New Zealand Malt Whiskey Company - Doublewood 10 years old

40% alc./vol.

André 86%
Apple caramel, candied orange, sherry, various fruits. The nose is attractive and inviting. The syrupy mouth offers a pleasant texture but is only the extension of the nose, without too big variants. Oranges are a little too present for my taste in the mouth, but the creamy texture accentuated by the grapes is really well presented. The finish will amaze with its length in the mouth and the contribution of allspice and pepper. A beautiful dram, affordable in addition, presented without much pretension.

Patrick 92%
The best compliment for a whiskey is to quickly empty the bottle, which applies here! An excellent dram, I can not believe that this distillery was destroyed. I do not know what they drink in New Zealand, but if it's better than that, it must be good in cursed! Nose: Delicious fragrance of sweet wine, with a hint of burnt-spiced oak. Extremely appetizing. Palate: The wine is still sweet, but also very warm. Everything is obviously a good dose of delicately spicy wood. Final: A beautiful and warm length.

South Island 18 Single Malt

42.2% alc./vol.
Distilled in 1993 and bottled in 2011. Distilled from the late Willowbank distillery, this single malt was originally named Lammerlaw Single Malt. The distillery, formerly under Seagrams, was shut down in 2000 before the owners of the time (Fosters) dismantled the whole thing and sent the stills to Fiji to produce rum. At closing, there were 600 cases of Willowbank Whiskey from which this bottle comes.

André 82%
A nice nose of pleasant freshness, with notes of dried fruit, honey and toffee. Floral interesting style spearmint, mixed with spices, apricots, oranges, a lot of sugar and vanilla. Surprisingly, it's a very nice blend and the 40% Alcohol helps make it all very approachable. On the palate, it reveals notes of honey and toffee, embellished with white sugar. Final relatively strong given the low alcohol level. All in all, a well-built whiskey that also focuses on the safety of well-known items.

Patrick 90%
Nose: Malt, wet wood and smoke tip. Particular. Palate: Smoke more intense than the nose could not predict. The finish is marked by smoke and ash, followed by notes of barley, citrus and swampy peat. Final: Very long, smoke and ashes, like the campfire found smoking the next morning. Balance: A beautiful complexity, a unique assembly. With a few more degrees of alcohol, this whiskey would have been extraordinary. It still remains well above average. What a loss this distillery.

Martin 78%
Pale color of barely golden straw. Nose: A wind of hops as it emerges when you enter La Barberie on a Thursday afternoon. Berries, bubble gum and cotton candy. Banana touch with a light leather smoke. Palate: Sugar cooked with an air of leather that fades quietly. Very sweet, according to a whiskey of this age. Finale: Smoke from saw blade or wood chips. Like in a sawmill or at the shoemaker's. Very interesting length. Balance: Nice effort from New Zealand, but a little too disparate to be worthy of the Gondor.

Milford Single Malt

43% alc./vol.
Wilson Distillery, Dunedin, New Zealand, closed in 2000.

André 78%
Taste minty at the end, but final too steep, like the mountains of New Zealand.

RV 80%
Burnt caramel, plasticized (not vinyl). Final very short, except a little sherry. A little sugar in the long run.

Patrick 81%
Burnt caramel, indeed. Burnt wood. Oak. Vinyl? A little sherry and toffee. A little minty.

English EN Français FR

New Zealand Malt Whisky Company – Doublewood 10 ans

40% alc./vol.

André 86%
Pomme caramel, orange confites, sherry, fruits divers. Le nez est attrayant et invitant. La bouche sirupeuse offre une texture agréable mais n’est que l’extension du nez, sans trop grandes variantes. Les oranges sont un peu trop présente à mon goût en bouche, mais la texture crémeuse accentuée par la raisins est vraiment bien présentée. La finale étonnera par sa longueur en bouche et par l’apport du tout-épice et du poivre. Un beau dram, abordable de surcroit, présenté sans trop de prétention.

Patrick 92%
Le meilleur compliment pour un whisky est d’en vider rapidement la bouteille, ce qui s’applique ici! Un excellent dram, je n’en revient pas que cette distillerie ait été détruite. Je ne sais pas ce qu’ils boivent en Nouvelle-Zélande, mais si c’est meilleur que ça, ça doit être bon en maudit! Nez : Parfum délicieux de vin sucré, avec une pointe de chêne brûlé-épicé. Extrêmement appétissant. Bouche : Le vin est toujours aussi sucré, mais aussi très chaleureux. Le tout est avec évidemment une bonne dose de bois délicatement épicé. Finale : D’une belle longueur et chaleureuse.

South Island 18 ans Single Malt

42.2% alc./vol.
Distillé en 1993 et embouteillé en 2011. Distillé à la défunte distillerie Willowbank, ce single malt portait à l’origine le nom de Lammerlaw Single Malt. Cette distillerie, anciennement sous le giron de Seagrams fût mise en dormance en 2000 avant que les propriétaire du temps (Fosters) démantèlent le tout et envoient les alambics à Fiji afin de produire du rhum. À la fermeture, il restait 600 caisses du whisky Willowbank d’où provient la présente bouteille.

André 82%
Un beau nez d’une fraicheur agréable, agrémenté de notes de fruits séchés, de miel et de toffee. Floral intéressant style menthe verte défraichie, mélangé d’épices, d’abricots, d’oranges, beaucoup de sucre et de vanille. Étonnamment, c’est un mélange très agréable et le 40% d’alcool aide à rendre le tout très approchable. En bouche il révèlera des notes de miel et de toffee, agrémenté de sucre blanc. Finale relativement soutenue compte tenu du maigre taux d’alcool. Dans l’ensemble, un whisky bien construit mais qui mise aussi sur la sécurité des éléments bien connus.

Patrick 90%
Nez: Malt, bois mouillé et pointe de fumée. Particulier. Bouche: Fumée plus intense que le nez ne pouvait le laisser présager. L’arrivée est marquée par la fumée et la cendre, suivie par des notes d’orge, d’agrumes et de tourbe marécageuse. Finale: Trés longue, fumée et cendreuse, tel le feu de camp retrouvé fumant le lendemain matin. Balance: Une belle complexité, un assemblage unique. Avec quelques degrés d’alcools de plus, ce whisky aurait été extraordinaire. Il demeure tout de même largement au dessus de la moyenne. Quelle perte que cette distillerie.

Martin 78%
Couleur plutôt pâle de paille à peine dorée. Nez: Un vent de houblon tel qu’il s’en dégage quand on entre dans La Barberie un jeudi après-midi. Petits fruits, gomme balloune et barbe à papa. Touche de banane avec une légère fumée de cuir. Bouche: Sucre cuit avec un air de cuir qui s’estompe tranquillement. Très doux, conformément à un whisky de cet âge. Finale: Fumée de brin de scie ou de copeaux de bois. Comme dans une scierie ou bien chez le cordonnier. Longueur très intéressante. Équilibre: Bel effort de la Nouvelle-Zélande, mais un peu trop disparate pour être digne du Gondor.

Milford Single Malt

43% alc./vol.
Wilson Distillery, Dunedin, New Zealand, fermée en 2000.

André 78%
Goût mentholé à la fin, mais finale trop abrupte, comme les montagnes de Nouvelle-Zélande.

RV 80%
Caramel brûlé, plastifié (pas du vinyle). Finale très courte, sauf un peu de sherry. Un peu de sucre à la longue.

Patrick 81%
Caramel brûlé, en effet. Bois brûlé. Chêne. Vinyle? Un peu de sherry et toffee. Un peu mentholé.

English EN Français FR