Slyrs 51

51% alc./vol.
Located in Germany, in the heart of the Bavarian region, the distillery SLYRS produces since 1999 whiskeys recognized for their finesse and their greed. SLYRS 51 Single Malt has been standing for 3 years in American white oak casks.

André 79%
Nose greatly influenced by the oak wood, reminiscent of virgin oak, vanilla and cereals, some notes of pears sprinkled with clove, notes reminiscent of the farmhouse, not necessarily in the good sense of the word. The mouth is relatively soft but again too influenced by the wood. We also feel that the whiskey is young, in its lack of balance and its disordered structure; virgin oak, sherry, pears, nectarines, vanilla, clove, milk chocolate. The finish is spicy and alcoholic, on dry wood. No fan, really not ...

Patrick 89%
A very good whiskey, rich and complex, with a superb blend of flavors. Six years ago, I was writing about this distillery that the best was coming, I'm glad to see that I was right! Nose: Appetizing scent of sweet citrus, green apples and discrete smoke. Palate: Smoke, spices, citrus fruits, green apples and burnt wood. Finale: Of a beautiful length, spicy and slightly smoked.

Extra Old Whiskey-Fässle

45.4% alc./vol.
Exclusive bottling celebrating the 25eme anniversary of the Kensington Wine and Market of Calgary, limited edition of 42 bottles.

André 90%
Tasty and warm sherry lovers; bold as presentation, exquisite blend of oranges, dark chocolate, black cherries, dates, pinch of very sweet peat smoke, good spices. The approach is balanced and discreet, hushed. The texture of the whiskey is incredible in the mouth, both silky and very generous. A lot of sherry a little festive, noble but unpretentious, dried fruit, fruit cake, chocolate egg stuffed with orange, honey, candy jujubes shaped teddy bear. Divine ... The finish is punctuated by spices that languorously shudder on the tongue in addition to the flavors already presented in the mouth. The amalgam of flavors is superb, beautiful soft texture, alcohol content well hidden. As Andrew from Kensington mentioned, a blend of Highland Park and Glenrothes is possible, the flavors backbone of these 2 distilleries actually looks strangely like this blended rendering. Tasty!

Patrick 89%
A very warm and complex whiskey, which will satisfy whiskey lovers aged in sherry casks. The best proof that one should not trust the look of a bottle to get an idea of ​​its quality. Nose: Appetizing scent of sherry, very fruity and subtle burnt wood. Palate: Warm fruit, intense sherry, vanilla, burnt wood and some spices. Finish: Long and tasty, marked by sherry and burnt wood.

Slyrs PX 4 years old - 3rd Edition

46% alc./vol.

André 79%
Ouch, do not rely on the first impressions delivered by the sherry cask, these barrel odors or sherry has had time to start macerating warm before being filled with new make ... These flavors also remind me the miserable Armorik, that mixture of virgin oak and uneasy muddy soil, almost earthy peat seasoned with sherry. In the mouth, the whiskey is fruity, the effect of the sherry cask is very present, it reminds me of the fruit paste and the bag of dried fruits, macerated cherries and dark chocolate and some ferocious toffee notes. Personally, I do not particularly like the rendering of sherry in the end. Nice length in the mouth, more worn by the flavors itself than by the strength of alcohol. The fruits sit in the foreground and surround themselves with blood oranges, fruit paste and finely spiced sherry.

Patrick 76%
Having had the exceptional chance to taste some of their future whiskeys directly in the barrel, my expectations were high by buying this bottle. I must say that I am very disappointed. Almost good, but still bad. I understand why they "spend" this whiskey in duty free, the idea being to distance as far as possible from the distillery these dirty bottles. Nose: Fragrance of sherry of poor quality, with some woody notes. Palate: Burnt wood and always the bad sherry, all accompanied by bitter dark chocolate and a je ne sais quoi that attacks me. Finale: Stretch on dark chocolate and bad sherry. In short, too long.

Slyrs Bavarian Single Malt Whiskey

43% alc./vol.
Vintage 2008.

André 85%
Boiling cereals in fermentation, hot malt beer. The nose is not very appealing at first glance, but you just have to be patient because by breathing, it becomes more and more sweet and more pleasant. Wow, superb texture on the palate, a blend of vanilla, lemon and citrus. Not very varied but well balanced. In that sense, we have a solid foundation on which to work to improve everything. The Achilles heel is the final that is not supported and lacks a pattern but the whole is very nice and well presented.

Patrick 80%
Keep in mind that this is a "work in progress" to appreciate this whiskey at its fair value. Because it lacks depth and finish, which is basically normal for such a young whiskey. Wait a few more years and I guarantee you will tear off the bottles of this distillery. For having the chance to plunge my glasses in some "old" barrels (about 10 years) during my visit of the distillery, I can affirm that the best is to come! Nose: Cereals, flowers, lemon and a touch of sweetness. Not really spectacular. Palate: Beautiful texture on the palate, sweet cereals, burnt wood, vanilla, citrus and some flowers. A beautiful complexity. Final: Not very long and a little dusty.

Martin 78%
Hyper pallor that betrays its minimum of 3 years of age required to maintain its name. Nose: Small cereal, pear, flowers and soap. Malt barely grilled, Strong in alcohol on the nose, although it only has title to 43%. Palate: Still a floral impression, personality very little aggressive on notes of sugar cane. Too much lightness, its little character disappears in a jiffy. Final: A little tasteless. Ends on berries. Soapy cereal, dust and flowers. Balance: Not horrible, but not great either. Bring us an added value, such as a cask finish or even an increase in the alcohol content. Otherwise focus on sauerkraut. But hey, let's give the runner a chance, we say that a cask strength version is about to come into being ...

RV 85%
A piece that begins with a strange mix of samplings that seems announced an epic end, but ends in slow too quiet. Sweet coriander? Honey bees on the PCP? Below this hallucinatory mixture, grain is hidden before the arrival in the mouth which is much quieter, with a very cereal beginning and a rather banal end but of good length. Too bad, it was so good, but it's still interesting.

Wannborga 3 years

44.3% alc./vol.
This distillery already produced a variety of spirits but it was only in 2007 that it began producing whiskey. The stills of this distillery come from Germany and produce only 150 liters. Annually, this distillery produces about 2000 liters ... It is currently (2012) the smallest Swedish distillery. Its whiskey is aged in ex-bourbon barrels. The bottle evaluated here is the only one to have been imported into North America.

André 85%
Something agricultural, corn syrup maybe? In the mouth offers a powdery feeling, like chalk dust. Alcohol quite strong nose but strangely, in the mouth it is more than discreet carried on a spurt of chlorophyll or mint. A whiskey filled with ambiguity and I must confess very humbly that it does not leave me indifferent but that I do not know exactly why.

RV 83%
A talented apprentice but early career. Whiskey very embarrassed with a weird funky look, a bit too much elsewhere. Arrival of oatmeal, posed and meticulous but ultimately not the most special. Final more grassy, ​​very creamy (maybe too much for me). Finale of good length, it is a good start except the nose. Good final, really surprising, the originality is there, missed only balance and experience.

English EN Français FR

Slyrs 51

51% alc./vol.
Située en Allemagne, en plein cœur de la région Bavaroise, la distillerie SLYRS produit depuis 1999 des whiskies reconnus pour leur finesse et leur gourmandise. SLYRS 51 Single Malt a séjourné pendant 3 ans dans des fûts de chêne blanc américain.

André 79%
Nez grandement influencé par le bois de chêne, qui rappelle le virgin oak, la vanille et les céréales, quelques notes de poires saupoudrées de clou de girofle, notes qui rappelle la fermette, pas nécessairement dans le bon sens du terme. La bouche est relativement douce mais encore une fois trop influencée par le bois. On ressent aussi que le whisky est jeune, dans son manque d’équilibre et sa structure désordonnée; virgin oak, sherry, poires, nectarines, vanille, clou de girofle, chocolat au lait. La finale est épicée et alcoolisée, sur le bois sec. Pas fan, vraiment pas…

Patrick 89%
Un très bon whisky, riche et complexe, présentant un superbe mélange de saveurs. Il y a six ans, j’écrivais à propos de cette distillerie que le meilleur était à venir, je suis bien heureux de constater que j’ai eu raison! Nez : Appétissant parfum d’agrumes sucrés, de pommes vertes et de fumée discrète. Bouche : Fumée, épices, agrumes, pommes vertes et du bois brûlé. Finale : D’une belle longueur, épicée et légèrement fumée.

Whisky-Fässle Extra Old

45.4% alc./vol.
Embouteillage exclusif célébrant le 25eme anniversaire du Kensington Wine and Market de Calgary, édition limitée de 42 bouteilles.

André 90%
Savoureux sherry chaleureux et amoureux; bold comme présentation, exquis mélange d’oranges, de chocolat noir, de cerises noires, dattes, pincée de fumée de tourbe très douce, bonnes épices. L’approche est soupesée et discrète, feutrée. La texture du whisky est incroyable en bouche, à la fois soyeuse et très généreuse. Beaucoup de sherry un peu festif, noble mais sans prétention, les fruits séchés, gâteau aux fruits, œuf en chocolat fourré à l’orange, miel, bonbons jujubes en forme de nounours. Divin… La finale est ponctuée d’épices qui tressaillent langoureusement sur la langue en plus des saveurs déjà présentées en bouche. L’amalgame de saveurs est superbe, belle texture moelleuse, taux d’alcool bien caché. Comme Andrew du Kensington mentionnait, un mélange de Highland Park et de Glenrothes est possible, le backbone de saveurs de ces 2 distilleries ressemble effectivement étrangement au rendu de ce blended. Savoureux!

Patrick 89%
Un whisky très chaleureux et complexe, qui saura satisfaire les amateurs de whisky vieillis en fûts de xérès. La meilleure preuve qu’il ne faut pas se fier au look d’une bouteille pour avoir une idée de sa qualité. Nez : Appétissant parfum de xérès, très fruité et de subtil bois brûlé. Bouche : Fruits chaleureux, xérès intense, vanille, bois brûlé et quelques épices. Finale : Longue et savoureuse, marquée par le xérès et le bois brûlé.

Slyrs PX 4 ans – 3rd Edition

46% alc./vol.

André 79%
Ouch, il ne faut pas se fier sur les premières impressions livrées par le fût de sherry, ces odeurs de fûts ou le xérès a eu le temps de commencer à macérer au chaud avant d’être rempli de new make… Ces saveurs me rappellent également le misérable Armorik, ce mélange de virgin oak et de terre mouillée pas agréable, presque de la tourbe terreuse assaisonnée au sherry. En bouche, le whisky est fruité, l’effet du fût de sherry bien présent, cela me fait penser à la pâte de fruits et au sac de fruits secs, les cerises macérées et le chocolat noir et quelques féroces notes de toffee. Personnellement, je n’apprécie pas particulièrement le rendu du sherry au final. Belle longueur en bouche, plus porté par les saveurs elle-même que par la force de l’alcool. Les fruits trônent en avant plan et s’entourent d’oranges sanguines, de pâte de fruits et de sherry finement épicé.

Patrick 76%
Ayant eu la chance exceptionnelle de goûter certains de leurs futurs whiskys directement dans le fût, mes attentes étaient élevées en achetant cette bouteille. Je dois dire que je suis très déçu. Presque bon, mais tout de même mauvais. Je comprends pourquoi ils « passent » ce whisky en duty free, l’idée étant d’éloigner le plus possible de la distillerie ces infectes bouteilles. Nez : Parfum de xérès de mauvaise qualité, avec quelques notes boisées. Bouche : Bois brûlé et toujours le mauvais xérès, le tout accompagné de chocolat noir amer et un je ne sais quoi qui m’agresse. Finale : S’étire sur le chocolat noir et le mauvais xérès. Bref, trop longue.

Slyrs Bavarian Single Malt Whisky

43% alc./vol.
Vintage 2008.

André 85%
Bouillie de céréales en fermentation, bière de malt chaude. Le nez est à prime abord pas très appétissant, mais il faut juste être patient car en respirant, il devient de plus en plus sucré et plus agréable. Wow, superbe texture en bouche, mélange de vanille, de citron et d’agrumes. Pas très varié mais bien balancé. En ce sens, on a une base solide sur laquelle travailler afin d’améliorer le tout. Le talon d’Achille est la finale qui n’est pas soutenue et qui manque de motif mais l’ensemble est très agréable et bien présenté.

Patrick 80%
Il faut garder à l’esprit qu’il s’agit d’un “work in progress” pour apprécier ce whisky à sa juste valeur. Car il manque de profondeur et de finition, ce qui est somme toute normal pour un si jeune whisky. Attendez encore quelques années et je vous garanti qu’on s’arrachera les bouteilles de cette distillerie. Pour avoir eu la chance de plonger mon verres dans quelques « vieux » fûts (environ 10 ans) lors de ma visite de la distillerie, je peux affirmer que le meilleur est à venir! Nez : Céréales, fleurs, citron et petite touche sucrée. Pas vraiment spectaculaire. Bouche : Belle texture en bouche, céréales sucrées, bois brûlé, vanille, agrumes et quelques fleurs. Une belle complexité. Finale : Pas très longue et un peu poussiéreuse.

Martin 78%
Hyper pâleur qui trahit son minimum de 3 ans d’âge requis pour conserver son appellation. Nez: Petite céréale, poire, fleurs et savon. Malt à peine grillé, Fort en alcool au nez, bien qu’il ne titre qu’à 43%. Bouche: Encore une impression florale, personnalité très peu agressive sur des notes de canne à sucre. Trop de légèreté, son peu de caractère disparait en un tournemain. Finale: Un peu insipide. Se termine sur les petits fruits. Céréale savonneuse, poussière et fleurs. Équilibre: Pas horrible, mais pas extra non plus. Amenez-nous une plus-value, comme un cask finish ou bien encore une hausse de la teneur en alcool. Sinon concentrez-vous sur la choucroute. Mais bon, laissons la chance au coureur, on dit qu’une version cask strength serait sur le point de voir le jour…

RV 85%
Une pièce qui commence avec un étrange mélange d’échantillonnages qui semble annoncé une fin épique, mais qui se termine en slow trop tranquille. Coriandre sucrée? Miel d’abeilles sur le PCP? En dessous de ce mélange hallucinatoire, du grain se cache avant l’arrivée en bouche qui est beaucoup plus calme, avec un début très céréalier et une fin un peu banale mais de bonne longueur. Dommage, c’était si bien partie, mais c’est tout de même intéressant.

Wannborga 3 ans

44.3% alc./vol.
Cette distillerie produisait déjà une variété de spiritueux mais ce n’est qu’en 2007 qu’elle débuta la production de whisky. Les alambics de cette distillerie proviennent d’Allemagne et ne produisent que 150 litres. Annuellement, cette distillerie produit environ 2000 litres… Elle est présentement (2012) la plus petite distillerie Suédoise. Son whisky est vieilli dans des ex-bourbon barrels. La bouteille évaluée ici est la seule à avoir été importée en Amérique du Nord.

André 85%
Quelque chose d’agricole, du sirop de maïs peut-être ? En bouche offre un feeling poudreux, genre poussière de craie. Alcool passablement fort au nez mais étrangement, en bouche il est plus que discret portée sur une lancée de chlorophylle ou de menthe. Un whisky remplis d’ambiguïté et je dois avouer très humblement qu’il ne me laisse pas indifférent mais que je ne sais pas trop pourquoi précisément.

RV 83%
Un apprenti talentueux mais en début de carrière. Whisky très gêné avec un aspect funky bizarre, un peu trop d’ailleurs. Arrivée de gruau, posée et minutieuse mais ultimement pas la plus spéciale. Finale davantage herbeuse, très crémeuse (peut-être trop pour moi). Finale de bonne longueur, c’est un bon début hormis le nez. Bonne finale, vraiment surprenant, l’originalité y est, ne manqué plus que la balance et l’expérience.

English EN Français FR