

André 87.5%
Amandes roulées dans le miel, céréales maltées, vanille fraiche, une touche fruitée et finement florale, genre fleur blanche. Équilibre et consistance, ce qui est rare dans le milieu des blends, mais ce whisky a de quoi étonner. La texture est divine en bouche, hyper sexy, soyeuse et souple, même si un peu rectiligne au niveau des saveurs – miel, vanille, discrète touche de fumée, grains de céréales séchés. La finale dévoile quant à elle quelques accents épicés. Ensemble harmonieux, saveurs agréables, superbe texture, le tout livré à prix d’amis de surcroit. On en redemande.

Patrick 90%
Facile de comprendre le succès de ce whisky : Superbement construit, avec tout ce qu’il faut à la bonne place. J’adore. Nez : Succulent raisins secs, pomme verte, caramel, touche d’épices et de chêne. Superbe parfum. Bouche : Raisins secs, épices, chêne, pommes et vanille. Le tout superbement mélangé et balancé. Finale : Dune belle longueur, fruitée et vanillée.

Dewar’s White Label

40% alc./vol.

RV 84%
Loin d’être une étiquette blanche. Pour une bouteille d’apparence aussi ennuyante, à l’ouverture par un bonbon au caramel, elle insiste pour se démarquer du blend générique. Après un discours de caramel aux papilles, elle termine sa tournée électorale en gorge, avec un beau toffee brûlé. Le meilleur Dewar’s jusqu’a maintenant, et ce n’est pas parce que c’est le premier.

Martin 83%
Au niveau de l’apparence, on s’éloigne un petit peu de la tire-éponge pour se diriger vers la marmelade. Nez: Un léger malt fumé nous accueille, pour poursuivre sa route sur vanille et caramel. On sent à l’horizon un petit accord de pommes et de vernis à ongles. Bouche: Peu présent en bouche, se concentre plus sur le caramel et la vanille. Un peu de gruau aux pommes tente de briller, mais son manque de poids allié à une vague d’alcool nous fait rapidement déchanter. Finale: À peine de caoutchouc, de fumée amère et d’épices. Décevant quant à sa durée. Équilibre: Façile d’approche, et pour le prix, ça a bien de l’allure. Encore une autre raison de se débarasser de son JW Red.

Dewar’s Signature

43% alc./vol.

André 89%
Juteux et goûteux, jus de raisins sur une couverture de grains de céréales et de toffee. Vraiment superbe en bouche où l’on retrouve une bonne dualité épices-sucres, tirant sur la vanille très crémeuse. Le toffee-fudge s’émancipe en laissant le verre s’aérer, il devient de plus en plus textural et ample si on lui laisse le temps de s’oxygéner. La finale est une vraie soie en bouche, du toffee, du miel et de la vanille. Superbe du début à la fin. Finalement un blend qui étonne.

RV 81.5
Vraiment bizarre au nez, entre un bourbon et un canadien moyen. Orge, un peu de fleur, du bruyère sablonneux américain dans lequel il n’y aurait pas la moindre trace d’amidon. Plus il reste, plus il se cheap-bourbonise (j’espérais le contraire, je me disais « je lui laisse une chance de respirer »). En bouche, plus propre, avec une pointe de rye assez longue et uniforme, ou seule la force varie. Dans un éclair, le début de la finale fait un bond et Écosse, dans le registre haut Speyside/Northern Highlands avec un aftertaste ou seule la sensation sur le bout de la langue est agréable. Sans être un mauvais whisky ou tomber dans les ranges des 72 Speysiders anonymes, pas de quoi faire un détour.

English EN Français FR