Puni Alba - Batch No 02 - 2015 - Marsala & Islay Casks

43% alc./vol.
Aged 3 years, so this is the very first Italian whiskey!

André 76%
I have not at all in Patrick's craze for this bottle, which, by its name, attracted me greatly. Agricultural nose and craft distillery, experimental; notes of malted barley, red berries, grapes & plums, citrus fruits, we can also smell a bit of sea salt in the background and a diffuse smoke far away, but do not expect something defined as a whiskey peaty Islay nose ... The mouth is spicy and salty, smoke also sparingly, fruit notes, honey, ginger, sea spray, pepper. The texture is a little bland and erased, the whole lack of punch and structure even if the experimentation has something interesting. Final very short, ephemeral in the flavors and its general texture. A marketing move?

Patrick 89%
A unique and superb whiskey, but that will not please everyone: The flavors are very intense and clash in a non-orthodox way. Certainly, it will not leave you indifferent! Finally, 3 years is young, especially when you know that the master distiller has in mind to produce a whiskey 20 years! Finally, no matter what you think of whiskey, this distillery should be part of your top 5 to visit. Nose: Succulent perfume dominated by delicious red fruits, with a touch of clove and old wood. Palate: Spectacular evolution of flavors in the mouth: To begin, the marsala, vinous, marked by ripe fruit and clove, then the whole evolves to a fairly intense peat smoke, ending in the burnt wood spices . Finish: Long and tasty, marked mainly by spices, a little peat smoke, and subtly marsala.

Puni Pure - New Make

43% alc./vol.

Patrick 84%
Tasty, warm and intense, we swear that this new make was not diluted to 43%. It's off to the people of Puni. Nose: Fresh and invigorating scent with hints of pepper, mint and wet cereals. Palate: a beautiful spicy malt which reveals some sweeter flavors after a few seconds. The texture in the mouth is much more oily than one would expect from a new make diluted to 43%. Finish: Short and peppery.

Puni Red - 6 months

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 86%
The people of Puni chose to show us through their "avant-premieres" that they knew how to master the basis of making a whiskey. This demonstration now accomplished with brilliance, rest assured that the best to come. Nose: Appetizing sweet and fruity scent, with very delicate woody notes and a nice touch of vanilla. After a few moments when we let our glass breathe, we also detect a subtle touch of citrus. Palate: The new make is not far, but it's still sweet and tasty. Cereals slightly spicy and sweet, with nice fruity notes and a touch of citrus, some twigs of grass and a drop of honey. After two-three sips, we also detect beautiful woody notes. Final: a little short, marked by herbs and citrus fruits.

Puni Alba 2015 • 30 months

43% alc./vol.
The first limited edition of the transalpine Italian malt single, Puni Alba, has been aged between six months and three years in oak barrels that previously contained Sicilian marsala, South Tyrol pinot noir and Pantellaria zibibbo. The sole representative of Italian whiskey, the Puni distillery uses three cereals for the production of its single malt: malted barley, rye and wheat grown locally.

André 81.5%
Artisanal design (in the good sense of the word), strongly influenced by the barrel too. Fresh and volatile nose, strawberries, honey covering a bed of vanilla, citrus and lemon, candied oranges, ripe pears, berries. The spicy mouth slices with the nose rather sweet. Cloves, ginger and pepper, mixing with wild fruits, from which the barrel flavors are quite pronounced. The gradual evaporation of alcohol allows the toffee and caramel notes to titillate our nostrils a bit. Even the notes of oranges and citrus find their place in the whole, having been muzzled by the notes of spices. The finish is well-balanced, sweet and fruity, sprinkled with spice and hints of oak.

Patrick 88%
A superb "almost whiskey" (almost because it has not yet reached the minimum legal age of 3 years to be called whiskey) but it is already better than many Scotches over 10 years! His only fault, forgiven given his young age, is at the level of the final we want longer, as this spirit is delicious! Nose: Smooth fragrance marked by malt, sugar, fruits, vanilla and honey. In any case, on the nose, it is more appetizing than many Scotch tape Speyside! Mouth: Always sugar, cereals and fruits, all giving us a nice warm impression. After a few sips, we detect subtle notes of burnt wood. Final: A little short, but still delicious.

English EN Français FR

Puni Alba – Batch No 02 -2015 – Marsala & Islay Casks

43% alc./vol.
Vieilli 3 ans, il s’agit donc du tout premier whisky italien !

Patrick 89%
Un unique et superbe whisky, mais qui ne plaira pas à tous : Les saveurs sont très intenses et s’entrechoquent de façon non-orthodoxe. Chose certaine, il ne vous laissera pas indifférent ! Enfin, 3 ans, c’est jeune, surtout quand on sait que le maitre distillateur a en tête de produire un whisky de 20 ans ! Enfin, peu importe ce que vous pensez du whisky, cette distillerie devrait faire partie de votre top 5 à visiter. Nez : Succulent parfum dominé par de délicieux fruits rouges, avec une touche de clou de girofle et de vieux bois. Bouche : Spectaculaire évolution des saveurs en bouche : Pour commencer, le marsala, vineux, marqué par les fruits mûrs et le clou de girofle, puis l’ensemble évolue vers une fumée de tourbe assez intense, pour se terminer dans les épices de bois brûlé. Finale : Longue et savoureuse, marquée surtout par les épices, un peu par la fumée de tourbe, et subtilement par le marsala.

Puni Pure – New Make

43% alc./vol.

Patrick 84%
Savoureux, chaleureux et intense, on jurerait que ce new make n’a pas été dilué à 43%. C’est bien parti pour les gens de Puni. Nez : Parfum frais et vivifiant avec des notes de poivre, de menthe et de céréales mouillées. Bouche : un beau malt épicé qui laisse apparaitre après quelques secondes des saveurs plus sucrées. La texture en bouche est beaucoup plus huileuse que ce qu’on pourrait attendre d’un new make dilué à 43%. Finale : Courte et poivrée.

Puni Red – 6 mois

40% alc./vol.

Patrick 86%
Les gens de Puni ont choisis de nous montrer via leur « avant-primeurs » qu’ils savaient maîtriser la base de la fabrication d’un whisky. Cette démonstration maintenant accomplie avec brio, soyez assurés que le meilleur à venir. Nez : Appétissant parfum sucré et fruité, avec des notes boisées très délicates et un bon trait de vanille. Après quelques instants où on laisse notre verre respirer, on détecte aussi une subtile touche d’agrumes. Bouche : Le new make n’est pas loin, mais ça demeure doux et savoureux. Céréales légèrement épicées et sucrées, avec de belles notes fruitées ainsi qu’une touche d’agrumes, quelques brindilles d’herbe et une goutte de miel. Après deux-trois gorgées, on détecte aussi de belles notes boisées. Finale : un peu courte, marquée par les herbes et les agrumes.

Puni Alba 2015 • 30 mois

43% alc./vol.
La première édition limitée du single malt italien transalpin, Puni Alba a reposé entre six mois et trois ans dans des fûts de chêne ayant contenu précédemment de la marsala de Sicile, du pinot noir du Sud-Tyrol et du Zibibbo de Pantellaria. Seule représentante du whisky italien, la distillerie Puni utilise trois céréales pour l’élaboration de son single malt : de l’orge maltée, du seigle et du blé cultivés localement.

André 81.5%
Conception artisanale (dans le bon sens du terme), fortement influencé par le fût lui aussi. Nez frais et volatile, fraises, miel nappant un lit de vanille, agrumes et citron, oranges confites, poires bien mûres, fruits des champs. La bouche épicée tranche avec le nez plutôt doux. Clou de girofle, gingembre et poivre, se mélangeant avec les fruits sauvages, d’où s’extirpent les saveurs de fût neuf assez prononcées. L’évaporation progressive de l’alcool permet aux notes de toffee et de caramel d’émoustiller nos narines un peu. Même les notes d’oranges et d’agrume retrouvent bien leur place dans l’ensemble, ayant été muselées par les notes d’épices. La finale est bien équilibrée, sucrée et fruitée, saupoudrée d’épices et de notes de chêne.

Patrick 88%
Un superbe « presque whisky » (presque, car il n’a pas encore atteint l’âge minimal légal de 3 ans pour s’appeler whisky) mais il est déjà meilleur que bien des scotchs de plus de 10 ans! Sa seule faute, qu’on lui pardonnera compte tenu de son jeune âge, est au niveau de la finale qu’on voudrait plus longue, tant ce spiritueux est délicieux! Nez : Parfum suave marqué par le malt, le sucre, les fruits, la vanille et le miel. En tout cas, au nez, il est plus appétissant que bien des scotchs du Speyside! Bouche : Toujours le sucre, les céréales et les fruits, le tout nous offrant une belle impression chaleureuse. Après quelques gorgées, on détecte de subtiles notes de bois brûlé. Finale : Un peu courte, mais tout de même délicieuse.

English EN Français FR