P & M Vintage Whiskey

40% alc./vol.
Handcrafted whiskey from Corsica, bottle #09720. In 1999, Dominique Sialelli from the Pietra brewery and Jean-Claude Venturini from the Mavela distillery (hence the acronym P & M) combine their common love of this cereal beverage with their know-how to create a unique whiskey deeply rooted in the terroir of the island of Beauty. This will be the third French distillery to launch in the production of whiskey, the first bottlenecks will see the day in 2005. The Cuvée "P & M Vintage" is the result of a blend of vintage whiskeys, the oldest of which have up to 14ans. Associating it with whiskeys from younger distillations, the Malt brewed by Pietra and distilled at Domaine Mavela in the 2000 year reveals in this limited edition a wide range of aromas. P & M whiskeys age in oak barrels that have contained Corsican wine from the Domaine Gentile, mainly barrels that have contained white wine or Muscat, then are assembled with the water of Col Saint-Georges which has its source in more 1000 meters of altitude on the heights of the island.

André 69%
Nose of pears and wet cereals, straw, new (?) Barrel, agricultural and artisanal in style and approach. It seems that this whiskey is aged in a barrel having previously contained another alcohol or a sweet and sweet kind of wine, like Sauternes. The palate is very sweet, the canned fruit salad, DelMonte pears, accompanied by good spices. Final of citrus and ginger. Design correct but a touch of craftsmanship may be a little too present.

Patrick 59%
Yark. A good example of "effective" marketing, where we call a "vintage" whiskey hoping to convince some fish to buy it. Nose: Parfum of straw and wet cereals, with ripe pears and something vaguely reminiscent of a latrine. Berk. Palate: Pfffff. Dried cereals, burnt wood and blue liquid chemical toilet. Finale: Stretches on the liquid blue chemical toilet. Well, not as bad as that, but in the same category.

P & M Corsican Single Malt Whiskey 7 years

42% alc./vol.
Limited edition to 3500 copies. The single malt P & M 7 years is obtained by the distillation of the wash, from the Pietra Brewery, it is then raised long years in the cellars of Domaine Mavela. Maturation obtained by the passage in oak barrels of the forest of Tronçais, having previously contained the white wines and muscats of the Gentile domain. First Single Malt Corse, it claims its origins that it draws in the wonderful insular nature, globally recognized as a wild land free from any pollution.

André 91%
Whole nose, raisins, apricots, sherry, oranges, discrete spice flavors, liquorice sensation, very sweet but nuanced with spices. The mouth is beefy, fruitcake, fruit paste, currants and confirms its syrupy texture plump in the mouth. The sweet flavors outweigh the spices but the balance of flavors is perfect, the texture serves as a backdrop to the fruity explosion unveiled in the mouth. After a while, tasty notes of Sugar Crisp cereals, melted caramel and caramelized sugar. The finish is long and supple, complex and perfectly balanced. A surprise, the unexpected.

Patrick 90%
Completely unique! Succulent, complex, warm, the kind of whiskey that keeps my passion for novelties well lit! Nose: Perfume very spicy, sweet and especially completely unique. After a few minutes, rich, ripe and warm fruit also appears. Complex, unique and promising. Palate: Warm, fruity, spicy and grassy, ​​with a very subtle stony note. Final: A little short, but tasty and sweet.

P & M Blend Superior Whiskey

40% alc./vol.
Corsica.

André 78%
Aromas so sweet that alcohol seems superior. Spices of ginger, not bad of citrus too. Unfortunately the texture is bland and diaphanous and a bit vegetal. Well, to be taken to take this, in the absence of anything else, I would do but in the end, it's pretty ordinary.

RV 80%
Disappointing hike in the country of novelty with the strong impression of not reaching its destination. Smell in 2 clouds: the lighter of Muskol, sugar and vanilla, the second much heavier (but farier) grain. In the mouth, the grain is very fresh and sweet, but the slippery texture ensures that it is not mint vodka that I think I have to do. Small presence without grand finale except a bit of heather, the aftertaste of old fruit salad concludes a forgettable experience.

Patrick 69%
Light nose of birch sap, but without sugar. On the palate, the sap explodes on a beautiful minty spice. The finish stretches on mint and a small metallic side. Overall weird ... Not bad, but far from good.

English EN Français FR

P&M Vintage Whisky

40% alc./vol.
Whisky artisanal de Corse, bouteille #09720. En 1999, Dominique Sialelli de la brasserie Pietra et Jean-Claude Venturini de la distillerie Mavela (d’où l’acronyme P&M) associent leur amour commun de ce breuvage céréalier et leurs savoir-faire pour créer un whisky unique, profondément ancré dans le terroir de l’île de Beauté. Ce sera la troisième distillerie française à sa lancer dans la production de whisky, les premiers embouteillages verront le jour en 2005. La Cuvée “P&M Vintage” est le résultat d’un assemblage de whiskies millésimés, dont les plus anciens ont jusqu’à 14ans. En l’associant à des whiskies issus de distillations plus jeunes, le Malt brassé par Pietra et distillé au Domaine Mavela en l’année 2000 révèle dans cette édition limitée une large palette aromatique. Les whiskys P&M vieillissent dans des fûts de chêne ayant contenu du vin du Cap corse du Domaine Gentile, principalement des fûts ayant contenu du vin blanc ou du Muscat, puis sont assemblés à l’eau du Col Saint-Georges qui prend sa source à plus de 1000 mètres d’altitude sur les hauteurs de l’île.

André 69%
Nez de poires et de céréales mouillées, la paille, le fût neuf(?), agricole et artisanal dans le style et l’approche. On dirait que ce whisky est vieilli dans un fût ayant préalablement contenu un autre alcool ou un vin genre licoreux et sucré, genre du Sauternes. La bouche est très douce, la salade de fruits en conserve, les poires DelMonte, s’accompagnant de bonnes épices. Finale d’agrumes et de gingembre. Conception correcte mais une touche artisanale peut-être un peu trop présente.

Patrick 59%
Yark. Un bel exemple de marketing « efficace », où on appelle un whisky « vintage » en espérant convaincre quelques poissons de l’acheter. Nez : Parfum de paille et de céréales mouillées, avec des poires trop mûres et je ne sais quoi me rappelant vaguement une latrine. Berk. Bouche: Pfffff. Céréales séchées, bois brûlé et liquide bleu de toilette chimique. Finale : S’étire sur le liquide bleu de toilette chimique. Bon, pas aussi pire que ça, mais dans la même catégorie.

P&M Corsican Single Malt Whisky 7 ans

42% alc./vol.
Edition limitée à 3500 exemplaires. Le single malt P&M 7 ans est obtenu par la distillation du wash, provenant de la Brasserie Pietra, il est ensuite élevé de longues années dans les chais du Domaine Mavela. La maturation obtenue par le passage en fûts de chêne de la forêt de Tronçais, ayant préalablement contenus les vins blancs et muscats du domaine Gentile. Premier Single Malt Corse, il revendique ses origines qu’il puise dans la merveilleuse nature insulaire, mondialement reconnue comme une terre sauvage exempte de toute pollution.

André 91%
Nez entier, raisins secs, abricots, sherry, oranges, saveurs d’épices discrètes, sensation liquoreuse, bien sucrée mais nuancé d’épices. La bouche est costaude, gâteau aux fruits, pâtes de fruits, raisins de Corinthe et confirme sa texture liquoreuse bien dodue en bouche. Les saveurs sucrées l’emportent sur les épices mais l’équilibre des saveurs est parfait, la texture sert très bien de toile de fond à l’explosion fruitée dévoilée en bouche. Après quelques temps, savoureuses notes de céréales Sugar Crisp, de caramel fondu et de sucre caramélisé. La finale est longue et souple, complexe et d’un parfait équilibre. Une surprise, de l’inattendu.

Patrick 90%
Complètement unique! Succulent, complexe, chaleureux, le genre de whisky qui garde ma passion envers les nouveautés bien allumée! Nez : Parfum très épicé, sucré et surtout complètement unique. Après quelques minutes, de riches fruits mûrs et chaleureux apparaissent aussi. Complexe, unique et prometteur. Bouche : Chaleureuse, fruitée, épicée et herbeuse, avec une note pierreuse des plus subtiles. Finale : Un peu courte, mais savoureuse et sucrée.

P&M Blend Supérieur Whisky

40% alc./vol.
Corse.

André 78%
Arômes tellement douces que l’alcool semble supérieur. Épices de gingembre, pas mal d’agrumes aussi. Malheureusement la texture est fade et diaphane et un brin végétal. Bon, être pris pour prendre ça, à défaut d’autre chose, je m’y ferais mais au final, c’est assez ordinaire.

RV 80%
Décevante randonnée en pays de nouveauté avec la forte impression de n’être parvenu à destination. Odeur en 2 nuages: le plus léger de Muskol, de sucre et de vanille, le second beaucoup plus lourd (mais lointain) de grain. En bouche, le grain est très frais et sucré mais l’aspect glissant de sa texture assure qu’il ne s’agit de la vodka à la menthe auquel je crois avoir à faire. Petite présence sans grande finale sauf un peu de bruyère, l’aftertaste de vieille salade de fruits conclut une expérience oubliable.

Patrick 69%
Nez léger de sève de bouleau, mais sans le sucre. En bouche, la sève explose sur une belle épice mentholée. La finale s’étire sur la menthe et un petit coté métallique. Globalement bizarre… Pas infect, mais loin d’être bon.

English EN Français FR